Squille. Lovina Beach, Bali. July 2008.

First bubbles in Lovina

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the strange sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here PetitesBullesdAilleurs.fr

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

I am reconciled with Lovina Beach ! Thanks to two very nice dives, a traditional ceremony facing the sea and a splendid sunset.

Diving with Spice Divers

The Lovina Reef is certainly not spectacular. He suffered from dynamite fishing and warming of the water. But to dip his fins after a few months without diving, it's perfect.

It is a gently sloping reef, scattered with heaps of coral and some barrel sponges, descending to a sandy bottom. In addition to the usual tropical fauna (angelfish, butterflies, parrots, etc.) and scorpion fish (lion-fishes), we still find a lot of interesting beasts. Including a turtle, who crossed our road a bit far, during the first dive!

I went out with Spice Miscellaneous, big center installed on the quiet part of the beach, close to my hotel, the Lovina Beach Hotel (not very original as a name!), west of Kalibukbuk.

My divemaster guide, a young Balinese from Lovina who calls himself Luxman, finds me two ghost-pipe fishes, these species of seahorses adorned with spikes, rather timid, and some nudibranchs. I have plenty of time to flash and adjust my buoyancy, as I am the only customer!

We will make the second outing with a Dutch instructor, Johan, who has even more eye, he will find us in the wake of a beautiful Javanese moray green and fleshy, a squille (Manta-shrimp), kind of big green shrimp with globular eyes at once scared and curious. We meet a school of razor fish swimming down the head, another of small catfish grazing the sand.

Squille. Lovina Beach, Bali. July 2008.

On the way back, when the boat docked, I saw from afar people gathered on the beach, in front of the dolphin monument. Some seem to move into the water. It's a ceremony, as there are so many in Bali.

Traditional ceremony on the beach

Quickly, I jump out of the boat and I head for them, with my camera still in its box, without even removing my combi, because already people go back to the big tree that borders the square with dolphins. I'm coming to the end.

I point at my device to the people sitting there, dressed in sarongs. Everyone stares at me with round eyes, then nods, smiling. I must have a funny look, in my black combi still wet. I realize that I still have my mask around my neck!

Men are wearing the traditional turban. Women wear openwork embroidered tunics. A guy all in white officiates in the middle of the group and baskets of offerings. He seems to be saying prayers, waving a bell.

A teenager explains to me in summary English that it is a ceremony for the dead, so that their souls join the gods ... At the end of the prayer, the guys pose with their sarongs and musical instruments, delighted that I draw them the portrait!

Sunset on the beach

I end this very pleasant day sipping a banana lassie on the terrace of Sea Breeze Cafe, facing a splendid sunset. In the shade, a lady eve, sarong around the waist, topless, washes in the sea, old fashioned. This is the small black silhouette that can be seen on the right in the photo.

That's to say if I'm in a good mood tonight: I even sympathized with a sarong merchant, who apologized nicely for coming so constantly with his junk to sell and promised not to come and bother me.

Three buses filled with Javanese, presumably Indonesians from Jakarta, landed for the sunset. Muslims in headscarves are not good customers, they do not buy sarongs, only to eat, complained my new friend, shaking her head with a sorry look. These tourists do very organized tours. We put them down for half an hour on the beach, and hop, once the sun is down, they leave. The girls with arms loaded with collars rushed anyway, to try their luck. "Sunset price! " launches again a seller of souvenir notebooks ... I'm tired.

Tomorrow, I go even further west, to Pemuteran, with Spice Miscellaneous, to dive around the island of Menjangan, which I was told mountains and wonders. I intend to stay a few days there. The underwater world is, it seems, among the most beautiful in Bali!

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

  1. What luck, you still left photos and a comment, so that between two folds 2 t-shirt, a fitting of my jersey last year (to see if he still holds the road ... .or, if I hold the road in relation to him !!!) so I can take your news !!!
    I do not get tired of looking at your photos underwater, with all these small colorful bugs. It's great, because my last exploits in simple fins and snorkel, I doubt that I persevere until the bottle and combination ... .. And then, what's the point to fight because I'm as dry, to dive with you through your photos!
    Thank you!!!
    Glad you finally enjoy Lovina beach, sometimes you have to go a little further than his first impressions ....
    For my part, I am looking forward to leaving tomorrow, to have the heat and the sun but, with the sea air, the smell of the sea, the landscape and the beach, because here in Geneva, we choke! It is super hot, heavy, there is no air and the lake does not replace the sea anyway ... .. (Although I'm glad he is there when I'm in Geneva)
    Finally here, tomorrow I left !!!!
    I kiss you very hard, alas, I doubt to be able to connect regularly to follow you ... ..
    See you soon!!!

  2. @ Helene and Lydie:

    A quick word to say that I found much better than Lovina: Pemuteran! I'll come back to talk about it tomorrow ... I have to go eat fast, because the restaurants close early, in the village.

    See you soon !!!

    8)

  3. Thank you Marie-Julie!

    I'm going to put my Balinese underwater pictures online on my other website shortly (time to re-enter the time zone and sort photos):

    http://titbulle.fr

    But now that I'm back and I found my darling, I'll be able to come and say hello to you on Taxi-Brousse. See you soon!

  4. Good evening,

    What are your recommendations for beginners in diving? I have never done and for my first trip to Bali, I would like to try.
    FYI, we are going to Kuta for a few days, Ubud and Gili Trawangan. As we stay in Bali for two weeks, we can do other cities.
    For beginners, what do you recommend? Do you have dive schools to recommend?

    Thank you for your advice.

    Lili
    from Yaya & Lili

  5. @ Yaya & Lili: There are so many dive centers in Bali, and so many turnovers, that I would be hard pressed to recommend a particular address. Look for reputable ones (in a travel guide or on the website Plongeur.com, for example) and once there, get in touch. If you like the atmosphere, start with a baptism, and if you are convinced, sign up for the first level of certification. Opt for a center with francophone trainers, if you are not too comfortable in English.
    To my knowledge, we do not dive in Kuta, which is more like a surfing area. For dives, go instead to Amed-Tulamben, where there is the beautiful wreck of the Liberty, accessible to all levels and quite a few other nice sites. In addition, it is a superb region, for the "terrestrial" side.
    For beginners, there are very nice dives, and beautiful snorkeling spots in Gili (Trawangan, Air, Meno), where it is easy to see turtles. Most travel guides give the addresses of dive centers and you will find lots of others on your own.
    Good preparations!
    8)

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Squille. Lovina Beach, Bali. Juillet 2008.

Premières bulles à Lovina

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

Je me réconcilie avec Lovina Beach  ! Grâce à deux petites plongées bien sympathiques, une cérémonie traditionnelle face à la mer et un splendide coucher de soleil.

Plongées avec Spice Divers

Le récif de Lovina n’est certes pas spectaculaire. Il a souffert de la pêche à la dynamite et du réchauffement de l’eau. Mais pour tremper ses palmes après quelques mois sans plonger, c’est parfait.

C’est un récif en pente douce, semé d’amas de corail et de quelques éponges barriques, qui descend vers un fond sablonneux. Outre la faune tropicale habituelle (poissons anges, papillons, perroquets, etc.) et les rascasses nombreuses (lion-fishes), on y déniche malgré tout pas mal de bestioles intéressantes. Y compris une tortue, qui a croisé notre route d’un peu loin, lors de la première plongée !

J’ai fait les sorties avec Spice Divers, gros centre installé sur la partie tranquille de la plage, à deux pas de mon hôtel, le Lovina Beach Hotel (pas bien original comme nom !), à l’ouest de Kalibukbuk.

Mon guide divemaster, un jeune Balinais de Lovina qui se fait appeler Luxman, me trouve deux ghost-pipe fishes, ces espèces d’hippocampes ornés de pointes, assez timides, et quelques nudibranches. J’ai tout mon temps pour flashouiller à mon aise et ajuster ma flottabilité, vu que je suis la seule cliente !

Nous ferons la deuxième sortie en compagnie d’un instructeur hollandais, Johan, qui a encore plus l’œil, lui : il nous trouvera dans la foulée une belle murène javanaise verte et charnue, une squille (manta-shrimp), sorte de grosse crevette verte aux yeux globuleux à la fois apeurée et curieuse. Nous croisons un banc de poissons-rasoirs nageant la tete en bas, un autre de petits poissons-chats broutant le sable.

Squille. Lovina Beach, Bali. Juillet 2008.

Au retour, quand le bateau accoste, j’aperçois de loin des gens attroupés sur la plage, devant le monument aux dauphins. Certains semblent s’avancer dans l’eau. C’est une cérémonie, comme il y a en a tant à Bali.

Cérémonie traditionnelle sur la plage

Vite, je saute du bateau et je me dirige vers eux, munie de mon appareil photo toujours dans son caisson, sans même ôter ma combi, car déjà les gens remontent vers le grand arbre qui borde la place aux dauphins. J’arrive tout à la fin.

Je montre du doigt mon appareil aux gens assis là, vêtus de sarongs. Tout le monde me dévisage avec des yeux ronds, puis hoche la tête en souriant. Je dois avoir une drôle d’allure, dans ma combi noire encore trempée. Je m’aperçois que j’ai encore mon masque autour du cou !

Les hommes sont coiffés du turban traditionnel. Les femmes portent des tuniques brodées ajourées. Un gars tout en blanc officie au milieu du groupe et des paniers d’offrandes. Il semble dire des prières, agite une clochette.

Un adolescent m’explique dans un anglais sommaire que c’est une cérémonie pour les morts, afin que leurs âmes rejoignent les Dieux… À la fin de la prière, les gars prennent la pose avec leurs sarongs et instruments de musique, enchantés que je leur tire le portrait !

Sunset on the beach

Je termine cette bien agréable journée en sirotant un banana lassie à la terrasse du Sea Breeze Cafe, face à un splendide coucher de soleil. Dans l’ombre, une veille dame, le sarong autour de la taille, les seins nus, se lave dans la mer, à l’ancienne. C’est la petite silhouette noire qu’on aperçoit à droite sur la photo.

C’est dire si je suis de bonne humeur, ce soir : j’ai même sympathisé avec une marchande de sarongs, qui s’est excusée bien gentiment de venir ainsi constamment à la charge avec sa camelote à vendre et a promis de ne plus venir m’embêter.

Trois cars remplis de Javanais, sans doute des Indonésiens de Jakarta, ont débarqué pour le coucher de soleil. Les musulmanes en foulard ne sont pas de bonnes clientes, elles n’achètent pas de sarongs, seulement à manger, s’est plaint ma nouvelle copine, en secouant la tête d’un air désolé. Ces touristes-là font des tours très organisés. On les dépose une demi-heure sur la plage, et hop, une fois le soleil couché, ils repartent. Les gamines au bras chargés de colliers se sont précipitées quand même, pour tenter leur chance. « Sunset price ! » lance encore un vendeur de carnets-souvenirs… Je me marre.

Demain, je file encore plus à l’ouest, à Pemuteran, avec Spice Divers, pour plonger autour de l’île de Menjangan, dont on m’a dit monts et merveilles. Je compte rester quelques jours là-bas. Les fonds sous-marins sont, paraît-il, parmi les plus beaux de Bali !

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

  1. Quelle chance,tu as encore laissé des photos et un commentaire,ci fait que entre deux pliages 2 t-shirt,un essayage de mon maillot de l’année dernière(pour voir si il tient toujours la route….ou,si moi je tiens la route par rapport à lui!!!)je peux donc prendre de tes nouvelles!!!
    Je ne me lasse pas de regarder tes photos sous marine,avec toutes ces petites bestioles colorées.C’est super,car vu mes derniers exploits en simple palmes et tuba,je doute que je persévère jusqu’à la bouteille et combinaison…..Et puis,à quoi bon s’acharner vu que je suis aussi bien au sec,à plonger avec toi par l’intermédiaire de tes photos!!!!
    Merci!!!
    Contente que finalement tu apprécies Lovina beach;parfois il faut aller voir un peu plus loin que ses premières impressions….
    De mon côté,je me réjouis de partir demain,avoir la chaleur et le soleil mais,avec l’air du large,l’odeur de la mer,le paysage et la plage;car,ici à Genève,on étouffe!!!Il fait super chaud,lourd,il n’y a pas d’air et le lac ne remplace quand même pas la mer…..(Même si je suis bien contente qu’il soit là quand je suis à Genève)
    Enfin voilà,demain je suis partie!!!!
    Je t’embrasse très fort;hélas,je doute pouvoir me connecter régulièrement pour te suivre…..
    A bientôt!!!

  2. @ Helene et Lydie:

    Un petit mot rapide pour vous dire que j’ai trouve bien mieux que Lovina: Pemuteran! Je reviens vous en parler demain… La faut que j’aille vite manger, parce que les restos ferment tot, dans le patelin.

    A bientot !!!

    8)

  3. Merci Marie-Julie !

    Je vais mettre prochainement (le temps de me recaler dans le fuseau horaire et de trier les photos) mes images sous-marines balinaises en ligne sur mon autre site:

    http://titbulle.fr

    Mais maintenant que je suis rentrée et que j’ai retrouvé mon ordi chéri, je vais pouvoir venir te faire un petit coucou directement sur Taxi-Brousse. À bientôt!

  4. Bonsoir,

    Quelles sont tes recommandations pour des débutants en plongée? Je n’en ai jamais fait et pour mon 1er voyage à Bali, j’aimerais essayer.
    Pour info, nous allons à Kuta quelques jours, Ubud et Gili Trawangan. Comme nous restons à Bali deux semaines, nous pourrons faire d’autres villes.
    Pour des débutants, que recommandes-tu? As-tu des écoles de plongée à recommander?

    Merci pour tes conseils.

    Lili
    de Yaya&Lili

  5. @Yaya&Lili: Il y a tant de centres de plongée à Bali, et tellement de turn-over, que je serais bien en peine de vous recommander une adresse en particulier. Repérez celles qui ont bonne réputation (dans un guide de voyage ou sur le site Plongeur.com, par exemple) et une fois sur place, allez prendre contact. Si l’ambiance vous plaît, commencez par faire un baptême, et si vous êtes convaincus, inscrivez-vous au cours pour le premier niveau de certification. Optez pour un centre avec des formateurs francophones, si vous n’êtes pas trop à l’aise en anglais.
    À ma connaissance, on ne plonge pas à Kuta, qui est plutôt un coin à surfeurs. Pour les plongées, allez plutôt du côté d’Amed-Tulamben, là où il y a la très belle épave du Liberty, accessible à tous niveaux et pas mal d’autres sites sympathiques. En plus, c’est une superbe région, pour le côté « terrestre ».
    Pour les débutants, il y a de très chouettes plongées, et de beaux coins à snorkeling aux Gili (Trawangan, Air, Meno), où il est facile d’observer des tortues. La plupart des guides de voyage donnent les adresses des centres de plongée et vous en trouverez sur place plein d’autres par vous-même.
    Bons préparatifs !
    8)

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez