Lovina Beach. Bali.

Lovina: black sand, meditation, water

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here:

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

Lovina Beach ... The name is nice, but I'm a little mixed about the place. Here, the tourist pressure is certainly less than in Kuta-Legian-Seminyak. Yet I feel to have been more solicited than elsewhere by the indefatigable sellers of sarongs and other trinkets!

Lovina Beach: black sand beaches

Lovina Beach. Bali.

The solicitations of the sellers of trinkets are not very bad, that said. Once again, it is enough to get away from the heart of Lovina, namely the end of the beach and the two streets of restaurants and hotels spread around the dolphin monument (the village of Kalibukbuk), to be painstaking. In short, it is necessary to go squarely to the east or squarely to the west ...

Otherwise, the black sand beach is rather beautiful, and the colors of prahusthe traditional boats with rockers, aligned on the beach, are the most beautiful effect. The coast, protected by the reef, is much better for swimming than the dangerous rolls of Kuta.

Meditation at Brahma Vihara Arama Monastery

Not being a follower of beaches pleasures, I went for a walk on my scooter, again.

This nice walk of a few kilometers led me to a curious Buddhist monastery, the Brahma Vihara Arama, whose decoration mixes Balinese monsters and "bouddhasseries" with a very kitsch aesthetic ...

It's actually a place of retirement, where people come to meditate.

Silence is de rigueur and one crosses the "meditators", many Asians, some Westerners, walking with infinitely slow steps, around pretty water lily ponds and different buildings of prayer. Others are seated, cross-legged, in little huts with transparent curtains, immersed in their silent meditations ...

Me, I was at the show ... A stop at once soothing and fun!

Banjar, the sources of hot and soaked water

Just minutes away, there are air panas Banjar, hot springs. It is a popular place of relaxation.

We come as a family, wade in the basins of water. Color yellow-brown-green not very engaging, and it emanates a vague smell that reminds the chemistry classes ...

I did not really want to go for a dip, but the atmosphere is funny like anything.

And on the way, we cross some nonchalant villages, where men chatter on the doorstep and greet the stranger who rides on a motorcycle, while women carry huge bundles of wood on their heads ...

Dolphin safaris

Finally, the big attraction of Lovina is the sea trips to see the dolphins at dawn. I hesitate since yesterday, but tonight, my decision is made: I will not go see the dolphins.

First, I have already seen. But above all, going to run these poor beasts in motor boats does not tell me anything ... I shuddered at the comment of a young and nice couple who was with me on the bus and I met again tonight: "It was fun chasing them! " 

😱

Certainly, the dolphin safarisit turns the local economy and the cartel of boat captains fighting over this precious commodity that is the tourist. But I'm sure it is not at all beneficial to dolphins, this frenzy around them ... To avoid, therefore, because as far as I could judge, these outputs do not respect animals in any way ...

The backcountry villages and quieter places on the beach gave me a sense of what Lovina used to be like. A quiet place and surely more fun than it is today. There is a good choice of hotels and guesthouses, good restaurants, but I will not stay here forever. Lovina is singularly lacking in atmosphere.

Tomorrow, I'm going to take a look below the surface to see the state of the reef here, then I leave the day after tomorrow in Pemuteran, to dive around the island of Menjangan, at the end of the western peninsula of Bali.

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

  1. Well, I'm a little late, I just read the last three deliveries, and all the time reading, I imagined behind you, on the bike & #8230 ;. a little frightened probably, for lack of habit & #8230; Lydia. 😕 😕

  2. Thank you again for this new comment, I love it! I will miss you in Greece to follow you ...... ..Bisous! 😥

  3. Wise decision than not to go see the dolphins, it's anything rodeos at sea! Have you gone to see my friend Arno at Spice Dive?
    Selamat jalan 8)

  4. @ Lydie:
    Do not be afraid of my motorcycle rides! Moto is also a big word for the becane I rent. They are rather scooters ... I drive very soft, for often short journeys, and in general, the roads that I take are small side roads quite peaceful.
    I am used to "unplanned" on Asian roads (potholes and chickens, dogs and children, driving on the left and random maneuvers of other drivers ...) and I am extremely cautious, which borders on ridicule, maybe, but at least, at a very low speed, I have time to anticipate. I really pay attention !!!
    😉

    @ Helene:
    Kisses too! You will discover all this at your return. Have fun in Greece !!!
    😎

    @ Pierre:
    Ah, the dolphins ... I for my part made the choice not to go see them. Choice wise and reason for the diver that I am, aware of the fragility of the underwater ecosystem. But I can understand that people who have never seen, or who want to please their children, give in to the temptation of these "dolphin safaris". Ideally, it would be necessary either to prohibit the "rodeos", or to organize the outings better, otherwise, making sure to disturb them as little as possible. But I'm dreaming ... And I'm not talking about the circus of dolphins in a pool at Melka Excelsior Hotel, where they have some captivating beasts ...
    👿
    Otherwise, I actually met Arno this morning at Spice Divers, and I passed on your friends! The world is very small, since Sylvie Island Resort must come from the Togians in a few days here, see Arno !!! I will miss it very soon ...
    🙄

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Lovina Beach. Bali.

Lovina : sable noir, méditation, eau souffrée

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

Lovina Beach… Le nom est joli, mais je suis un peu mitigée sur l’endroit. Ici, la pression touristique est certes moindre qu’à Kuta-Legian-Seminyak. Pourtant j’ai l’impression d’y avoir été plus sollicitée qu’ailleurs par les infatigables vendeuses de sarongs et autres babioles !

Lovina Beach : plages de sable noir

Lovina Beach. Bali.

Les sollicitations des vendeurs de babioles n’ont rien de bien méchant, ceci dit. Il suffit, là encore, de s’éloigner un peu du cœur de Lovina, à savoir le bout de plage et les deux rues de restos et hôtels reparties autour du monument aux dauphins (le village de Kalibukbuk), pour être peinard. Bref, il faut aller carrément à l’est ou carrément à l’ouest…

Sinon, la plage de sable noir est plutôt belle, et les couleurs des prahus, les bateaux traditionnels à balanciers, alignés sur la grève, sont du plus bel effet. La côte, protégée par le récif, est bien mieux pour la baignade que les dangereux rouleaux de Kuta.

Méditation au monastère Brahma Vihara Arama

N’étant pas une adepte des plaisirs plagesques, je suis allée me promener sur mon scooter, à nouveau.

Cette sympathique balade de quelques kilomètres m’a menée jusqu’à un curieux monastère bouddhiste, le Brahma Vihara Arama, dont la déco mêle monstres balinais et « bouddhasseries » à l’esthétique bien kitsch…

C’est en fait un lieu de retraite, où les gens viennent méditer.

Le silence est de rigueur et on croise les « méditants », beaucoup d’Asiatiques, quelques Occidentaux, marchant à pas infiniment lents, autour des jolis bassins à nénuphars et des différents bâtiments de prière. D’autres sont assis, en tailleur, dans de petites huttes à rideau transparent, plongés dans leurs silencieuses méditations…

Moi, j’étais au spectacle… Une halte à la fois apaisante et amusante !

Banjar, les sources d’eau chaude et souffrée

À quelques minutes de là, il y a les air panas Banjar, des sources d’eau chaude. C’est un lieu de détente populaire.

On y vient en famille, patauger dans les bassins d’eau souffrée. Couleur jaune-marron-verte pas très engageante, et il en émane une vague odeur qui rappelle les cours de chimie…

Je n’ai pas tellement eu envie de faire trempette, mais l’ambiance est marrante comme tout.

Et en chemin, on traverse quelques villages nonchalants, où les hommes papotent sur le pas des portes et saluent l’étrangère qui passe à moto, tandis que les femmes trimballent d’énormes fagots de bois sur leur tête…

Dolphin safaris

Enfin, la grosse attraction de Lovina, ce sont les sorties en mer pour aller voir les dauphins, à l’aube. J’hésite depuis hier, mais ce soir, ma décision est prise : je n’irai pas voir les dauphins.

D’abord, j’en ai déjà vu. Mais surtout, aller courser ces pauvres bêtes en bateaux à moteur ne me dit rien… J’ai frémi au commentaire d’un jeune et gentil couple qui était avec moi dans le bus et que j’ai croisé à nouveau ce soir : « It was fun chasing them ! » 

😱

Certes, les dolphin safaris, ça fait tourner l’économie locale et le cartel des capitaines de bateaux qui se disputent cette précieuse denrée qu’est le touriste. Mais je sûre que ce n’est pas du tout bénéfique aux dauphins, cette frénésie autour d’eux… À éviter, donc, car pour autant que j’aie pu en juger, ces sorties ne respectent en rien les animaux…

Les villages traversés dans l’arrière-pays et les endroits plus paisibles de la plage m’ont donné une idée de ce que devait être Lovina, autrefois. Un coin tranquille et sûrement plus sympa qu’il ne l’est aujourd’hui. Il y a un bon choix d’hôtels et guesthouses, de bons restos, mais je ne vais pas m’éterniser ici. Lovina manque singulièrement d’atmosphère.

Demain, je vais jeter un œil sous la surface pour voir l’état du récif ici, puis je file après-demain à Pemuteran, pour plonger autour de l’île de Menjangan, tout au bout de la péninsule ouest de Bali.

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

  1. Bon, j’ai un petit peu de retard, je viens de lire les trois dernières livraisons, et tout le temps de la lecture, je me suis imaginée derrière toi, sur la moto…. un peu effrayée sans doute, par manque d’habitude… Lydie. 😕 😕

  2. Merci encore pour ce nouveau commentaire,j’adore!!!Ca va me manquer en Grèce de pouvoir te suivre……..Bisous! 😥

  3. Sage décision que celle de ne pas aller voir les dauphins, c’est n’importe quoi ces rodéos sur mer ! Es-tu passée voir mon ami Arno au Spice Dive ?
    Selamat jalan 8)

  4. @ Lydie:
    Ne t’effraie pas de mes balades a moto! Moto est d’ailleurs un bien grand mot pour les becanes que je loue. Ce sont plutot des scooters… Je roule tout doux, pour des trajets souvent courts, et en general, les routes que j’emprunte sont de petites routes secondaires assez paisibles.
    J’ai l’habitude des « imprevus » sur les routes asiatiques (nids de poules et poules, chiens et enfants, conduite a gauche et manoeuvres aleatoires des autres conducteurs…) et je suis d’une prudence extreme, qui frise le ridicule, peut-etre, mais au moins, a tres petite vitesse, j’ai le temps d’anticiper. Je fais vraiment tres attention!!!
    😉

    @ Helene:
    Bisous aussi! Tu decouvriras tout ca a ton retour. Amuse-toi bien en Grece!!!
    😎

    @ Pierre:
    Ah, les dauphins… J’ai pour ma part fait le choix de ne pas aller les voir. Choix sage et raisonne pour la plongeuse que je suis, sensibilisee a la fragilite de l’ecosysteme sous-marin. Mais je peux comprendre que les gens qui n’en ont jamais vu, ou qui ont envie de faire plaisir a leurs enfants, cedent a la tentation de ces « dolphin safaris ». Idealement, il faudrait soit interdire les « rodeos », soit organiser les sorties mieux, autrement, en faisant en sorte de les deranger le moins possible. Mais je reve… Et je ne te parle pas du cirque des dauphins dans un bassin du Melka Excelsior Hotel, ou ils ont quelques betes en captivite…
    👿
    Sinon, j’ai effectivement croise Arno ce matin, chez Spice Divers, et je lui ai transmis tes amities! Le monde est tout petit, puisque Sylvie d’Island Resort doit venir des Togian dans quelques jours ici, voir Arno!!! Je vais la rater de peu…
    🙄

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez