-

Night bus: Cape on Mersing and Tioman

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 


Night bus ride to Mersing without history, even if my neighbor has a tendency to overflow from his seat and spread over mine ...

-Fortunately, he goes down at the wee hours of the night in a big city that I have not identified, with a lot of other passengers, so that I find myself with two seats for myself alone. There, I fall asleep for good and no longer see the miles scroll.

At the beginning of the trip, during a stop in a dive bar, I could catch a glimpse of the final on a rotten old TV. The score was already 1-1... The rest we know!

When I opened my eyes, it was daytime, the bus was stopped on a parking lot in front of the mouth of a river and we were only two passengers. Mersing. Finally.

The following was easy. A charming lady in a green scarf approached me to get a ticket from his agency, for the first time speed boat of the day. It suited me well, except that I had to change money at all costs before.

At that moment, it is 7:15 and the boat is supposed to leave at the half. Never mind, the lady calls the captain of the said speed boat so that he does not leave without me, and her husband takes me in his car to take me to the nearest Chinese jeweler.

Again, excellent exchange rate. The deal done, the guy takes me back to the pier and I get together with twenty other people, a majority of Asian tourists and some Westerners, in the boat.

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

Share
Tweet
Pin
Share

Night bus : cap sur Mersing et Tioman

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

Trajet nocturne en bus pour Mersing sans histoire, même si mon voisin a un peu tendance à déborder de son siège et à s’étaler sur le mien…

Heureusement, il descend aux petites heures de la nuit dans une grosse ville que je n’ai pas identifiée, avec pas mal d’autres passagers, si bien que je me retrouve avec deux sièges pour moi toute seule. Là, je m’endors pour de bon et ne vois plus les kilomètres défiler.

Au début du voyage, lors d’une halte dans un boui-boui, j’ai pu entrapercevoir, sur une vieille télé pourrie, un bout de la finale. Le score était déjà de 1-1… La suite, on la connaît !

Quand j’ai rouvert les yeux, il faisait jour, le bus était à l’arrêt sur un parking devant l’embouchure d’une rivière et nous n’étions plus que deux passagers. Mersing. Enfin.

La suite a été facile. Une dame charmante en foulard vert m’a abordée pour me refourguer un billet de son agence, pour le premier speed boat du jour. Ça me convenait bien, sauf qu’il fallait à tout prix que je change de l’argent avant.

À ce moment-là, il est 7 h 15 et le bateau est censé partir à la demie. Qu’à cela ne tienne, la dame appelle le capitaine dudit speed boat pour qu’il ne parte pas sans moi, et son mari m’embarque dans sa voiture pour me conduire chez le joaillier chinois le plus proche.

Là encore, excellent taux de change. L’affaire faite, le gars me ramène à l’embarcadère et je m’entasse avec une vingtaine d’autres personnes, une majorité de touristes asiatiques et quelques Occidentaux, dans le bateau.

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez