Last day in Perhentian Kecil

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, click on the French flag below to access the original text:

I was wrong when I arrived at Perhentian Kecil, to underestimate the power of attraction and seductive power of this tiny island ...

Latest dives at Perhentian Islands

I planned to stay here for about a week or less, and it's been almost ten days since I was scotche Long Beach !

My only concerns, Perhentian Kecil, are the choice of the swimsuit that I will put for the day, or that of the restaurant for the evening. Real holidays for the spirit!

Long beach

I feel I could easily spend the whole month here without even realizing it. In short, it is high time to leave if I want to enjoy a little bit of the island of Tioman, my next step!

On the diving side, visibility has improved significantly since the beginning of the week. I redid the site of Sugar Wreck, with great pleasure. The wreck is huge and hosts an incredible fauna and flora.

I dive one last time, Saturday, at the apt named Temple of the Sea... Since my arrival, not a day without bubbles or small fish.

Boxfish. Perhentian, Malaysia.

Above, a fish-chest, not easy to immortalize. I had to go back to it more than once before getting a neat picture!

A lionfish or lion-fish in English, bright red.

Obviously, this Sunday, I feel a little sad to leave, to leave already the few friends that I made myself these days.

In addition to Liesbeth, of whom I have already spoken and with whom I get along particularly well (between girls in mop, we really understand each other), I sympathized with a Dutch couple, Edwin and Monique, whose caustic humor like a lot, and who were most of the time in my palanquée. They intend to go to Tioman then. Maybe I'll see them there again?

At the Jerteh bus station

I booked a seat on a night bus, which should take me to Mersing, port of shipment for Tioman, all the way south of the Malaysian peninsula. I take the last boat, the one of 16 h. Then a taxi that leads me to Jerteh, city that does not appear in any of my tour guides, where is the bus station.

As always, near bus and train stations in Asia, there are night food stalls, small open-air restaurants that open in the evenings and serve local, on-site or take-away dishes. It's usually very good.

Animated and colorful show, which allows me to kill time and restore me, since I have many hours to wait before the arrival of my bus, at 22:30.

Night-food stall in Jerteh. Malaysia.
In front of the Jerteh bus station, before the rain ...

After gobbling up a nasi goreng finally very average and not very rich at a rickety table, I decided to test a restaurant "hard", just in front.

I order a roti canai, this kind of crepe typical of Malaysia, which is eaten with the fingers, and dipped in small pieces in the bowl of sauce, usually a curry well spiced, served with. Excellent. One of the best I have ever eaten. And the little family that runs the restaurant is nice like anything.

I am asked where I come from, of course. If I'm going to watch the final tonight. No, since I will be in my night bus. And how long have I been in Malaysia? Am I going to stay long? Traveling alone? Etc. etc.

I answer the now ritual litany of questions with pleasure. The girl who serves me is very pretty under her headscarf. Every time our eyes meet, she gives me a big bright smile.

I was well inspired to take refuge in this restaurant. A thundering storm suddenly falls on the night food stalls. It's a shambles ... In the pouring rain, everyone stacks up his chairs and tables, covers his stall with tarpaulins that fly away and sank already, full of water.

It thunders violently, dazzling flashes tear the dark sky and the restaurant is filled with laughing and soaked people. It will last two more hours. The rain is redoubling, it's a real deluge.

The night fell on Jerteh, and the rain too ... Malaysia.
The night fell on Jerteh, and the rain too ... Malaysia.

Around 22h, it is still raining. I resign myself to take my rain cape out of the bag, under the amused eye of the girl of the restaurant. I pay and thank, then I go back to the bus station, on the other side of the square.

The bus that never arrives

This time it's "the bus that never arrives". At this hour, I am the only Westerner among the crowd of travelers waiting for their bus. Many families with children, young couples, young women all alone, some old ladies very worthy, and, in front of me, three shy teenagers who hardly dare to look at me, but who pat with the same frenzy as me SMS on their mobile ...

Lots of buses arrive and leave, loaded with new passengers, for cities that are not Mersing. My ticket in hand, I read with anxiety the destinations displayed in the front, through the rain curtain ... It is already 23 pm. Would I miss my bus?

A bearded grandfather with his girdled sarong girdles, seeing my face tense, comes to me and reassures me in English: " Do not worry ! Bus is late, because of the rain. Do not worry… " I thank him for a "Terima kasih" warm and continues to wait.

He was right, grandpa. My bus arrived, 50 minutes late ... Whew!

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Dernier jour à Perhentian Kecil

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

J’avais tort, à mon arrivée à Perhentian Kecil, de sous-estimer la force d’attraction et le pouvoir de séduction de cette île minuscule…

Dernières plongées aux îles Perhentian

Je comptais rester ici environ une semaine, voire moins, et cela fait déjà près de dix jours que je scotche sur Long Beach !

Mes seules préoccupations, à Perhentian Kecil, sont le choix du maillot de bain que je vais mettre pour la journée, ou celui du resto pour le soir. De vraies vacances pour l’esprit !

Long beach

Je sens que je pourrais facilement passer le mois entier ici sans même m’en rendre compte. Bref, il est grand temps de partir si je veux pouvoir profiter un peu de l’île de Tioman, ma prochaine étape !

Coté plongées, la visibilité s’est nettement améliorée depuis le début de la semaine. J’ai refait le site de Sugar Wreck, avec grand plaisir. L’épave est immense et héberge une faune et une flore incroyable.

J’ai plongé une dernière fois, samedi, au bien nommé Temple of the Sea… Depuis mon arrivée, pas un jour sans bulles ni petits poissons.

Poisson-coffre. Perhentian, Malaisie.

Ci-dessus, un poisson-coffre, pas facile à immortaliser. J’ai dû m’y reprendre plus d’une fois avant de réussir une photo nette !

Une rascasse volante ou lion-fish en anglais, d'un rouge éclatant.

Evidemment, ce dimanche, je me sens un peu triste de partir, de quitter déjà les quelques amis que je me suis faits ces jours-ci.

Outre Liesbeth, dont j’ai déjà parlé et avec qui je m’entends particulièrement bien (entre filles en vadrouille, on se comprend vraiment), j’ai sympathisé avec un couple de Hollandais, Edwin et Monique, dont l’humour caustique me plaît beaucoup, et qui se trouvaient la plupart du temps dans ma palanquée. Ils comptent aller à Tioman ensuite. Peut-être les reverrai-je là-bas ?

À la gare routière de Jerteh

J’ai réservé un siège dans un bus de nuit, qui doit me conduire à Mersing, port d’embarquement pour Tioman, tout au sud de la péninsule malaisienne. Je prends le dernier bateau, celui de 16 h. Puis un taxi qui me conduit à Jerteh, ville qui ne figure dans aucun de mes guides touristiques, où se trouve la gare routière.

Comme toujours, à proximité des gares routières ou ferroviaires en Asie, il y a des night food stalls, des petits restos de plein air qui ouvrent le soir et servent des plats locaux, sur place ou à emporter. C’est en général très bon.

Spectacle animé et coloré, qui me permet de tuer le temps et de me restaurer, vu que j’ai pas mal d’heures à attendre avant l’arrivée de mon bus, a 22h30.

Night-food stall à Jerteh. Malaisie.
Devant la gare routière de Jerteh, avant la pluie…

Après avoir englouti un nasi goreng finalement très moyen et pas très copieux à une table branlante, je décide de tester un resto « en dur », juste en face.

J’y commande un roti canai, cette espèce de crêpe typique de la Malaisie, qui se mange avec les doigts, et qu’on trempe par petits morceaux dans le bol de sauce, généralement un curry bien épicé, servi avec. Excellent. Un des meilleurs que j’aie jamais mangé. Et la petite famille qui tient le resto est gentille comme tout.

On me demande d’ou je viens, bien sûr. Si je vais regarder la finale ce soir. Non, vu que je serai dans mon night bus. Et depuis combien de temps je suis en Malaisie ? Est-ce que je vais rester longtemps ? Vous voyagez seule ? Etc. etc.

Je réponds à la désormais rituelle litanie des questions avec plaisir. La jeune fille qui me sert est très jolie sous son foulard. Chaque fois que nos regards se croisent, elle me fait un grand sourire radieux.

J’ai été bien inspirée de me réfugier dans ce resto. Un orage fracassant s’abat soudain sur les night food stalls. C’est la débandade… Sous la pluie battante, chacun empile à la va-vite ses chaises et ses tables, recouvre son étal de bâches qui s’envolent et s’affaissent déjà, gorgées d’eau.

Ça tonne violemment, des éclairs éblouissants déchirent le ciel sombre et le resto se remplit de gens hilares et trempés. Cela va durer deux bonnes heures encore. La pluie redouble, c’est un vrai déluge.

La nuit est tombée sur Jerteh, et la pluie aussi... Malaisie.
La nuit est tombée sur Jerteh, et la pluie aussi… Malaisie.

Vers 22h, il pleut toujours. Je me résigne à sortir ma cape de pluie du sac, sous l’œil amusé de la jeune fille du resto. Je paye et remercie, puis je retourne à la gare routière, de l’autre côté de la place.

Le bus qui n’arrive jamais

Cette fois-ci, c’est “le bus qui n’arrive jamais”. À cette heure-ci, je suis la seule Occidentale parmi la foule des voyageurs qui attendent leur bus. Beaucoup de familles avec enfants, de jeunes couples, des jeunes femmes toutes seules, quelques vieilles dames très dignes, et, en face de moi, trois timides adolescentes qui osent à peine me regarder, mais qui tapotent avec la même frénésie que moi des SMS sur leur portable…

Des tas de bus arrivent et repartent, chargés de nouveaux voyageurs, pour des villes qui ne sont pas Mersing. Mon billet à la main, je déchiffre avec anxiété les destinations affichées à l’avant, à travers le rideau de pluie… Il est déjà 23 h. Aurais-je raté mon bus ?

Un pépé barbu, les reins ceints du sarong à carreaux traditionnel, voyant mon visage crispé, vient vers moi et me rassure en anglais : « Don’t worry ! Bus is late, because of the rain. Don’t worry… » Je le remercie d’un « terima kasih » chaleureux et continue de patienter.

Il avait raison le papy. Mon bus est arrivé, avec 50 minutes de retard… Ouf !

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez