Here he is, the cute little mandarin! He likes nothing so much as to hide under the coral and just show the tip of his nose, just to taunt the photographers ... (Siquijor, Philippines, February 2008)
Here he is, the cute little mandarin! He likes nothing so much as to hide under the coral and just show the tip of his nose, just to taunt the photographers ... (Siquijor, Philippines, February 2008)

The cute little mandarin

#Philippines

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

It is at Siquijor, in the Philippines, that I had the joy of photographing my first mandarin fish. What good memories, on this island!

Goodbye, Siquijor!

This morning, I left Siquijor and "my" beach, Sandugan Beach, well to regret. People who hold itIslanders Paradise like the Kiwi Dive Resort are really lovely.

I spent 10 fantastic days there! For those who want more comfort, there is also Casa de la Playa on the same beach, more expensive but more chic.

Sandugan Beach, "my" beach at Siquijor, at low tide. (Philippines, February 2008)
Sandugan Beach, "my" beach at Siquijor, at low tide. (Philippines, February 2008)

Here I am now on the island of Negrosafter a stormy crossing in the true sense of the word. The weather, so beautiful so far, has since last night turned gray, rainy and windy.

In the boat, this morning, there was among the passengers an old gentleman on a drip, lying in a stretcher stuck in the middle of the aisle between the seats, laid there by the local ambulance ... The 45-minute dance of the little ferry in the waves and gusts of wind that shook us on both sides must have been torture for him.

As always, when you take a ferry ticket, you are asked to fill out a small form, in duplicate, with name, age and nationality. A list of passengers, supposedly for statistics. Mmm ... Rather, if the boat would join other wrecks between two islands, in my opinion.

I am now at Dumaguete, on the east coast of Negros, or more exactly Dauin, a few kilometers south of Dumaguete, on a black volcanic sand beach. I have not seen much of the area yet, but for the tourist atmosphere, on the small end of the beach that I traveled, it is very German-speaking, very "Resort fully booked" and very Bubble factory... but I'll talk to you later. ????

Ultimate dives in Siquijor

I finished my stay at Siquijor by two memorable experiences: an underwater encounter, on Saturday, with the famous mandarin fish promised by Neal, the Kiwi Divemaster; and cockfights, favorite sport of Filipinos on Sunday (with Mass and karaoke). But I will come back and tell you about the incredible cockpit in more detail in a day or two, thanks to a better internet connection that I have tonight ...

Saturday afternoon so, despite a nasty ear otitis in the right ear and a computer in the harbor (suddenly, Neal lent me his), I went diving. Well yes, it's not every day that we have the chance to admire mandarin fish ...

Close up just for the pleasure of colors and patterns, on a starfish, seen on the "house-reef" of Sandugan, in front of Kiwi Dive, during my last dive. (Siquijor, Philippines, February 2008)
Close up just for the pleasure of colors and patterns, on a starfish, seen on the house-reef of Sandugan, in front of Kiwi Dive, during my last dive. (Siquijor, Philippines, February 2008)

The ear went downhill, without much harm, with some hisses and squeaks, it is at the rise and once out of the water that I understood my pain ... Good. I have the drops to heal all that well and I do not intend to dive back before the day after tomorrow: what is three full days dry, it should be almost cured by here. It's almost back to normal today. Already, in Leyte, the first week, the left ear had made hers, but in two days it was back to normal. In short, let's close the parenthesis "bobos dive".

We made the "House-reef" from Sandugan Beach, a pretty reef I had not explored yet. The charming little mandarins so coveted were at the rendezvous, hidden under the coral.

Lively, stealthy, they are cute full with their small square head and fins-fans, but not easy to photograph. Especially when one finds oneself to make small yoyos with a recalcitrant ear from one end to the other of a pile of coral that one does not want to strike with the palms ...

But I still managed to shoot one. A bit far. I reframed the image, so that we can see it better that this unfortunate hippocampus-pygmy I had to highlight in pink. [EDIT: I also cleared up the photo a bit later, which was originally a bit dark.]

Here he is, the cute little mandarin! He likes nothing so much as to hide under the coral and just show the tip of his nose, just to taunt the photographers ... (Siquijor, Philippines, February 2008)
Here he is, the cute little mandarin! He likes nothing so much as to hide under the coral and just show the tip of his nose, just to taunt the photographers ... (Siquijor, Philippines, February 2008)

Still ... I'm pretty proud of myself. This is the first time I've managed to capture a mandarin fish. So, even if it is far from exceptional, I still like it, this photo.

The past euphoria, I went fissa care for my little ear. It is that I still need my eardrums for dives in Dauin and Apo!

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Le voilà, le mignon petit mandarin ! Il n'aime rien tant que se planquer sous le corail et juste montrer le bout de son nez, histoire de narguer les photographes... (Siquijor, Philippines, février 2008)
Le voilà, le mignon petit mandarin ! Il n'aime rien tant que se planquer sous le corail et juste montrer le bout de son nez, histoire de narguer les photographes... (Siquijor, Philippines, février 2008)

Le mignon petit mandarin

#Philippines

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

C’est à Siquijor, aux Philippines, que j’ai eu la joie de photographier mon premier poisson-mandarin. Que de bons souvenirs, sur cette île !

Adieu, Siquijor !

Ce matin, j’ai quitté Siquijor et « ma » plage, Sandugan Beach, bien à regret. Les gens qui y tiennent l’Islanders Paradise comme le Kiwi Dive Resort sont vraiment adorables.

J’ai passé là dix jours fantastiques ! Pour ceux qui aspirent à davantage de confort, il y a aussi Casa de la Playa sur la même plage, plus cher mais plus chic.

Sandugan Beach, "ma" plage à Siquijor, à marée basse. (Philippines, février 2008)
Sandugan Beach, « ma » plage à Siquijor, à marée basse. (Philippines, février 2008)

Me voici maintenant arrivée sur l’île de Negros, après une traversée houleuse au sens propre du terme. Le temps, si beau jusqu’alors, a viré depuis hier soir au gris, pluvieux et venteux.

Dans le bateau, ce matin, il y avait parmi les passagers un vieux monsieur sous perfusion, étendu dans un brancard coincé au milieu de l’allée entre les sièges, déposé là par l’ambulance locale… Les 45 minutes de danse du petit ferry dans les vagues et les rafales de vent qui nous secouaient de part et d’autre ont dû être une torture pour lui.

Comme toujours, au moment de prendre un billet de ferry, on vous fait remplir un petit formulaire, en double exemplaire, avec nom, âge et nationalité. Une liste de passagers, prétendument pour les statistiques. Mmm… Plutôt au cas où le bateau irait rejoindre d’autres épaves entre deux îles, à mon avis.

Je suis maintenant à Dumaguete, sur la cote Est de Negros, ou plus exactement à Dauin, quelques kilomètres au sud de Dumaguete, sur une plage de sable noir volcanique. Je n’ai pas encore vu grand-chose du coin, mais pour l’ambiance touristique, sur le petit bout de plage que j’ai parcouru, c’est très germanophone, très « resort fully booked » et très « bubble factory »… Mais je vous en reparlerai plus tard. 😉

Ultimes plongées à Siquijor

J’ai terminé mon séjour à Siquijor par deux expériences mémorables : une rencontre sous-marine, samedi, avec le fameux poisson-mandarin promis par Neal, le divemaster de Kiwi Dive ; et des combats de coqs, sport favori des Philippins le dimanche (avec la messe et le karaoké). Mais je reviendrai vous raconter l’incroyable arène des coqs plus en détail d’ici un jour ou deux, à la faveur d’une meilleure connexion internet que celle dont je dispose ce soir…

Samedi après-midi donc, malgré une méchante otite à l’oreille droite et un ordi en rade (du coup, Neal m’a prêté le sien), je suis allée plonger. Ben oui, ce n’est pas tous les jours qu’on a la chance d’admirer des poissons-mandarins…

Gros plan juste pour le plaisir des couleurs et des motifs, sur une étoile de mer, aperçue sur le "house-reef" de Sandugan, devant Kiwi Dive, lors de ma dernière plongée. (Siquijor, Philippines, février 2008)
Gros plan juste pour le plaisir des couleurs et des motifs, sur une étoile de mer, aperçue sur le « house-reef » de Sandugan, devant Kiwi Dive, lors de ma dernière plongée. (Siquijor, Philippines, février 2008)

L’oreille est passée à la descente, sans trop de mal, avec quelques chuintements et couinements, c’est à la remontée et une fois hors de l’eau que j’ai compris ma douleur… Bon. J’ai les gouttes pour soigner tout ça bien comme il faut et je ne compte pas replonger avant après-demain : ce qui fait trois jours complets au sec, ça devrait être quasi guéri d’ici-là. C’est presque revenu a la normale, aujourd’hui. Déjà, à Leyte, la première semaine, l’oreille gauche avait fait des siennes, mais en deux jours, c’était rentré dans l’ordre. Bref, fermons la parenthèse « bobos de plongée ».

Nous avons fait le « house-reef » de la plage de Sandugan, un bien joli récif que je n’avais pas encore exploré. Les charmants petits mandarins tant convoités étaient bien au rendez-vous, planqués sous le corail.

Vifs, furtifs, ils sont mignons tout plein avec leur petite tête carrée et leurs nageoires-éventails, mais pas faciles à photographier. Surtout quand on se retrouve à faire de petits yoyos avec une oreille récalcitrante d’un bout à l’autre d’un amas de corail qu’on ne veut surtout pas heurter avec les palmes…

Mais je suis tout de même parvenue à en photographier un. D’un peu loin. J’ai recadré l’image, pour qu’on le voie mieux que ce malheureux hippocampe-pygmée que j’ai dû surligner en rose. [EDIT : j’ai éclairci aussi un peu la photo par la suite, qui à l’origine était un peu sombre.]

Le voilà, le mignon petit mandarin ! Il n'aime rien tant que se planquer sous le corail et juste montrer le bout de son nez, histoire de narguer les photographes... (Siquijor, Philippines, février 2008)
Le voilà, le mignon petit mandarin ! Il n’aime rien tant que se planquer sous le corail et juste montrer le bout de son nez, histoire de narguer les photographes… (Siquijor, Philippines, février 2008)

N’empêche… Je ne suis pas peu fière de moi. C’est la première fois que je réussis à capturer un poisson-mandarin. Alors, même si elle est loin d’être exceptionnelle, je l’aime quand même bien, cette photo.

L’euphorie passée, je suis allée fissa soigner ma petite oreille. C’est que j’ai encore besoin de mes tympans pour les plongées à Dauin et Apo !

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez