Marjolijn poses with the bride and groom. Derawan (Borneo, Indonesia). July 2009.

The wives of Derawan

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here:

  Borneo [Malaysia and Indonesia] - July 2009

My short stay on the small Indonesian island of Derawan last July allowed me to attend no less than two weddings! Two almost identical weddings, with kitschy decor and pop-marshmallow orchestra. More a social obligation, I have the impression, a real holiday.

A video, two weddings

In any case, I would not like to get married in Derawan!

You have to disguise yourself as a doll, wearing a headdress, wearing make-up, over-pumped. Then hold the hours pose on a throne in a candy pink or electric blue decor. Welcome with a smile all the people of the village who parade on the platform (since they all drop a small ticket in a vase provided for this purpose).

And pretending to enjoy the music of the guest group ...

Strange "wedding party"

What we do not see on the video are the rows of plastic chairs and planks acting as tables, set up in front of the platform, under a vast tarpaulin.

Nobody dances, people just sit there and watch.

Everyone received a small meal in a cardboard box, with a cup of water. Offered by the families of the newlyweds. But no one eats, most will bring back his portion of nasi goreng (fried rice) and his cupcakes at home.

For the guests, the show consists of sitting in a plastic chair watching the bride and groom on the platform ... (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)
For the guests, the show consists of sitting in a plastic chair watching the bride and groom on the platform ... (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)

Strange "wedding party", really. It starts around 9 pm and it stops a little before midnight. There is not much going on there. Evening rather boring ... I imagine that the real wedding ceremony takes place at another time.

Once settled on his plastic chair, everyone sits quietly there. One simply waits for one's turn to rise on the platform, to greet the newlyweds with a quick handshake, or more cordial according to the degree of proximity or affection that one has with the family.

We do not hesitate to have their picture taken by their side. This is obviously part of the politeness appreciated, with the small note deposited in the vase.

The married "blue". (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)
The "blue" grooms. (Derawan, Borneo, Indonesia, July 2009.)

I resisted the solicitations of a lot of people who absolutely wanted to push me to the platform for the famous photo ...

Marjolijn, a young Dutch girl with whom I sympathized, did not miss any opportunity to ask at each wedding (see photos below).

She tells that on his own blog (in English).

: lol:

Like her, what surprised me the most is the musical animation, if I may say so.

Especially that of the second marriage. As a reminder, we are in Muslim country. I found it very curious to see the scene of these three female singers dressed up and very short dressed, who began to wiggle as in a video clip. Without beguiling, it was flashy and vulgar.

While Islam is rather relaxed on an island like Derawan: all women are not veiled, far from it, and girls play volleyball every night, bareheaded, in simple Bermuda shorts and T-shirt. . But all the same, these three girls on stage did not fit with the rest.

: roll:

  Borneo [Malaysia and Indonesia] - July 2009

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Marjolijn prend la pose avec les mariés. Derawan (Bornéo, Indonésie). Juillet 2009.

Les mariés de Derawan

  Bornéo [Malaisie et Indonésie] - juillet 2009

Mon court séjour sur la petite île indonésienne de Derawan, en juillet dernier, m’a permis d’assister à pas moins de deux mariages ! Deux noces quasi identiques, avec déco kitsch et orchestre pop-guimauve. Plus une obligation sociale, j’ai l’impression, qu’une véritable fête.

Une vidéo, deux mariages

En tout cas, je n’aimerais pas me marier à Derawan !

Il faut se déguiser en poupée, coiffée, maquillée, pomponnée à outrance. Tenir ensuite la pose des heures sur un trône dans un décor rose bonbon ou bleu électrique. Accueillir avec le sourire tous les gens du village qui défilent sur l’estrade (vu qu’ils viennent tous déposer un petit billet dans un vase prévu à cet effet).

Et feindre d’apprécier la musique du groupe invité…

Étrange « wedding party »

Ce qu’on ne voit pas sur la vidéo, ce sont les rangées de chaises en plastique et de planches faisant office de tables, installées devant l’estrade, sous une vaste bâche.

Personne ne danse, les gens sont simplement venus s’asseoir là et ils regardent.

Chacun a reçu un petit repas dans une boîte en carton, avec un gobelet d’eau. Offerts par les familles des mariés. Mais personne ne mange, la plupart rapportera sa portion de nasi goreng (riz frit) et ses petits gâteaux secs à la maison.

Pour les invités, le spectacle consiste à rester assis sur une chaise en plastique à regarder les mariés sur l'estrade... (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie. Juillet 2009.)
Pour les invités, le spectacle consiste à rester assis sur une chaise en plastique à regarder les mariés sur l’estrade… (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie. Juillet 2009.)

Étrange « wedding party », vraiment. Ça démarre vers 21 h et ça s’arrête un peu avant minuit. Il ne s’y passe pas grand-chose. Soirée plutôt ennuyeuse… J’imagine que la véritable cérémonie de mariage a lieu à un autre moment.

Une fois installé sur sa chaise en plastique, chacun reste sagement assis là. On attend simplement son tour de monter sur l’estrade, pour saluer les mariés d’une poignée de main rapide, ou plus chaleureuse selon le degré de proximité ou d’affection qu’on a avec la famille.

On n’hésite pas à se faire prendre en photo à leurs côtés. Ça fait visiblement partie des politesses appréciées, avec le petit billet déposé dans le vase.

Les mariés "bleus". (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.)
Les mariés « bleus ». (Derawan, Bornéo, Indonésie, juillet 2009.)

J’ai résisté aux sollicitations de tout un tas de gens qui voulaient absolument me pousser vers l’estrade pour la fameuse photo…

Marjolijn, une jeune Hollandaise avec qui j’ai sympathisé, n’a raté, elle, aucune occasion de poser, à chaque mariage (voir les photos ci-dessous).

Elle raconte ça sur son propre blog (en anglais).

:lol :

Comme elle, ce qui m’a le plus surprise, c’est l’animation musicale, si je puis dire.

Surtout celle du second mariage. Pour rappel, on est en pays musulman. J’ai trouvé très curieux de voir débouler sur la scène ces trois chanteuses fardées à outrance et très court vêtues, qui se sont mises à se trémousser comme dans un vidéo-clip. Sans être bégueule, c’était clinquant et vulgaire.

Certes, l’islam est plutôt relax sur une île comme Derawan : toutes les femmes ne sont pas voilées, loin s’en faut, et les filles jouent avec acharnement au volley tous les soirs, tête nue, en simple bermuda et tee-shirt. Mais tout de même, ces trois nanas sur scène ne cadraient pas avec le reste.

:roll :

  Bornéo [Malaisie et Indonésie] - juillet 2009

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez