A manta ray emerges in blue fog. Manta Point, Nusa Penida. Bali.

The ballet of mantas

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

Oh dear ! Not yet had the time to tell all my dives in Amed, that already, I attack those of Nusa Lembongan. And no half measure: I take you directly to Manta Point! ! !

thermocline

First splash this morning, early, in a water ... COLD! ! ! ! Here, terrible thermoclines turn divers into small ice cubes.

Finally, I exaggerate a little, I must be the only one out of the water with purple lips. I left my fine combi in my bag and borrowed a combi from the center World Diving, thicker than mine. But it is a bit wide (it is yet XS) and lets flow of cold water. I think I'll put another shorti under it. Brrr. Here, the water goes down to 20 ° C ...

Manta Point

But ... it's worth getting up at dawn to immerse yourself in cold water in neoprene wetsuit, not even at its size. In Manta Point, a well-known site, south of Nusa Penida, the neighboring island of Lembongan, manta rays were there.

A manta ray emerges in blue fog. Manta Point, Nusa Penida. Bali.

Despite a rotten sight (thermoclines + plankton), we saw them. Mantas so graceful, that seem to fly more than swim, with their slow but powerful flapping of wings, uh ... fins.

Still, I'm not very optimistic at the start of diving. We spend the first quarter of an hour in icy water, to turn around rocks without much life, and still nothing ... After about twenty minutes, we zap on another rock, and the first "ding-ding Dive-masters knocking on their bottles make us turn our heads.

Yes ! They are there, the beautiful, the majestic mantas, to turn around the rock, in an incessant ballet.

But it's a real suspense, because of the lack of visibility. We scan the bluish fog while we can, watching the black triangle of a fin, an elongated profile ... And I must say that we completely forget the cold when a new manta appears. The heart suddenly beats faster, we find the energy to palmer, to approach, a little closer!

It is always at the last moment that we see them arise, at shallow depth, most often in less than 10 meters. Super show, which leaves me delighted.

Crystal Bay

Relaxation on the sun deck of the World Diving boat, between two dives. Nusa Lembogan, Bali.
Relaxation on the sun deck of the World Diving boat, between two dives.

We are less fortunate Crystal Bay, a pretty white sand cove with coconut palms, still in Penida, supposed to house molas-molas, the famous moonfish.

Crystal Bay

They are surely in the corner, but despite better visibility and a warmer water, you can not find them. My guide Wayan scans the blue, in vain.

We cross a sandy stretch to another portion of the reef, but still nothing ... Too bad, I console myself by photographing a moray eel, on the return, on the reef, within 12 meters. A nice aquarium full of fish. Nice atmosphere, nice walk, but everyone is still a little disappointed.

Murene

No problem, I'll come back!

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. These moray eels ...... yuck ... ..Really, I do not like them, they are scary and ugly !!!!! Kisses !!!! Here, just a few mini sea urchins ... ..but I must say that I do not venture very far ...... Am a little jerky ...... .Rebisous !!!!

  2. Okay, I'm leaving Koufounissi ... ..I do not know when I'll find an upcoming internet connection ... .So, by then ...... I hope you'll write many new adventures that I have plenty of reading if I find a "HOTSPOT" ......
    I kiss you hard ... .. 8)

  3. But no, they are nice murenes ... They have an unpleasant physique, but it's not their fault. I like them!
    🙄

    Enjoy your holidays in Greece (with or without Hotspot)!
    Bizzz

    8)

  4. hello, I just toured your site tonight and I see you're back in the sun! slut! Your photos are always so beautiful, I have to return to your site tomorrow to watch all this more ready, to escape from work and steal some sun that we miss in this month of July!
    @ more
    laurence 8)

  5. Hello Laurence!

    Delighted that Little Bubbles Elsewhere brings you a little escape ... That's the goal!
    8)

    Yes, I am a lucky man to be in Asia again ... I am currently in Nusa Lembogan, a small island south of Bali. Sports dive (current and thermoclime), but it's worth it, especially when we cross big friendly bebetes like mantas ...

    Alas, I missed the molas-molas again today !!! Grrr. Well, I'm not going to start complaining ...
    🙄

    See you soon!

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Une raie manta surgit dans le brouillard bleu. Manta Point, Nusa Penida. Bali.

Le ballet des mantas

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

Oh, là là ! Pas encore eu le temps de raconter toutes mes plongées à Amed, que déjà, j’attaque celles de Nusa Lembongan. Et pas de demi-mesure : je vous emmène direct à Manta Point !!!

Thermoclines

Premier plouf ce matin, de bonne heure, dans une eau… FROIDE!!!! Ici, de terribles thermoclines transforment les plongeurs en petits glaçons.

Enfin, j’exagère un peu, je dois être la seule à sortir de l’eau avec les lèvres violettes. J’ai laissé ma trop fine combi dans mon sac et emprunté une combi du centre World Diving, plus épaisse que la mienne. Mais elle est un peu large (c’est pourtant du XS) et laisse passer des courants d’eau froide. Je crois que je vais mettre encore un shorti en-dessous. Brrr. Ici, l’eau descend jusque dans les 20°C…

Manta Point

Mais… ça vaut le coup de se lever à l’aube pour s’immerger dans de l’eau froide en combi néoprène, meme pas à sa taille. À Manta Point, site bien nommé, au sud de Nusa Penida, l’ile voisine de Lembongan, les raies mantas étaient là.

Une raie manta surgit dans le brouillard bleu. Manta Point, Nusa Penida. Bali.

Malgre une visi pourrie (thermoclines + plancton), nous les avons vues. Les mantas si gracieuses, qui semblent voler plus que nager, avec leur lent mais puissant battement d’ailes, euh… de nageoires.

Pourtant, je ne suis pas très optimiste en deébut de plongée. On passe le premier quart d’heure dans une eau glaciale, à tourner autour de rochers sans trop de vie, et toujours rien… Au bout d’une vingtaine de minutes, on zappe sur un autre rocher, et les premiers « ding-ding » des dive-masters cognant sur leur bouteille nous font tourner la tête.

Oui! Elles sont là, les belles, les majestueuses mantas, à tourner autour du rocher, dans un ballet incessant.

Mais c’est un vrai suspense, à cause du manque de visibilité. On scrute le brouillard bleuté tant qu’on peut, guettant le triangle noir d’une nageoire, un profil allongé… Et je dois dire qu’on oublie complètement le froid lorsqu’une nouvelle manta paraît. Le cœur bat tout à coup plus vite, on retrouve l’énergie pour palmer, pour s’approcher, un peu plus près!

C’est toujours au dernier moment qu’on les voit surgir, à faible profondeur, le plus souvent dans moins de 10 mètres. Spectacle superbe, qui me laisse enchantée.

Crystal Bay

Detente sur le sun-deck du bateau de World Diving, entre deux plongees. Nusa Lembogan, Bali.
Détente sur le sun-deck du bateau de World Diving, entre deux plongées.

Nous avons moins de chance a Crystal Bay, jolie crique de sable blanc avec cocotiers, toujours à Penida, censée abriter les molas-molas, les fameux poissons-lunes.

Crystal Bay

Ils sont sûrement dans le coin, mais malgré une visibilité meilleure et une eau un poil plus chaude, impossible de les trouver. Mon guide Wayan scrute le bleu, en vain.

On traverse une étendue sablonneuse jusqu’à une autre portion du récif, mais toujours rien… Tant pis, je me console en photographiant une murène, au retour, sur le récif, dans les 12 mètres. Un joli aquarium poissonneux. Belle atmosphère, balade sympa, mais tout le monde est quand même un peu déçu.

Murene

Pas grave, je reviendrai!

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

  1. Ces murènes……beurk…..Vraiment,je ne les aime pas,elles sont effrayantes et moches!!!!!Bisous!!!!Ici,juste quelques mini oursins…..mais faut dire que je ne m’aventure pas très loin……Suis un peu trouillarde…….Rebisous!!!!

  2. Bon,je quitte Koufounissi…..Je ne sais pas quand je trouverai une prochaine connexion internet….Alors,d’ici là……J’espère que tu écriras plein de nouvelles aventures que j’ai plein de lecture si je trouve un « HOTSPOT » ……
    Je t’embrasse fort….. 8)

  3. Mais non, elles sont sympas les murenes… Elles ont un physique ingrat, mais ce n’est pas leur faute. Moi je les aime bien !!!
    🙄

    Profite bien de tes vacances en Grece (avec ou sans Hotspot) !
    Bizzz

    8)

  4. coucou, je viens de faire un tour sur ton site ce soir et je vois que tu es de nouveau au soleil!! veinarde! Tes photos sont toujours aussi belles, il faut que je retourne sur ton site demain pour regarder tout cela de plus prêt , pour s’évader du boulot et te voler un peu de soleil qui nous manque en ce mois de juillet!
    @ plus
    laurence 8)

  5. Coucou Laurence !

    Ravie que Petites Bulles d’Ailleurs t’apporte un peu d’evasion… C’est le but!
    8)

    Oui, je suis une sacree veinarde d’etre a nouveau en Asie… Je suis en ce moment a Nusa Lembogan, petite ile au sud de Bali. Plongees sportives (courants et thermoclimes), mais ca vaut la peine, surtout quand on croise de grosses bebetes sympathiques comme les mantas…

    Helas, j’ai encore rate les molas-molas aujourd’hui!!! Grrr. Enfin bon, je ne vais pas commencer a me plaindre…
    🙄

    A bientot!

Partagez
Tweetez
Partagez