My room at Asseyri Inn, Hanimaadhoo.
My room at Asseyri Inn, Hanimaadhoo.

My guesthouse in Maldives

  Maldives - February 2014

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, click on the French flag below to access the original text:

Maldives for not (too) expensive? It's possible. There is an alternative to luxury hotel-islands: the guesthouses of inhabited islands.

New tourism in the Maldivian archipelago

I discovered the Maldives in February 2014. A new destination on Bubbles Underwater & Beyond ! ????

CLARIFICATIONS: in April 2014, I interrupted my series of articles on the Maldives, finding it difficult to continue to brag about the beauties of this archipelago of the Indian Ocean (and thus to encourage people to visit the Maldives) while the regime had hardened its application of sharia, after my stay in February 2014. Not respecting human rights, the Maldives had to leave the Commonwealth of Nations in 2016. But in september 2018, things have changed, with the surprise defeat in the autocratic president's elections Abdulla Yameen supported by Islamists and now prosecuted for corruption, beaten by Ibrahim Mohamed Solih, an ally of the democratic camp. Then in april 2019, the party of Mohamed Nasheed, former president of the Maldives (2008-2012), several times imprisoned by the regime and main figure of the opposition, won the first legislative elections since Yameen left. The Maldives return to the path of democracyit's great news!

In the South of India, this immense archipelago at the water's edge is known for its luxury island hotels and resorts, overpriced, cut off from the local population, frequented by very wealthy tourists and honeymoon couples.

Island-hotel in the Maldives. February 2014.
Island-hotel in the Maldives. February 2014.

The Maldives have long chosen luxury tourism, making sure to limit contact between foreign visitors and the local population. But it is changing. Recently, residents have been allowed to open guesthouses, which range from guesthouses to small tourist hotels.

These guesthouses have multiplied in recent years, and there is now a choice, from north to south of the archipelago, for independent travelers. You can stay in the villages of the inhabited islands and discover the real life of "real people".

This is the option I chose for the first week of my Maldivian trip! Before giving me a second chic week on a cruise-diving boat... ????

So I first spent a few days north of the archipelago, on the island ofHanimaadhoo, at the very cool Asseyri Inn guesthouse. I chose an island very far from Male (about 280km, or an hour's flight), to avoid the most frequented corners. I hesitated with Gan, in the south, but it will be for another time…

Update - January 2017: the guesthouse Asseyri Inn as I knew it no longer seems to exist. The website now refers to another hotel, much more chic, located on another island ...

The sandy street, in front of the guesthouse Asseyri Inn. Hanimaadhoo, Maldives, February 2014.
The sandy street, in front of the guesthouse Asseyri Inn. Hanimaadhoo, Maldives, February 2014.

It was the glowing reviews on TripAdvisor that made me decide to contact Asseyri Inn. Their package "solo traveler" with activities for each day suited me, they had availability on my dates and in addition there is a small diving center. Perfect to immerse myself in the atmosphere of the country and acclimatize me gently!

Guesthouses and small hotels

Some guesthouses in the Maldives are very modest, others are downright very chic. The most economical are around 30-40 € per night, the most expensive in the 100-150 €. There are many in Malé (the capital island), in Hulumalé (the artificial residential island near the airport) and on two islands fairly close to Malé, Maafushi (prison island) and Guraidhoo. But it looks like accommodation has opened in almost all the atolls of the archipelago. There are inexpensive ferries to go from one island to another and more expensive air connections with Maldivian Aero to reach the farthest

You will find a lot of information via a Google search with the words "Maldives + guesthouses" or "Maldives + backpacker".

The best known and most popular are listed on TripAdvisor in the section " guest rooms " and many of these accommodations use the sites Booking.com or Agoda.com to rent their rooms (very practical to book yourself on the internet, or get an idea of the rates). Some other loose links, found during my research before leaving:
Guesthouses in Maldives : a selection of guesthouses in several different atolls
Maldives Guesthouses & BB: small selection by Lonely Planet
Maafushi Maldives: choice of guesthouses on several islands, not only Maafushi

Good to know: you have to check whether the taxes are included or not, otherwise you have to add +10 % and +8 % (it was in any case the amount during my visit, but that can change). You also have to look at the services included in the price, it sometimes has very interesting packages:
→ just the night (with or without transfer)
→ overnight stay + breakfast or half-board
→ the night + all meals + activities for the day ...

Head to Hanimaadhoo!

Hanimaadhoo has the advantage of having an airport, now "international", with connections from Sri Lanka and soon to India, perhaps. It's a peaceful island, stretched all the way, which has less than 1,500 souls, inhabited only on a small portion to the north.

The arrival to Hanimaadhoo. Maldives, February 2014.
The arrival to Hanimaadhoo. Maldives, February 2014.

My guesthouse is in the heart of the village, close to the port where the fishermen arrive in dhoni, the traditional boat, with the fish of the day, and of the school. We see boys and girls cycling in their uniforms at the end of the lessons.

Daily fishing at Hanimaadhoo port. Maldives, February 2014.
Daily fishing at Hanimaadhoo port. (Maldives, February 2014)
I think this schoolboy stole his sister's bike ... Hanimaadhoo, Maldives, February 2014.
I think this schoolboy stole his sister's bike ... (Hanimaadhoo, Maldives, February 2014)

As a reminder, Islam is the state religion in the Maldives. Hanimaadhoo is one of the few inhabited islands where the wearing of the bikini is allowed to foreign tourists, on a delimited beach. Permission is required and Asseyri Inn has recently obtained it. The guesthouse plans to build a new building in front of the beach and move there, in front of turquoise water and white sand.

The tourist beach, where the bikini is allowed, in Hanimaadhoo. Maldives, February 2014.
The end of the beach where the bikini is allowed, in Hanimaadhoo. (Maldives, February 2014)
On the public beach of Hulumale, the residential island near Malé airport, it is forbidden to wear a bikini. Maldives, February 2014.
On the public beach of Hulumale, the residential island near Malé airport, it is forbidden to wear a bikini. (Maldives, February 2014)

Another thing to know: alcohol is also prohibited on the so-called "local" islands. To drink a beer (possibly in a bikini), it is only in tourist hotel islands, on cruise ships and at the hotel located next to Male airport. For those who are in need, it is always possible to organize, for a fee, a short day or half-day stay in a nearby resort, to temporarily taste the pleasures reserved for luxury tourists.

But this is obviously not what I came looking for on Hanimaadhoo… The peaceful and authentic Muslim village atmosphere, crushed with intense light, suits me, as my first Maldivian cultural immersion. People are more reserved than in Indonesia, but very welcoming. More in the next post!

????

  Maldives - February 2014

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. From the Hautes-Alpes, we look at the national weather forecast for the weekend, and if we announce bad weather on Brittany, we say to ourselves "great, we're going to have a new article from "Petites bulles d'ailleurs" ! It's almost never missing, it's convenient 🙄
    Congratulations for your always interesting work, and your photos always on top.
    Signed a non-diver!

    1. @ Gaëlle: 😆 That's not wrong... Besides, I'm running out of time these days, to update the blog, I admit. But I'll try to resume a more regular rhythm. Thank you for this nice little word! 🙂

  2. I like these pages very practical, Corinne and at least, it smells the passion ... that dies to share!

    1. @Sarah: I have not yet taken the time to respond to comments, including yours, on the previous articles ... But as you see, I alternated two ways to travel to the Maldives: first part of the stay in a guesthouse on an inhabited island, second part of the stay on a more chic boat for a diving cruise. I liked to combine the two.
      8)
      I still avoid giving too much in the "practice-practice", because I'm not a travel guide either and this kind of information is outdated very quickly. In addition, after a post like that I am flooded with emails asking me even more information (for information generally easy to find on the websites of accommodation). People do not like to look for themselves or take control ... Sometimes even, it's very funny, I get straight for the hotelier and they send me requests for res ... (sic!)

      But the existence of affordable guesthouses in the Maldives is really something that few travelers know, because it's very recent. It was worth mentioning it, and, without necessarily detailing everything, to give price ranges!
      🙄

    2. Yes, I know, that's why I had refrained from asking for details about this destination that interests me so much. However, I note that some did not hesitate to do so and take careful note of what you wanted to "deliver" as information. I think for my part, that the blog is halfway dives and travels, maybe that's why he calls all kinds of questions ... Anyway, thanks again for the answers and stay " zen!

  3. Hi, activity level apart from diving what to do? It is necessary to count how much grosso modo if one is in mode backpacker? And are the prices of the dives affordable?

    Thank you in advance !

    1. @Mat: Well, let's say there is "nothing" special to do. The Maldives is a huge archipelago made up of tiny coral islands, where the activities are those that can offer this kind of islands, lost in the Indian Ocean:
      - visits to small villages in the surrounding inhabited islands and meetings with locals
      - sea trips to meet dolphins
      - fishing with the locals, or big game fishing on equipped boats
      - picnic on white sandbanks in the middle of the sea
      - Snorkeling (palm-mask-snorkel) or scuba diving
      - other nautical activities according to the places: kayak, surf, windsurf, etc.

      I do not know how much to count "grosso-modo" in backpacker mode. As I said earlier in the article, the cheapest nights are around 30-40 €. Ferry prices are ridiculous (1-3USD for short crossings, a little longer for long). Dive rates also vary, depending on whether the center is affiliated with a luxury resort or not. I would have to find my bill at Asseyri Inn for the dives I made at home, but it did not seem particularly exorbitant.

      Otherwise, I think there is a way to try "couchsurfing" for a discovery in true mode backpacker (I saw that there were a lot of Maldivians registered on the site Couchsurfing).

      Finally, as I said earlier in the article, to find more info and testimonials about independent travel and backpacking in the Maldives, do a Google search with the following words:
      -> guesthouse + Maldives
      -> guesthouse + backpacker
      You will find through this a lot of pages, including stories of travelers on blogs.
      8)

  4. thank you for the info, but ... how much for the transfer by plane? I remember abandoning the idea of a cheap hotel on an island far from Malé because of seaplane to $ 500 ...

    1. @Robin: yes, it is also for this kind of consideration that I opted for Hanimaadhoo (and that Gan, in Addu Atoll, in the south, tempted me too): there is an airport!

      The transfer by plane is therefore with the local company Maldivian Aero and not with a seaplane (surely very nice but overpriced) ... Rates and bookings on the website: http://www.maldivian.aero

      The prices of Maldivian Aero are not those of Air Asia, of course, but it is much more affordable than seaplanes ... For my part, I did not take care of anything, because my package with Asseyri Inn included the A / R Male-Hanimaadhoo by plane (they are the ones who booked me). You can go to the airline's website to get an idea of the prices.

      Otherwise, the other option is to have time in front of you, and to take ferries from island to island, from atoll to atoll, which are not expensive at all ...
      🙄

  5. Very interested in your article, I would like to make a resa...How to do? Thank you for your help! 😆 Well, obviously, you got it, it's a joke! I understand your annoyance! Well, more seriously, I didn't know about the existence of guest houses in the Maldives...A bit late for me unfortunately 😥 Who knows, maybe one day, I'll come back there for some snorkeling, if there are some interesting spots obviously...

    1. @Didier: 😆 😆 😆 I'm laughing, but I swear it's true, I'm really getting emails like that

      I am sometimes amazed, but it is also linked to the fact that many French people do not speak English or speak it poorly. As a result, they don't understand much of the information on the hosting websites, and feel even less comfortable sending an email. And so, they take the side of writing to me, thinking that maybe I can do the relay or give them the information they are looking for... I try not to get annoyed, all the same. In general, I answer nicely... 😀

      I think there are places with mantas and whale sharks, where snorkeling is worthwhile in season ... In any case, living in a Maldivian village is an experience to live, really different from what it is. you can collect when you are on a dive boat or in an exclusive resort for tourists.

      The phenomenon of guesthouses is very recent. I've been eyeing the Maldives for a long time, discouraged by the fares and the only option for resorts or cruises-dives ... A few years ago, guesthouses did not exist and I would not have had the right to so go on a local island, as an independent traveler.
      🙄

    2. @Corinne: That's right, I did not give up the idea of seeing "fish", but obviously, differently. Whale sharks, dolphins, etc. can be seen through snorkeling. Associated with visits or other activities, this can become interesting! 8)
      I am currently doing research to try to find a good compromise. Then we will see if the Maldives can meet my needs. In any case, if one day you get a good tip on this, anywhere in the world, don't forget me ! I sold everything except PMT!! 😉

  6. I would never have thought of the Guesthouse for this kind of destination. It considerably reduces the rating but the price of the plane ticket remains quite high!

  7. For me this opening of Maldivian tourism is what could happen better in this country. It is finally the end of this golden bubble and also the best solution for Maldivians finally benefit directly from the benefits of tourism.

    Waiting for my life in the Maldives remains one of my worst experiences abroad ... but I would go back, for the fantastic dives!

  8. Hello Corinne.
    I enjoy your blog for many years and I often say that we will end up crossing on a dive trip: we have many destinations in common!
    For the Maldives, it was for me one of my first exotic destinations: In island hotel for tourists ...
    I was delighted to read your posts telling us the possibility of Guesthousse on uncut islands of the local population.

    However, I recently saw a TV report that showed that the Maldives' political regime tended to get tougher and that individual freedoms were being challenged, with a tendency towards religious extremism.
    I wanted to bring this info to your readers so that the Maldivian people will not be forgotten.
    Greg.
    and good bubbles everywhere!

  9. So, it's really a discovery. thank you!
    Me, I have a magical memory of the Maldives 30 years ago - ugh... it doesn't make me any younger - where I had the chance to go with my parents for my 18th birthday 🙄
    And there was not yet this outbid of luxury resorts, it was super good kid and rather very cool ... it's even where I made my first bubbles, uh ... not framed at all so, like we want take a bottle and we go ... accompanied anyway, but ...
    So, thanks, I'm going to go and have a look around, it aroused my curiosity... Well, for now, let's focus on Easter and Indonesia, eh? 😀

152 Shares
Share122
Tweet22
Pine
Share8

Ma chambre à Asseyri Inn, à Hanimaadhoo.
Ma chambre à Asseyri Inn, à Hanimaadhoo.

Ma guesthouse aux Maldives

  Maldives - février 2014

Les Maldives pour pas (trop) cher ? C’est possible. Il y a une alternative aux îles-hôtels de luxe : les guesthouses des îles habitées.

Nouveau tourisme dans l’archipel maldivien

J’ai découvert les Maldives en février 2014. Une destination inédite sur Petites Bulles d’Ailleurs ! 😎

PRÉCISIONS : en avril 2014, j’ai interrompu ma série d’articles sur les Maldives, trouvant difficile de continuer à vanter ici les beautés de cet archipel de l’océan Indien (et donc à encourager les gens à se rendre aux Maldives) alors que le régime avait durci son application de la charia, après mon séjour de février 2014. Ne respectant pas les Droits de l’homme, les Maldives avaient dû quitter le Commonwealth des Nations en 2016. Mais en septembre 2018, les choses ont changé, avec la défaite surprise aux élections du président autocrate Abdulla Yameen soutenu par les islamistes et désormais poursuivi pour corruption, battu par Ibrahim Mohamed Solih, un allié du camp démocratique. Puis en avril 2019, le parti de Mohamed Nasheed, ex-président des Maldives (2008-2012), plusieurs fois emprisonné par le régime et principale figure de l’opposition, a remporté les premières élections législatives depuis le départ de Yameen. Les Maldives retrouvent le chemin de la démocratie, c’est une super bonne nouvelle !

Au sud de l’Inde, cet immense archipel à fleur d’eau est connu pour ses îles-hôtels et resorts luxueux, hors de prix, coupés de la population locale, fréquentés par de très riches touristes et des couples en lune de miel.

Île-hôtel aux Maldives. Février 2014.
Île-hôtel aux Maldives. Février 2014.

Les Maldives ont longtemps fait le choix du tourisme de luxe, veillant à limiter les contacts entre les visiteurs étrangers et la population locale. Mais c’est en train de changer. Depuis peu, les habitants ont été autorisés à ouvrir des « guesthouses », qui vont de la pension de famille au petit hôtel touristique.

Ces guesthouses se sont multipliées, depuis quelques années, et il y a désormais du choix, du nord au sud de l’archipel, pour les voyageurs indépendants. On peut ainsi loger dans les villages des îles habitées et découvrir la vraie vie des « vrais gens ».

C’est l’option que j’ai choisie pour la première semaine de mon voyage maldivien ! Avant de m’octroyer une deuxième semaine plus chic sur un bateau de croisière-plongée… 👌

J’ai donc d’abord passé quelques jours tout au nord de l’archipel, sur l’île d’Hanimaadhoo, à la très chouette guesthouse Asseyri Inn. J’ai choisi une île très éloignée de Malé (environ 280km, soit une heure de vol), pour éviter les coins les plus fréquentés. J’hésitais avec Gan, dans le sud, mais ce sera pour une autre fois…

Mise à jour – janvier 2017 : la guesthouse Asseyri Inn telle que je l’ai connue ne semble plus exister. Le site internet renvoie désormais sur un autre hôtel, beaucoup plus chic, situé sur une autre île…

La rue de sable, devant la guesthouse Asseyri Inn. Hanimaadhoo, Maldives, février 2014.
La rue de sable, devant la guesthouse Asseyri Inn. Hanimaadhoo, Maldives, février 2014.

Ce sont les commentaires élogieux sur TripAdvisor qui m’ont décidée à contacter Asseyri Inn. Leur package « solo traveler » avec des activités pour chaque jour me convenait, ils avaient de la disponibilité à mes dates et en plus il y a un petit centre de plongée. Parfait pour m’immerger dans l’atmosphère du pays et m’acclimater en douceur !

Guesthouses et petits hôtels

Certaines « guesthouses » aux Maldives sont très modestes, d’autres sont carrément très chics. Les plus économiques tournent autour de 30-40€ la nuit, les plus chères dans les 100-150€. On en trouve beaucoup à Malé (l’île capitale), à Hulumalé (l’île résidentielle artificielle près de l’aéroport) et sur deux îles assez proches de Malé, Maafushi (l’île prison) et Guraidhoo. Mais on dirait bien que des hébergements ont ouvert dans presque tous les atolls de l’archipel. Il y a des ferries pas chers du tout pour aller d’une île à l’autre et des liaisons par avion plus onéreuses avec Maldivian Aero pour rejoindre les plus éloignées.

Vous trouverez pas mal d’infos via une recherche Google avec les mots « Maldives + guesthouses » ou « Maldives + backpacker ».

Les plus connues et plus courues figurent sur TripAdvisor dans la rubrique « chambres d’hôtes » et beaucoup de ces hébergements utilisent les sites Booking.com ou Agoda.com pour louer leurs chambres (très pratique pour réserver soi-même sur internet, ou se faire une idée des tarifs). Quelques autres liens en vrac, trouvés lors de mes recherches avant de partir :
Guesthouses in Maldives : une sélection de guesthouses dans plusieurs atolls différents
Maldives Guesthouses & BB : petite sélection par Lonely Planet
Maafushi Maldives : choix de guesthouses sur plusieurs îles, pas seulement Maafushi

Bon à savoir : il faut bien vérifier si les taxes sont incluses ou pas, sinon il faut ajouter +10 % et +8 % (c’était en tout cas le montant lors de mon passage, mais ça peut changer). Il faut aussi regarder les services inclus dans le tarif, il a parfois des packages très intéressants :
→ juste la nuitée (avec ou sans transfert)
→ la nuitée + le petit déjeuner ou la demi-pension
→ la nuitée + tous les repas + des activités à la journée…

Cap sur Hanimaadhoo !

Hanimaadhoo a l’avantage d’avoir un aéroport, désormais « international », avec des liaisons depuis le Sri Lanka et bientôt vers l’Inde, peut-être. C’est une île paisible, étirée tout en longueur, qui compte moins de 1 500 âmes, habitée seulement sur une petite portion au nord.

L'arrivée à Hanimaadhoo. Maldives, février 2014.
L’arrivée à Hanimaadhoo. Maldives, février 2014.

Ma guesthouse est au cœur du village, à deux pas du port où les pêcheurs arrivent en dhoni, le bateau traditionnel, avec les poissons du jour, et de l’école. On voit passer garçons et filles à vélo dans leurs uniformes à la fin des cours.

La pêche du jour au port d'Hanimaadhoo. Maldives, février 2014.
La pêche du jour au port d’Hanimaadhoo. (Maldives, février 2014)
Je crois que ce collégiens a piqué le vélo de sa sœur... Hanimaadhoo, Maldives, février 2014.
Je crois que ce collégiens a piqué le vélo de sa sœur… (Hanimaadhoo, Maldives, février 2014)

Pour rappel, l’islam est religion d’État aux Maldives. Hanimaadhoo est l’une des rares îles habitées où le port du bikini est autorisé aux touristes étrangères, sur un bout de plage délimité. Il faut une autorisation et Asseyri Inn l’a obtenue récemment. La guesthouse compte d’ailleurs construire un nouveau bâtiment devant la plage et déménager là, devant l’eau turquoise et le sable blanc.

La plage des touristes, où le bikini est autorisé, à Hanimaadhoo. Maldives, février 2014.
Le bout de plage où le bikini est autorisé, à Hanimaadhoo. (Maldives, février 2014)
Sur la plage publique d'Hulumalé, l'île résidentielle près de l'aéroport de Malé, il est interdit de se mettre en bikini. Maldives, février 2014.
Sur la plage publique d’Hulumalé, l’île résidentielle près de l’aéroport de Malé, il est interdit de se mettre en bikini. (Maldives, février 2014)

Autre truc à savoir : l’alcool est pareillement interdit sur les îles dites « locales » . Pour boire une bière (éventuellement en bikini), c’est uniquement dans les îles-hôtels des touristes, sur les bateaux de croisière et à l’hôtel situé à côté de l’aéroport de Malé. Pour ceux qui sont en manque, il est toujours possible d’organiser, moyennant finance, un petit séjour d’une journée ou d’une demi-journée dans un resort à proximité, pour goûter momentanément aux plaisirs réservés aux touristes de luxe.

Mais ce n’est évidemment pas cela que je suis venue chercher sur Hanimaadhoo… L’ambiance village musulman tranquille et authentique, écrasé de lumière intense, me va bien, en guise de première immersion culturelle maldivienne. Les gens sont plus réservés qu’en Indonésie, mais très accueillants. La suite dans le prochain post !

😎

  Maldives - février 2014

  1. Depuis les Hautes-Alpes, on regarde la météo nationale pour le week end, et si on annonce mauvais temps sur la Bretagne, on se dit « chouette, on va avoir un nouvel article de « Petites bulles d’ailleurs » !! Ça ne manque presque jamais, c’est pratique 🙄
    Encore bravo pour votre travail toujours intéressant, et vos photos toujours au top.
    Signé une non plongeuse !

    1. @Gaëlle : 😆 Ce n’est pas faux… En plus, je manque de temps ces jours-ci, pour mettre le blog à jour, j’avoue. Mais je vais essayer de reprendre un rythme plus régulier. Merci de ce petit mot très sympa ! 🙂

    1. @Sarah : Je n’ai pas encore pris le temps de répondre aux commentaires, dont le tien, sur les articles précédents… Mais comme tu vois, j’ai alterné deux façons de voyager aux Maldives : première partie du séjour en guesthouse sur une île habitée, deuxième partie du séjour sur un bateau plus chic pour une croisière-plongée. Ça m’a bien plu de combiner les deux.
      8)
      J’évite quand même de trop donner dans le « pratico-pratique », car je ne suis pas un guide de voyage non plus et ce genre d’infos se périme très vite. En plus, après un post comme celui-là je suis inondée de mails me demandant encore plus de renseignements (pour des infos en général faciles à trouver sur les sites internet des hébergements). Les gens n’aiment pas chercher par eux-mêmes ni se prendre en main… Parfois même, c’est très drôle, on me prend carrément pour l’hôtelier et on m’envoie des demandes de résas… (sic!)

      Mais l’existence de guesthouses à prix abordable aux Maldives, c’est vraiment un truc que peu de voyageurs savent, car c’est très récent. Ça valait le coup de le signaler, et, sans forcément tout détailler, de donner des fourchettes de prix !
      🙄

    2. Oui, je sais, c’est pour ça que je m’étais abstenue de demander des précisions sur cette destination qui m’intéresse aussi énormément. Je constate néanmoins que certains n’ont pas hésité à le faire et prends note consciencieusement de ce que tu as bien voulu « livrer » comme infos. Je pense pour ma part, que le blog est à mi-chemin plongées et voyages, c’est peut-être pour ça qu’il appelle toutes sortes de questions… En tout cas, merci encore une fois pour les réponses et de rester « zen » !

  2. Salut, niveau activité à part la plongée il y a quoi à faire ? Il faut compter combien grosso modo si on est en mode routard ? Et est-ce que les prix des plongées sont abordables ?

    Merci d’avance !

    1. @Mat : Eh bien, disons qu’il n’y a « rien » de spécial à faire. Les Maldives sont un immense archipel constitué d’îles coralliennes minuscules, où les activités sont celles que peuvent offrir ce genre d’îles, perdues dans l’océan Indien :
      – visites des petits villages des îles habitées alentour et rencontres avec les locaux
      – balades en mer à la rencontre des dauphins
      – partie de pêche avec les locaux, ou pêche au gros sur des bateaux équipés
      – pique-nique sur des bancs de sable blanc au milieu de la mer
      – snorkeling (palme-masque-tuba) ou plongée-bouteille
      – autres activités nautiques selon les endroits : kayak, surf, windsurf, etc.

      Je ne sais pas combien il faut compter « grosso-modo » en mode routard. Comme je le disais plus haut dans l’article, les nuitées les moins chères tournent autour de 30-40€. Les tarifs des ferries sont dérisoires (1-3USD pour les courtes traversées, un peu plus pour les longues). Les tarifs des plongées varient aussi, selon que le centre est affilié ou pas à un resort de luxe. Faudrait que je retrouve ma facture de chez Asseyri Inn pour les plongées que j’ai faites chez eux, mais ça ne m’avait pas semblé spécialement exorbitant.

      Sinon, je pense qu’il y a moyen de tenter du « couchsurfing » pour une découverte en vrai mode routard (j’ai vu qu’il y avait pas mal de Maldiviens inscrits sur le site Couchsurfing).

      Enfin, comme je le disais plus haut dans l’article, pour trouver plus d’infos et de témoignages sur le voyage indépendant et en mode routard aux Maldives, fais une recherche Google avec les mots suivants :
      -> guesthouse + Maldives
      -> guesthouse + backpacker
      Tu trouveras par ce biais pas mal de pages, dont des récits de voyageurs sur des blogs.
      8)

  3. merci pour les infos, mais… combien pour le transfert en avion ? je me souviens avoir abandonné l’idée d’un hôtel pas cher sur une île loin de Malé pour cause d’hydravion à 500$…

    1. @Robin : oui, c’est aussi pour ce genre de considération que j’ai opté pour Hanimaadhoo (et que Gan, dans Addu Atoll, au sud, me tentait également) : il y a un aéroport !

      Le transfert en avion se fait donc avec la compagnie locale Maldivian Aero et non avec un hydravion (sûrement très sympa mais hors de prix)… Tarifs et réservations sur le site internet : http://www.maldivian.aero

      Les tarifs de Maldivian Aero ne sont pas ceux d’Air Asia, bien sûr, mais ça reste bien plus abordable que les hydravions… Pour ma part, je ne me suis occupée de rien, car mon package avec Asseyri Inn comprenait l’A/R Malé-Hanimaadhoo en avion (c’est eux qui se sont chargés de réserver pour moi). Tu peux aller voir sur le site de la compagnie aérienne pour avoir une idée des prix.

      Sinon, l’autre option, c’est d’avoir du temps devant soi, et d’emprunter les ferries, d’île en île, d’atoll en atoll, qui ne coûtent pas cher du tout…
      🙄

    2. A titre d’exemple, j’ai payé 165 $ pour un aller en hydravion de l’île de Kuredu à l’aéroport de Male

  4. Très intéressé par votre article, je voudrais effectuer une resa…Comment faire ? Merci de votre aide ! 😆 Bon, évidemment, tu as compris, c’est une boutade ! Je comprend ton agacement ! Bon, plus sérieusement, je ne connaissais pas l’existence de guest house aux Maldives….Un peu tard pour moi malheureusement 😥 Qui sait, un jour peut être, j’y reviendrai pour du snorkeling, s’il y a des coins intéressants évidemment….

    1. @Didier: 😆 😆 😆 Je me marre, mais je te jure que c’est vrai, je reçois vraiment des emails comme ça…

      Je suis parfois stupéfaite, mais c’est aussi lié au fait que beaucoup de Français ne parlent pas ou mal anglais. Du coup, ils ne comprennent pas grand-chose aux infos figurant sur les sites web des hébergements, et se sentent encore moins d’envoyer un email. Et alors, ils prennent le parti de m’écrire à moi, en se disant que je peux peut-être faire le relais ou leur donner les renseignements qu’ils cherchent… J’essaie de ne pas m’agacer, tout de même. En général, je réponds gentiment… 😀

      Je crois qu’il y a des coins à mantas et à requins baleines, où le snorkeling vaut la peine en saison… En tout cas, vivre dans un village maldivien, c’est une expérience à vivre, vraiment différente de ce que l’on peut percevoir quand on est sur un bateau de plongée ou dans un resort exclusif pour touristes.

      Le phénomène des guesthouses est tout récent. Ça fait longtemps que je lorgne sur les Maldives, découragée par les tarifs et la seule option des resorts ou des croisières-plongées… Il y a encore quelques années, les guesthouses n’existaient pas et je n’aurais pas eu le droit de me rendre ainsi sur une île locale, en tant que voyageuse indépendante.
      🙄

    2. @Corinne : C’est vrai, je n’ai pas abandonné l’idée de voir « des poissons », mais évidemment, différemment. Requins baleines, dauphins, etc… peuvent se voir par le biais du snorkeling. Associé à des visites ou d’autres activités, cela peut devenir intéressant ! 8)
      Je fais des recherches actuellement afin d’essayer de trouver un bon compromis. Alors, on verra bien si les Maldives peuvent répondre à mon besoin. En tout cas, si un jour tu as un bon tuyau là-dessus, partout dans le monde,ne m’oublie pas ! J’ai tout vendu, sauf PMT!! 😉

  5. Je n’aurais jamais pensé aux Guesthouse pour ce genre de destination. Ça réduit considérablement la note mais le prix du billet d’avion reste assez élevé!

  6. Pour moi cette ouverture du tourisme maldivien c’est ce qui pouvait arriver de mieux a ce pays. C’est enfin la fin de cette bulle dorée et aussi la meilleure solution pour que les Maldiviens profitent enfin directement des bénéfices du tourisme.

    En attendant ma vie aux Maldives reste l’une de mes pires expériences à l’étranger… mais j’y retournerais, pour les plongées fantastiques !

  7. Bonjour Corinne.
    Je me régale de ton blog depuis de nombreuses années et je me dis souvent que l’on va finir par se croiser lors d’un voyage plongée : nous avons de nombreuses destinations en commun !!!
    Pour les Maldives, ce fut pour moi une de mes premières destinations exotiques : En île hôtel pour touristes…
    J’ai été ravi de lire tes posts nous relatant la possibilité de Guesthousse sur des îles non coupées de la population locale.

    Cependant, j’ai vu dernièrement un reportage TV qui montrait que le régime politique des Maldives avait tendance à se durcir et que les libertés individuelles étaient remise en cause, avec une tendance à l’extrémisme religieux.
    je voulais apporter cette info à tes lecteurs pour que le peuple Maldivien ne soit pas oublié.
    Greg.
    et bonnes bulles partout!

  8. Alors, c’est vraiment une découverte. merci!
    Moi, j’ai un souvenir magique des Maldives il y a …30 ans – argh… ca ne me rajeunit pas lu comme ça – où j’avais eu la chance d’y aller avec mes parents pour mes 18 ans 🙄
    Et il n’y avait pas encore cette surenchère de resorts luxueux, c’était super bon enfant et plutot très cool… c’est même là que j’ai fait mes premières bulles, euh… pas encadrées du tout donc, genre tiens on prend une bouteille et on y va… accompagnée quand même, mais bon…
    Donc, merci, je vais aller farfouiller, ca a éveillé ma curiosité… Bon, pour l’instant, on se concentre sur Pâques et l’Indonésie, hein? 😀

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

152 Partages
Partagez122
Tweetez22
Enregistrer
Partagez8