Traditional collective fishing in Utheemu. Maldives, February 2014.
Traditional collective fishing in Utheemu. Maldives, February 2014.

In the Maldives, a spectacular fishing party

  Maldives - February 2014

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation of an article originally written in French. I apologise for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have resulted. If you read French, click on the French flag below to access the original, correct text: 


A beach in the Maldives. Blinding sand, turquoise water. The whole village has gathered there, facing the sea. Nobody wants to miss this amazing traditional fishing party...

CLARIFICATIONS: in April 2014, I interrupted my series of articles on the MaldivesI found it difficult to continue to praise the beauties of this Indian Ocean archipelago (and thus to encourage people to go to the Maldives) when the regime had tightened its application of Sharia law, after my stay in February 2014. Not respecting human rights, the Maldives had to leave the Commonwealth of Nations in 2016. But in september 2018, things have changed, with the surprise defeat in the autocratic president's elections Abdulla Yameen supported by Islamists and now prosecuted for corruption, beaten by Ibrahim Mohamed Solih, an ally of the democratic camp. Then in april 2019, the party of Mohamed Nasheedformer president of the Maldives (2008-2012), several times imprisoned by the regime and main opposition figure, won the first legislative elections since Yameen left. The Maldives return to the path of democracyThis is great news!

Utheem Island

From my short stay in the Maldives in February 2014, I will keep an intense memory of this scene…

Traditional collective fishing in Utheemu. Maldives, February 2014.
The whole village of Utheemu joins forces to pull the fishing net out of the water (Maldives, February 2014)
Traditional collective fishing in Utheemu. Maldives, February 2014.
A spectacular scene, between the blinding white sand and the azure water (Maldives, February 2014)

We are on the small island of Utheem or Utheemu, in the extreme north of the archipelago. It is a "real island", where "real people" live, not one of those islands-hotels reserved for foreign tourists...

Contrary to what one reads everywhere, it is quite possible to stay in the Maldives among Maldivians as an independent traveler. In recent years, locals have been allowed to open mini-hotels, small guesthouses and guest houses, referred to as guesthouses. I live in one of these guesthouses, Asseyri Inn, on the nearby island of Hanimaadhoo. The Maldivian who runs the pension organized a small excursion for the day…

Luckily, we were in the right place at the right time to witness an event that doesn't happen so often. That day, in Utheem, the whole village gathered on the sand, facing the sea for a traditional fishing party, full of excitement and gaiety.

A video is worth ten thousand words... I let you discover below:

And then a picture is worth a thousand words too, so I add a few bonus photos below.

Please note that I am not the only one to immortalize the event. As traditional as it is, this fishing is an opportunity for all, especially the young men and women of the village and the neighboring islands, to draw smartphones and other modern image sensors... 😄

Traditional collective fishing in Utheemu. Maldives, February 2014.
Fish wriggle on white sand… (Utheem, Maldives, February 2014)

😎

  Maldives - February 2014

273 Shares
Share238
Tweet26
Share9

Pêche traditionnelle collective à Utheemu. Maldives, février 2014.
Pêche traditionnelle collective à Utheemu. Maldives, février 2014.

Aux Maldives, une spectaculaire partie de pêche

  Maldives - février 2014

Une plage aux Maldives. Sable aveuglant, eau turquoise. Tout le village s’est rassemblé là, face à la mer. Personne ne veut rater cette étonnante partie de pêche traditionnelle…

PRÉCISIONS : en avril 2014, j'ai interrompu ma série d'articles sur les Maldives, trouvant difficile de continuer à vanter ici les beautés de cet archipel de l'océan Indien (et donc à encourager les gens à se rendre aux Maldives) alors que le régime avait durci son application de la charia, après mon séjour de février 2014. Ne respectant pas les Droits de l'homme, les Maldives avaient dû quitter le Commonwealth des Nations en 2016. Mais en septembre 2018, les choses ont changé, avec la défaite surprise aux élections du président autocrate Abdulla Yameen soutenu par les islamistes et désormais poursuivi pour corruption, battu par Ibrahim Mohamed Solih, un allié du camp démocratique. Puis en avril 2019, le parti de Mohamed Nasheed, ex-président des Maldives (2008-2012), plusieurs fois emprisonné par le régime et principale figure de l'opposition, a remporté les premières élections législatives depuis le départ de Yameen. Les Maldives retrouvent le chemin de la démocratie, c'est une super bonne nouvelle !

Utheem Island

De mon court séjour aux Maldives en ce mois de février 2014, je garderai un souvenir intense de cette scène.

Pêche traditionnelle collective à Utheemu. Maldives, février 2014.

Pêche traditionnelle collective à Utheemu. Maldives, février 2014.

Nous sommes sur la petite île d’Utheem ou Utheemu, dans l’extrême nord de l’archipel. C’est une « vraie île », où vivent de « vrais gens », pas une de ces îles-hôtels réservées aux touristes étrangers…

Contrairement à ce qu’on lit partout, il est tout à fait possible de séjourner aux Maldives parmi les Maldiviens en tant que voyageur indépendant. Les habitants ont été autorisés depuis quelques années à ouvrir des mini-hôtels, petites pensions et maisons d’hôtes, désignées sous le terme guesthouses. Je réside dans une de ces guesthouses, Asseyri Inn, sur l’île voisine d’Hanimaadhoo. Le Maldivien qui tient la pension a organisé, pour la journée, une petite excursion…

Coup de bol, nous sommes là au bon endroit au bon moment pour assister à un événement pas si fréquent. Ce jour-là, à Utheem, tout le village s’est rassemblé sur le sable, face à la mer pour une partie de pêche traditionnelle collective, pleine d’excitation et de gaieté. Une vidéo vaut dix mille mots… Je vous laisse découvrir.

Et puis une image vaut mille mots aussi, alors je rajoute quelques petites photos en bonus ci-dessous.

Notez bien que je ne suis pas la seule à immortaliser l’événement. Si traditionnelle soit-elle, cette pêche est l’occasion pour tous, en particulier les jeunes gens et jeunes femmes du village et des îles voisines, de dégainer smartphones et autres capteurs d’image modernes… 😄

Pêche traditionnelle collective à Utheemu. Maldives, février 2014.

Pêche traditionnelle collective à Utheemu. Maldives, février 2014.

Pêche traditionnelle collective à Utheemu. Maldives, février 2014.

Pêche traditionnelle collective à Utheemu. Maldives, février 2014.

😎

  Maldives - février 2014

159 Partages
Partagez124
Tweetez26
Enregistrer
Partagez9