Filipino chorizo.

Filipino chorizo

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the strange sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here PetitesBullesdAilleurs.fr

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

What is good in the Philippines is that there is chorizo ... Another legacy of Spanish colonization! But I have not yet tasted this Filipino chorizo.

Chorizo for sale

Filipino chorizo.

The shop where I took the picture was closed when I passed. I also spot, in the restaurant-bar-grocery-karaoke near where I live, rice chorizo on the menu.

To test a next day, therefore! And of course, the beer that we drink here is San Miguel ...

Still no whale shark

Otherwise, still no whale shark for this last day of diving in Leyte. Never mind. As a consolation, I had the boat for myself alone today. The group of five Chinese Hong Kong who plunged with me the days before left. Phew. It is less flashes to gush in front of the nudibranchs ... I gave myself a joy, during the two dive of the day.

Tomorrow, departure at dawn ... hoping to catch a hypothetical morning ferry to Bohol Island. I leave Leyte before the big rush of the beginning of season, to believe Phil and Ron, the Australian and English who hold the Sogod Bay Scuba Resort. They are complete from February 1st. But I risk finding the crowd in Panglao, Alona Beach exactly, my next step. We'll see !

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

  1. I do not believe it! Chorizo and San Miguel! It bluffed me! But, and the language? Do you still speak Spanish? A little, a lot, or not at all?

    Thank you for your news, the pleasure of reading you is always renewed; the "old branches" not at all naked, on the contrary because frio, send you the most affectionate needs. Mam

  2. Yo Miss. You go from surprises to surprises. Well, as long as it's not Breton crepes that we offer you !!!! As for the whale sharks, do not despair, I'm sure you'll have the happiness to discover one ... Apart from that, it's hard here. We really envy you to be there ... It's going to be time for Captain Kirk to lend us his teleporter. I'm waiting for your photos ... Biz

  3. 🙂 To Mam:

    Yes, chorizo, San Miguel, and especially pious images and rosaries everywhere on the jeepneys (old jeeps arranged by minibus), the tricyles (Filipino version of the Indonesian "becak", namely a small cockpit with a wheel attached to a bike or motorcycle) and any other vehicle. Without forgetting the "fiestas", each city and village has its own ...

    What is funny with the language is that the "tagalog" or "filipino" (official language, because there are lots of different local languages) is a funny mix of local heritage, Spanish and English ... We find for example the "salamat" of Malay and Indonesian polite expressions of thanks (presumably inherited from Arabic), but to count people often use English or Spanish, and a lot of vocabulary recalls Spanish: the butter is for example "mantikilya", soap is "sabon", ham is "hamon", cheese "keso", etc.

    I'm going to read what my Lonely Planet says about it, it looks exciting. Otherwise, all Filipinos learn English at school and it's a lot easier than in other Southeast Asian countries to communicate ...

    🙂 To Sam: Here it is 28 degrees, neither too hot nor too cold, just fine! Go, I send you a little heat and sun to face the cold Breton ...

  4. Forgot to say that the linguistic aspect of the stay fascinates me too much, thank you; but in general, do people communicate in English? the press for example, radio or TV (if you had access to all these media, how is it?) my curiosity is limitless ... .thank you for everything, mil besos y mucho mas.Mam

  5. No, here, between them, people speak in Tagalog. The TV is also in Tagalog (also called filipino). But the CNN type channels or Chinese channels in English are of course captured.

    I have not yet had the opportunity to look at what exists, press release. It will probably be easier in Cebu ...

    I will soon make a little article "linguistics" ...

    😉

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Chorizo philippin.

Chorizo philippin

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

Ce qu’il y a de bien, aux Philippines, c’est qu’on y trouve du chorizo… Autre heritage de la colonisation espagnole ! Mais je n’ai pas encore goute ce chorizo philippin.

Chorizo for sale

Chorizo philippin.

La boutique ou j’ai pris la photo etait fermee quand je suis passee. J’ai aussi repere, dans le resto-bar-epicerie-karaoke a cote de la ou j’habite, du riz au chorizo au menu.

A tester un jour prochain, donc ! Et bien evidemment, la biere que l’on boit ici est de la San Miguel…

Toujours pas de requin-baleine

Sinon, toujours pas de requin-baleine pour ce dernier jour de plongee a Leyte. Tant pis. En guise de consolation, j’ai eu le bateau pour moi toute seule aujourd’hui. Le groupe de cinq Chinois de Hong-Kong qui plongeait avec moi les jours precedents est reparti. Ouf. Ca fait moins de flashes a jaillir devant les nudibranches… Je m’en suis donne a coeur joie, pendant les deux plongees du jour.

Demain, depart a l’aube… dans l’espoir d’attraper un hypothetique ferry du matin, pour l’ile de Bohol. Je pars de Leyte avant le gros rush du debut de saison, a en croire Phil et Ron, l’Australien et l’Anglais qui tiennent le Sogod Bay Scuba Resort. Ils sont complets a partir du 1er fevrier. Mais je risque de retrouver la foule a Panglao, Alona Beach exactement, ma prochaine etape. On verra bien !

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

  1. J’en reviens pas! Du chorizo et de la San Miguel! Ça m’a blufflée! Mais, et la langue? Y parle-t -on encore l’espagnol? Un peu, beaucoup, ou pas du tout?

    Merci pour tes nouvelles, le plaisir de te lire est toujours renouvelé; les « vieilles branches » pas du tout dénudées, bien au contraire because frio, t’envoient mil besos les plus affectueux. Mam

  2. Yo Miss. Tu vas de surprises en surprises. Bon, tant que ce n’est pas des crêpes bretonnes que l’on te propose!!!! Quant aux requins-baleines, ne désespère pas, je suis sur que tu auras le bonheur d’en découvrir un… A part ça, ca caille dur ici. On t’envie vraiment d’être là-bas… Va vraiment être temps que le capitaine Kirk nous prête son téléporteur. J’attends tes photos… Biz

  3. 🙂 A Mam :

    Eh oui, chorizo, San Miguel, et surtout des images pieuses et des chapelets partout sur les jeepneys (anciennes jeeps amenagees en minibus), les tricyles (version philippine du « becak » indonesien, a savoir un petit habitacle avec une roue fixee a un velo ou une moto) et tout autre vehicule. Sans oublier les « fiestas », chaque ville et village a la sienne…

    Ce qui est rigolo avec la langue, c’est que le « tagalog » ou « filipino » (langue officielle, car il y a des tas de langues locales differentes) est un drole de mix entre heritage local, espagnol et anglais… On retrouve par exemple le « salamat » des formules de politesse malaises et indonesiennes pour dire merci (vraisemblablement herite de l’arabe), mais pour compter les gens utilisent souvent l’anglais ou l’espagnol, et enormement de vocabulaire rappelle l’espagnol: le beurre se dit par exemple « mantikilya », savon c’est « sabon », jambon c’est « hamon », fromage « keso », etc.

    Je vais lire ce que raconte mon Lonely Planet la-dessus, ca a l’air passionnant. Sinon, tous les Philippins apprennent l’anglais a l’ecole et c’est beaucoup plus facile que dans d’autres pays d’Asie du Sud-Est de communiquer…

    🙂 A Sam : Ici, il fait 28 degres, ni trop chaud ni trop froid, juste bien! Allez, je vous envoie un peu de chaleur et de soleil pour affronter la froidure bretonne…

  4. Oublié de dire que l’aspect linguistique du séjour me passionne aussi beaucoup, merci; mais d’une manière générale, les gens communiquent-ils en anglais? la presse par exemple, la radio ou la télé (si tu as eu accès à tous ces médias, c’est comment?) ma curiosité est sans limite….merci pour tout,mil besos y mucho mas.Mam

  5. Non, ici, entre eux, les gens parlent en tagalog. La tele est aussi en tagalog (appele aussi filipino). Mais les chaines type CNN ou des chaines chinoises en anglais sont bien evidemment captees.

    Je n’ai pas encore eu l’occasion de regarder ce qui existe, cote presse. Ce sera sans doute plus facile a Cebu…

    Je ferai prochainement un petit article « linguistique »…

    😉

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez