-

Underwater in Pulau Weh

#Indonesia

  Indonesia: Pulau Weh [Sumatra] - March 2010

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

I finally ironed under the surface, with delight, in the waters of Pulau Weh (Indonesia). The underwater fauna is dense and varied. The two short weeks of my stay here will not be enough to explore everything!

The Big Fancy Camera

A nice moray, who agreed to show me his teeth for the photo ... (Pulau Weh, Gapang Beach).
A nice moray, who agreed to show me his teeth for the photo ... (Pulau Weh, Gapang Beach, March 2010)

To begin with, pictures taken with my new toy: the Canon Eos 7D in the Ikelite waterproof case who's fine. See also:

→ Diving and photo: my equipment

→ 6 tips to make your underwater photos a success when you start

I only have a few of them, because I'm still taming the monster, aka "The Big Fancy Camera", as Mike would say, an English instructor working here.

😂

With an SLR camera in a large housing, everything changes underwater compared to my small compact: the weight, the aiming, the lighting, the focusing distance?

I released my new gear this morning, dive from the edge, in front of the beach of Lumba Lumba. I still have trouble correcting the flash light, but it improves, little by little.

My pictures are also a little yellow. I have to check the light temperature settings, I think. And that I am also improving post-treatment. I still have a lot of progress to make, but I learn by doing ...

Nemo's daddy says hello! (Pulau Weh, Gapang Beach)

A mischievous fish-ball, who loves to pose ... (Pulau Weh, Gapang Beach).

A scorpion baby, all wings out (Pulau weh, Gapang Beach).

So much for the very first tryouts this Thursday. Happiness of the day: the meeting with a not very shy turtle, at the end of the dive, in front of the beach...

????

Small animals

Tomorrow is Friday, no morning dive, we're settling into the Muslim rhythm. But the diving can still resume from 2 pm!

I'm going back to the house-reef, to continue to familiarize myself with my new box. And show me places where there are pretty sights, in the style fish toads (antennas) and harlequin ghost fish ...

That said, Harlequin ghost-fishes, I have already photographed some of them on Wednesday, during our boat trip to Batee Tokong, then on the small wreck of Sabang, in shallow water, near the port ... But with my small compact.

That day was the day I was back on the flippers after long months without bubbles. And then, as there is often current on Batee Tokong, I preferred not to jump into the water right away with the big box for the 7D. In the end, we had no current at all! I was able to photograph quietly, with my small camera, a whole bunch of nice critters, spotted by one of our Indonesian guides, Midi.

Small coral crabs photographed at Batee Tokong (Pulau Weh).

Leaf fish, photographed at Batee Tokong (Pulau Weh).

Harlequin ghost fish, photographed at Batee Tokong (Pulau Weh).

👌

  Indonesia: Pulau Weh [Sumatra] - March 2010

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Great... 🙄
    Tame, tame... But, it's not bad with the SLR. You have to have fun. Enjoy The Big Fancy Camera. Looking forward to seeing the rest 🙂

  2. Beautiful photos! but, the first, the "open mouth" that could swallow us all in less time than it is necessary to click, what is "underwater" creature? ❓

    A "candid" ignoramus ... but admiring.

  3. It would be almost ... the happiness of the first dives and find the blue and fish ...
    Congratulations for these first photos with the "Big" ... What a beautiful light ... we are quiet: your photo galleries will still leave us admiring ..

  4. finally you took the step of putting your camera in a box 😉 not bad the result, more than good even, I like your balloon fish, and I envy you for the harlequin ghost fish that I have not yet seen in diving and as I do not think he has any in the red sea I will have to wait at least 1 year to hope to cross one!!!
    Continue flopped all the way, that we can share all that !!

  5. Oh dear, that's good! By the way, you did not have any trouble with your new wheel bag ??
    A quick question: why do not you take your regulator in hand luggage?
    Trrrrrres beautiful photos with your new travel companion! NOT.

  6. Great beginnings! I love the moray ebb in action, the curiosity of the balloon ... bravo!
    Like you, I'm finally going back under the Indonesian surface in a very short time... I'm going back to Bali tomorrow! ... with my old camera... but you'll end up making me want to!!! 🙄

  7. @Alice: Thanks, miss! I must say that I have fun with this new toy.
    8)

    @Lydie: This is a moray, very nice, very cooperative, she deigned to open the mouth three times for my camera, really nice ... In fact, if you click on the image, normally it opens more tall, with a legend above to accompany him.
    🙂

    @Malene: Thanksiiiiiii !!! Yes, the light is much softer, more natural, with the 7D and the external flash, than with the small compact. But I still have to learn to find the right angle for the flash. With each new shot, you have to readjust the arm, a bit in the judgment ...
    😉

    @Laurence: How? No ornated ghost pipe-fish in the Red Sea? Can someone confirm? that's it ... Well, do not worry, you'll end up crossing one, one of these days ...
    🙄

    @Cathy: Yes, she was very very cool with me, this moray. She began to yawn just for my goal!
    😀

    @Nani: No, zero galley with the bag on wheels. It's even the opposite, I spared myself a lot of sweats ... If I put the regulator in the bag that goes in the hold, instead of taking a cabin bag as before, it's because my cabin bag already weighs more than 10 kg all by itself, because it contains my two boxes, the big flash, the two cameras, a macro lens, a computer, etc. etc. No more room for the regulator. But with the configuration of this bag with wheels, it is well protected, if it is placed well in the middle in the combi.
    🙄

    @Manta: Thank you Manta! Ah ... change your device underwater, it's a new challenge. You have to relearn everything, change your habits, but what satisfaction when you see the result. The dive is infinitely better, the light is different, the depth of field more controllable, etc. etc. It is an investment, but when we love ... In the meantime, I wish you a very good stay and great dives in Bali !!!
    8)

  8. @ Jean-Loïc: You posted your comment right when I answered the others ... So I add my answer below. Thank you for this little word, it's really fun. But if you want to see the top of the top in sub and macro photography, I invite you to visit Hélène Caillaud's website:
    http://www.helenecaillaud.com/
    I still have a big margin of progress, before getting to his level ...
    bizzzz
    🙂

  9. Not used to correspond via a blog but I must admit that it's great. You are better photographer than I had imagined during your story in Fougeres. Bravo especially the self-portrait with open mouth. I'm kidding, do not be angry. Kiss of the grisaille fougeraise.jl

  10. eh eh a glimmer of hope appears to me... while poking around on the net I just saw that there are harlequin ghost fish in the red sea! 🙂
    I'm going to look for them !!
    On what type of 'support' do you usually cross, corals, gorgonians ??

  11. @Laurence: Ah, all the same ... it seemed weird, not found in the Red Sea. They are often stuck in underwater "fern" species, comatulas I believe.

  12. @Laurence: Yes, they also like the tentacles of crinoids (comatulas, that is), but here I was thinking of fixed flora or fauna... In short, they like anything that has "branches" in which to hide... 🙄

  13. Very impressive "your" first beast and therefore a moray that I would have taken for a snake. Very successful these pictures ...
    I know that you are more diving than beach but can you still tell me if there are some nice on Pulau Weh, if the water is clear and if there are small excursions or nice walks to do on the ground ? What does the weather look like in February-March-April? I thought about this destination for "our" summer. Transfers, prices ... from Bandah Aceh? And your long-haul flight?
    In short, if you could give even more details trip outside the "underwater", finally when you have time, of course, it would be good. Thank you in advance and enjoy, veinarde "off-season".

  14. @Sarah: Thanks for the compliments... 🙂
    To answer your questions, Pulau Weh does not have "beautiful" beaches in the sense that most people hear, even if I find them beautiful. There is a lot of dead coral on the beach, so it's not always great for swimming. The water is clear according to the weather: when there is wind and waves, the visibility is very reduced at the edge of the beach, it brews a lot. But it seems that the snorkeling between Iboih Beach and Rubiah Island is pretty. I think the weather is rainier in January-holidays-March-April, but I did not get a very clear answer on that. The seasons are not really marked, it seems.
    Finally, you should know that the place is very "traditional" Muslim, so outside the two more touristy beaches that are Gapang and Iboih, it is impossible for a woman to put in a shirt ... Question walks, the main road is good and allows nice little rides on a scooter. There must also be ways to organize treks in the jungle, and I know there is a waterfall to see (but I have not found the time to go).
    Finally, in terms of travel, it's very easy. My long-haul flight was with Emirates: Paris-Dubai-Kuala Lumpur (A / R about 560 €). Then fly Kuala Lumpur-Banda Aceh with Air Asia (A / R at about 60 € with my big extra baggage).
    Be careful, you need the Indonesian visa in advance, not yet Visa on Arrival in Banda Aceh. Then, transportation to the pier with a detour through the city to change money, I spun 90 000 Rp (or 7-8 €) to a guy who offered his services, then the ferry to Pulau Weh offers three price categories: 45-55-85 000 Rp, if I remember correctly, then the transportation to one of the beaches costs 50 000 Rp ... Generally, I avoid truffle my travel stories of this kind of not thrilling details ...
    I can only advise you to register on the forum Tashi Delek, where Yann Senant, who made the trip with family, and others, will also be able to give you their impressions. Finally, you can read the page on Pulau Weh from the excellent site Transverse notebooks. There is plenty of practical information and a map of the island with its centers of interest to download.
    Good preparations!
    8)

    @A World Elsewhere: Thank you Marie-Ange! Me too, I think it's my favorite. I start to progress, little by little ... I will deliver new photos sub very soon!
    🙄

13 Shares
Share13
Tweet
Share

Sous l’eau à Pulau Weh

#Indonésie

  Indonésie : Pulau Weh [Sumatra] - mars 2010

Je suis enfin repassée sous la surface, avec délice, dans les eaux de Pulau Weh (Indonésie). La faune sous-marine est dense, variée. Les deux petites semaines de mon séjour ici ne suffiront pas à tout explorer !

The Big Fancy Camera

Une gentille murène, qui a accepté de me montrer ses dents pour la photo... (Pulau Weh, Gapang Beach).
Une gentille murène, qui a accepté de me montrer ses dents pour la photo… (Pulau Weh, Gapang Beach, mars 2010)

Pour commencer, des images réalisées avec mon nouveau jouet : le Canon Eos 7D dans le caisson étanche Ikelite qui va bien. Voir aussi :

→ Plongée et photo : mon équipement

→ 6 conseils pour réussir ses photos sous-marines quand on débute

Je n’en ai que quelques-unes de montrables, car je suis encore en train d’apprivoiser le monstre, alias « The Big Fancy Camera », comme dirait Mike, un instructeur anglais qui bosse ici.

😂

Avec un appareil reflex dans un imposant caisson, tout change, sous l’eau, par rapport à mon petit compact : le poids, la visée, l’éclairage, la distance de mise au point…

J’ai étrenné mon nouvel attirail ce matin, en plongée du bord, devant la plage du Lumba Lumba. J’ai encore du mal à doser correctement la lumière du flash, mais ça s’améliore, petit à petit.

Mes images sont aussi un peu jaunes. Il faut que je vérifie les réglages de température de lumière, je pense. Et que je m’améliore aussi en post-traitement. J’ai encore beaucoup de progrès à faire, mais j’apprends en faisant…

Le papa de Nemo vous dit bonjour ! (Pulau Weh, Gapang Beach)

Un poisson-ballon espiègle, qui adore poser... (Pulau Weh, Gapang Beach).

Un bébé rascasse, toutes ailes dehors (Pulau weh, Gapang Beach).

Voilà pour les tous premiers essais de ce jeudi. Bonheur du jour : la rencontre avec une tortue peu farouche, en fin de plongée, devant la plage…

🙂

Petites bêtes

Demain, c’est vendredi, pas de plongée en matinée, on se cale sur le rythme musulman. Mais les ploufs peuvent tout de même reprendre dès 14 h !

Je vais retourner sur le house-reef, pour continuer de me familiariser avec mon nouveau caisson. Et me faire montrer les endroits où il y a de jolies curiosités, dans le style poissons-crapauds (antennaires) et poissons-fantômes arlequins…

Ceci dit, des poissons-fantômes arlequins, j’en ai déjà photographiés quelques-uns mercredi, lors de notre virée en bateau à Batee Tokong, puis sur la petite épave de Sabang, en eau peu profonde, près du port… Mais avec mon petit compact.

Ce jour-là, c’était pour moi la remise en palmes après de longs mois sans bulles. Et puis, comme il y a souvent du courant sur Batee Tokong, j’ai préféré ne pas me jeter à l’eau tout de suite avec le gros caisson pour le 7D. Finalement, nous n’avons pas eu de courant du tout ! J’ai pu photographier tranquillement, avec mon petit appareil, tout un tas de bestioles bien sympas, repérées par un de nos guides indonésiens, Midi.

Petits crabes de corail photographiés à Batee Tokong (Pulau Weh).

Poisson-feuille, photographié à Batee Tokong (Pulau Weh).

Poisson-fantôme arlequin, photographié à Batee Tokong (Pulau Weh).

👌

  Indonésie : Pulau Weh [Sumatra] - mars 2010

  1. Splendides photos! mais, la première, la  » gueule » grande ouverte qui pourrait nous avaler tout cru en moins de temps qu’il n’ en fau pour cliquer, c’ est quelle  » bestiole » subaquatique? ❓

    Une  » candide » ignare…mais admirative.

  2. On y serait presque… le bonheur des premières plongées et de retrouver le bleu et les poissons…
    Bravo pour ces premières photos avec le « Gros »… Quelle jolie lumière… on est tranquille: tes galeries photos vont encore nous laisser admiratifs..

  3. finalement tu as franchi le pas en mettant ton appareil en boite 😉 pas mal le résultat, plus que bien même, j’aime bien ton poisson ballon, et je t’envie pour le poisson fantôme arlequin que je n’ai pas encore vu en plongée et comme je ne pense pas qu’il en ai en mer rouge je vais devoir encore attendre au moins 1 an pour espérer en croiser un!!!
    Continue flachouille à tout va, que nous puissions partager tout ça!!

  4. Oh là là, ça fait envie !! Au fait, tu n’as pas galéré du tout avec ton nouveau sac à roulettes ??
    Une petite question : pourquoi ne prends-tu plus ton détendeur en bagage à main ?
    Trrrrrrés belles les photos avec ton nouveau compagnon de voyage ! N.

  5. Superbes débuts! J’adore la murène en action, la curiosité du ballon… bravo!!!
    Comme toi, je repasse enfin sous la surface Indonésienne d’ici très peu… je repars demain pour Bali ! … avec mon vieil appareil… mais tu vas finir par me donner des envies!!! 🙄

  6. @Alice: Thanks, miss ! Je dois dire que je m’amuse bien, avec ce nouveau jouet.
    8)

    @Lydie: Il s’agit d’une murène, très gentille, très coopérative, elle a daigné ouvrir la gueule à trois reprises pour mon appareil photo, vraiment sympa… En fait, si tu cliques sur l’image, normalement elle s’ouvre en plus grand, avec une légende au-dessus pour l’accompagner.
    🙂

    @Malene: Merciiiiiiii !!! Oui, la lumière est beaucoup plus douce, plus naturelle, avec le 7D et le flash externe, qu’avec le petit compact. Mais il me reste encore à apprendre à trouver le bon angle pour le flash. A chaque nouveau cliché, il faut réajuster le bras, un peu au jugé…
    😉

    @Laurence: Comment ? Pas d’ornated ghost pipe-fish en Mer rouge ? Quelqu’un peut confirmer ? ça alors… Bah, ne t’inquiète pas, tu finiras bien par en croiser un, un de ces jours…
    🙄

    @Cathy: Oui, elle a été très très cool avec moi, cette murène. Elle s’est mise à bâiller juste pour mon objectif!!!
    😀

    @Nani: Non, zéro galère avec le sac à roulettes. C’est même tout le contraire, je me suis épargné bien des suées… Si je mets le détendeur dans le sac qui va en soute, au lieu de le prendre en sac cabine comme avant, c’est parce que mon sac cabine pèse déjà plus de 10 kg à lui tout seul, car il contient mes deux caissons, le gros flash, les deux appareils photos, un objectif macro, un ordi, etc. etc. Plus du tout de place pour le détendeur. Mais avec la configuration de ce sac à roulettes, il est bien protégé, si on le place bien au milieu dans la combi.
    🙄

    @Manta: Merci Manta ! Ah… changer d’appareil sous l’eau, c’est un nouveau défi. Il faut tout réapprendre, changer ses habitudes, mais quelle satisfaction quand on voit le résultat. Le piqué est infiniment meilleur, la lumière différente, la profondeur de champ plus maîtrisable, etc. etc. C’est un investissement, mais quand on aime… En attendant, je te souhaite un très bon séjour et de superbes plongées à Bali !!!
    8)

  7. @Jean-Loïc: Tu as posté ton commentaire pile au moment où je répondais aux autres… Alors je rajoute ma réponse en-dessous. Merci de ce petit mot, ça fait vraiment plaisir. Mais si tu veux voir le top du top en photo sub et macro, je t’invite à visiter le site d’Hélène Caillaud :
    http://www.helenecaillaud.com/
    J’ai encore une grosse marge de progression, avant d’arriver à son niveau…
    Bizzzz
    🙂

  8. Pas l’habitude de correspondre via un blog mais je dois convenir que c’est super. Tu es meilleure photographe que je ne l’avais imaginé lors de ton récit à Fougères. Bravo surtout l’autoportrait la bouche ouverte. Je plaisante, te fâche pas. Bisou de la grisaille fougeraise.jl

  9. eh eh une lueur espoir m’apparaît… en fouinant sur le net je viens de voir qu’il y a des poissons fantômes arlequin en mer rouge! 🙂
    je vais partir à leur recherche!!
    Sur quel type de ‘support’ les croises tu habituellement, coraux, gorgones??

  10. @Laurence: Ah, tout de même… ça me semblait bizarre, qu’on n’en trouve pas en Mer Rouge. Ils sont souvent planqués dans des espèces de « fougères » sous-marines, des comatules je crois.

  11. @Laurence: Oui, ils aiment bien aussi les tentacules des crinoïdes (les comatules, donc), mais là je pensais à de la flore ou faune fixée… Bref, ils aiment bien tout qui a des « branches » dans lesquelles on peut se planquer… 🙄

  12. Très impressionnant « ta » première bestiole et donc une murène que j’aurais volontiers prise pour un serpent. Très réussies ces photos…
    Je sais que tu es plus plongée que plage mais peux-tu quand même m’indiquer s’il y en a de belles sur Pulau Weh, si l’eau est claire et s’il y a de petites excursions ou balades sympas à faire sur la terre ferme ? Ce que donne la météo en février-mars-avril ? Je pensais plutôt à cette destination pour « notre » été. Les transferts, prix… depuis Bandah Aceh ? Et ton vol long courrier ?
    Bref, si tu pouvais donner encore plus de détails voyage en dehors du « sous l’eau », enfin quand tu auras le temps, bien sûr, ce serait bien. Merci d’avance et profite bien, veinarde du « hors-saison ».

  13. Comme Hélène, je vote pour ton poisson-ballon, belle position, beau comportement !

    Je sais que ce n’est pas évident de passer à un nouvel appareil-photo « pour les grands », prends ton temps…

    🙂

  14. @Sarah: Merci pour les compliments… 🙂
    Pour répondre à tes questions, Pulau Weh n’a pas de « belles » plages au sens où la plupart des gens l’entendent, même si, moi, je les trouve magnifiques. Il y a beaucoup de corail mort en bord de plage, donc ce n’est pas toujours idéal pour la baignade. L’eau est claire selon la météo : quand il y a du vent et des vagues, la visibilité est très réduite en bord de plage, ça brasse pas mal. Mais il paraît que le snorkeling entre la plage d’Iboih et Rubiah Island est joli comme tout. Je crois que la météo est plus pluvieuse en janvier-férier-mars-avril, mais je n’ai pas obtenu de réponse bien claire là-dessus. Les saisons ne sont pas vraiment marquées, semble-t-il.
    Enfin, il faut savoir que l’endroit est musulman très « tradi », donc en-dehors des deux plages plus touristiques que sont Gapang et Iboih, il est impossible pour une femme de se mettre en maillot… Question balades, la route principale est bonne et permet des petits tours sympas en scooter. Il doit aussi y avoir moyen d’organiser des treks dans la jungle, et je sais qu’il y a une cascade à voir (mais je n’ai pas trouvé le temps d’y aller).
    Enfin, pour ce qui est des trajets, c’est très facile. Mon vol long courrier était avec Emirates : Paris-Dubai-Kuala Lumpur (A/R à environ 560€). Ensuite, vol Kuala Lumpur-Banda Aceh avec Air Asia (A/R à environ 60€ avec mon gros supplément bagages).
    Attention, il faut le visa indonésien à l’avance, pas encore de Visa on Arrival à Banda Aceh. Ensuite, transport pour la jetée avec détour par la ville pour changer de l’argent, j’ai filé 90 000 Rp (soit 7-8 €) à un gars qui proposait ses services, puis le ferry jusqu’à Pulau Weh propose trois catégories de prix : 45-55-85 000 Rp, si je me souviens bien, puis ensuite le transport jusqu’à l’une des plages coûte 50 000 Rp… Généralement, j’évite de truffer mes récits de voyage de ce genre de détails pas palpitants…
    Je ne peux que te conseiller de t’inscrire sur le forum Tashi Delek, où Yann Senant, qui a fait le voyage en famille, et d’autres, pourront eux aussi te livrer leurs impressions. Enfin, tu peux lire la page sur Pulau Weh de l’excellent site Carnets de traverse. Il y a plein d’infos pratiques et une carte de l’île avec ses centres d’intérêts à télécharger.
    Bons préparatifs !
    8)

    @Un Monde Ailleurs: Merci Marie-Ange ! Moi aussi, je crois que c’est ma préférée. Je commence à progresser, petit à petit… Je livrerai de nouvelles photos sub très bientôt!
    🙄

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

13 Partages
Partagez13
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez