Diving in the Mediterranean. July 2014.

Exotic Mediterranean

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the strange sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here PetitesBullesdAilleurs.fr

  France: French Riviera - July 2014

The coral of the tropical seas just has to stand. The funds of the Mediterranean, it throws too. The proof in flashy pink.

Memories of summer 2014

At the end of July 2014, I was in Hyères, in the Var. And I still can not believe what I saw under the water. When the coral revealed vibrant tropical hues - pink, mauve, red - under my flash, I hallucinated ... 😮

Diving in the Mediterranean. July 2014.

Well, I admit, at the beginning, I still wonder a little what I'm doing there, to palmer in cold water, over an extended monotone of Posidonia with my 7D... I start by trying to turn my little friends into graceful shadows on a blue background. Not very conclusive.

And then bright colors and life arose. There are large, placid groupers, who are legion in the area - we are on the site of La Pointe du Vaisseau. Sweet pink nudibranchs, impossible to photograph with fish-eye. Small shoals of bright-silver fish with yellow stripes whose name I do not know. And even barracudas on the run! But they are a bit too far for drinking photos ...

The more you go, the more I am having fun in this new Mediterranean environment, unheard of for me - the Breton diver who fears cold water and does not palm anymore in tropical seas ... 😜

Grouper. Diving in the Mediterranean. July 2014.

Grouper. Diving in the Mediterranean. July 2014.

Even posidonia, which I only knew through reports on TV, and that I discover for the first time with my own eyes, becomes a fascinating subject, undulating at the mercy of the swell. A show in itself, very difficult to photograph ...

I'm numb, but I persist at the end of diving, to throw a few last shots of flash. Gaby, from the center To the Diving Water, who accompanies me and Christèle, my partner of the day, even plays the models for my goal! Really nice, I appreciate. 👌

Posidonia. Diving in the Mediterranean. July 2014.

Posidonia. Diving in the Mediterranean. July 2014.

My enemy: the cold

Back on the boat, I am shaken by violent tremors, impossible to repress. My poor 5 mm worn and my frail carcass chilly are not adapted to the Mediterranean waters of about twenty degrees surface at this time and barely 15-16 ° C in depth. 😱

But Alain's boat which holds the center To the Diving Water, in La Londe-les-Maures, is equipped with HOT water hand showers! ! ! Luxury and supreme happiness. Those who never get cold (but really cold) underwater can not understand.

Most of my short stay in Hyères was devoted to a apnea training, I did not find the time to do a single small bottle exploration in the Mediterranean waters ... A first in my life as a diver, I had never soaked my fins!

Porquerolles, Port-Cros, the peninsula of Giens: yes, it can make you smile, but these famous sites in southern France are for me super-exotic spots ... I intend to return, a day soon. But not before I equipped myself seriously, with a combi worthy of the name for these waters too cold for my taste.

Off Hyères. July 2014.

  France: French Riviera - July 2014

  1. 20 °, for me diving in Brittany at 12-15 °, it's a dream! : p
    Great pictures, as always! the posidonia that stands out against the blue background is beautiful

  2. Hello,
    I come back to the first of your remarks: "When the coral revealed vibrant tropical hues - pink, mauve, red - under my flash, I hallucinated ..."
    I started my diving career in Tahiti, then the Red Sea, the Mediterranean and finally the Atlantic. When I was "discovered" the Mediterranean, I already had more than a hundred dives on the meter but especially all my equipment. You must know that I always dive with a lighthouse (see two). During this first dive, the DP told me: "The lighthouse, not worth it, today there is good visibility. I dipped and found it dull, colorless. Going up, everyone seemed happy with his dive but not me. I did not understand why. I put this on the account of my dives in the warm and clear sea.
    The next time, reflexively equipping me, I took my lighthouse and hung it in its place. Underwater, I did as usual: turn on my lighthouse during the descent. And there, once down, oh wonders, the colors were revealed. Beautiful.
    I continue to dive in the Mediterranean with the friends of the club and always with the light, a little less often because I quickly cold. In fact, I never understood divers who left without light. Such a waste !
    Have a good day

  3. We will sometimes look far away what is next to it ...
    Very beautiful photos, which gives a little color to this very dark day
    => I AM CHARLIE

  4. @Corinne: Well! like what ! Beyond your beautiful photos, you made me laugh with the coolness of the water! 😆
    I imagine the thing, you who are so used to the tropical waters! 😉

  5. For me, the best dive sites in France are on the island of Port Cros. Follow-up of those around Hyères and Marseille. That's wonderful. The best of the best is the Gabinière that I highly recommend. Groupers with shovels and benches of barracuda (sort of Barracudas), I even found the sea cicada found lobster.
    Even if we have a lot in common because I went to most of the dive sites that you describe in South East Asia (my diver course started in the Mediterranean in 2003), for me Gabinière is one of the best spots If you want some, I can spin you some tips of sites to see absolutely in France.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

90 Shares
Share75
Tweet9
Pine1
Share5

Plongée en Méditerranée. Juillet 2014.

Exotique Méditerranée

  France : Côte d'Azur - juillet 2014

Le corail des mers tropicales n’a qu’à bien se tenir. Les fonds de la Méditerranée, ça en jette aussi. La preuve en rose flashy.

Souvenirs de l’été 2014

Fin juillet 2014, j’étais à Hyères, dans le Var. Et je n’en reviens toujours pas de ce que j’ai vu sous l’eau. Quand le corail a révélé des teintes tropicales éclatantes – rose, mauve, rouge – sous mon flash, j’ai halluciné… 😮

Plongée en Méditerranée. Juillet 2014.

Bon, j’avoue, au début, je me demande quand même un peu ce que je fais là, à palmer dans de l’eau froide, au-dessus d’une monotone étendue de posidonie avec mon 7D… Je commence par essayer de transformer mes petits camarades en ombres gracieuses sur fond bleu. Pas très concluant.

Et puis les couleurs vives et la vie ont surgi. Il y a les gros mérous placides, qui sont légion dans le coin – nous sommes sur le site de La Pointe du Vaisseau. De chouettes nudibranches rose bonbon, impossible à photographier au fish-eye. Des petits bancs de poissons vif-argent à rayures jaunes dont j’ignore le nom. Et même des barracudas en goguette ! Mais ils sont un peu trop loin pour des photos potables…

Plus ça va, plus je m’amuse dans ce nouvel environnement méditerranéen, inédit pour moi – la plongeuse bretonne qui craint l’eau froide et ne palme plus qu’en mers tropicales… 😜

Mérou. Plongée en Méditerranée. Juillet 2014.

Mérou. Plongée en Méditerranée. Juillet 2014.

Même la posidonie, que je ne connaissais qu’à travers des reportages à la télé, et que je découvre donc pour la première fois de mes propres yeux, devient un sujet fascinant, ondoyant au gré de la houle. Un spectacle à part entière, bien difficile à photographier…

Je suis transie, mais je m’obstine, en fin de plongée, à jeter quelques derniers coups de flash. Gaby, du centre À l’Eau Plongée, qui nous accompagne moi et Christèle, ma binôme du jour, joue même les modèles pour mon objectif ! Vraiment sympa, j’apprécie. 👌

Posidonie. Plongée en Méditerranée. Juillet 2014.

Posidonie. Plongée en Méditerranée. Juillet 2014.

Mon ennemi : le froid

De retour sur le bateau, je suis secouée de violents tremblements, impossibles à réprimer. Ma pauvre 5 mm usée et ma frêle carcasse de frileuse ne sont pas adaptées aux eaux méditerranéennes d’une vingtaine de degrés en surface à cette époque et d’à peine 15-16°C en profondeur. 😱

Mais le bateau d’Alain qui tient le centre À l’Eau Plongée, à La Londe-les-Maures, est équipée de douchettes d’eau CHAUDE ! ! ! Luxe et bonheur suprêmes. Ceux qui n’ont jamais froid (mais vraiment froid) sous l’eau ne peuvent pas comprendre.

L’essentiel de mon court séjour à Hyères ayant été consacré à un stage d’apnée, je n’ai trouvé le temps de faire qu’une seule et unique petite sortie d’exploration avec bouteille dans les eaux méditerranéennes… Une première dans ma petite vie de plongeuse, je n’y avais encore jamais trempé mes palmes !

Porquerolles, Port-Cros, la presqu’île de Giens : oui, ça peut faire sourire, mais ces sites réputés du sud de la France sont pour moi des spots super-exotiques… Je compte bien y retourner, un jour prochain. Mais pas avant de m’être équipée sérieusement, avec une combi digne de ce nom pour ces eaux trop froides à mon goût.

Au large de Hyères. Juillet 2014.

  France : Côte d'Azur - juillet 2014

  1. 20°, pour moi qui plonge en Bretagne à 12-15°, ça fait rêver ! :p
    Superbes photos, comme toujours ! la posidonie qui se détache sur le fond bleu est magnifique

  2. Bonjour,
    Je reviens sur la première de tes remarques : « Quand le corail a révélé des teintes tropicales éclatantes – rose, mauve, rouge – sous mon flash, j’ai halluciné… »
    J’ai commencé ma carrière de plongeur à Tahiti, puis la Mer Rouge, la Méditerranée et enfin l’Atlantique. Quand on m’a fait « découvrir » la Méditerranée, j’avais déjà plus d’une centaine de plongées au compteur mais surtout tout mon équipement. Il faut savoir que je plonge toujours avec un phare (voir deux). Lors de cette première plongée, le DP m’a dit : « Le phare, pas la peine, aujourd’hui il y a une bonne visibilité. » J’ai plongé et j’ai trouvé cela terne, sans couleur. En remontant, tout le monde paraissait content de sa plongée mais pas moi. Je n’ai pas compris pourquoi. J’ai mis cela sur le compte des mes plongées en mer chaude et claire.
    La fois suivante, par réflexe en m’équipant, j’ai pris mon phare et l’ai accroché à sa place. Sous l’eau, j’ai fait comme d’habitude : allumer mon phare lors de la descente. Et là, une fois en bas, ô merveilles, les couleurs se sont révélées. De toute beauté.
    Je continue à plonger en Méditerranée avec les copains du club et toujours avec de la lumière, un peu moins souvent car j’ai vite froid. En fait, je n’ai jamais compris les plongeurs qui partaient sans lumière. Quel gâchis !
    Bonne journée

  3. On va parfois chercher bien loin ce qui est tout à coté…
    Très belles photos, qui donne un peu de couleur à cette journée bien noire
    => JE SUIS CHARLIE

  4. @Corinne : Eh bien ! comme quoi ! Au-delà de tes belles photos, tu m’as bien fait rire avec la fraîcheur de l’eau ! 😆
    J’imagine le truc, toi qui es tant habituée aux eaux tropicales ! 😉

  5. Pour moi, les meilleurs sites de plongée en France sont à l’ ile de Port Cros. Suivi de ceux autour de Hyères et de Marseille. C ‘est magnifique. Le top du top, c’est la Gabinière que je te conseille vivement. Mérous à la pelle et bancs de bécunes (sorte de Barracudas), j ‘ y ai même déniché de la cigale de mer trouvé du homard.
    Même si on a beaucoup de choses en commun car je suis allé dans la plupart des sites de plongée que tu décris en Asie du Sud est (mon parcours de plongeur à commencé en Méditerranée en 2003), pour moi la Gabinière fait partie des meilleurs spots de plongée au Monde 😉 Si tu veux quelques, je peux te filer quelques tuyaux de sites à voir absolument en France.

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

90 Partages
Partagez75
Tweetez9
Enregistrer1
Partagez5