The Malaysian flag. (Photo: Pxhere / CC0)
The Malaysian flag. (Photo: Pxhere / CC0)

Malay or Malaysian?

  Between Two Journeys

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

Should we say Malay or Malaysian? Both ! In fact, everything depends on the context, because the two terms do not have exactly the same meaning.

Malaysian Malay, Chinese, Indian

You can be Malaysian, that is, of Malaysian nationality, without being Malaysian.

Malaysians are nationals of Malaysia. So when we are talking about something about the country, we use the adjective Malaysian / Malaysian. For example: the Malaysian Prime Minister, a Malaysian company.

The Malaysians are the country's majority ethno-linguistic and historical community. Chinese and Indian communities are also important in Malaysia, and there are also indigenous communities in Borneo.

Being Malay therefore refers to "ethnic" membership. This is not insignificant, as Malaysia distinguishes between its citizens on the basis of their origins, according to fairly precise criteria. This discrimination is enshrined in the Constitution and is reflected in the civil register.

Article 160 of the Malaysian Constitution defines Malay as :

1 - a person who practices the religion of Islam, who speaks Malay, who conforms to Malay customs
AND
2 - who has origins within the Federation of Malaysia or Singapore before Independence on 31 August 1957, or who is the child of at least one parent born among the population then belonging to the Federation of Malaysia.

Definition of Malay (Article 160 of the Malaysian Constitution). Source: Wikimedia.
Definition of Malay (Article 160 of the Malaysian Constitution). Source: Wikimedia.

In other words: the Malaysians of Malaysia are Malaysians, but not all Malaysians are Malaysians?

Ethnic and religious discrimination

Origin and religion are culturally very intertwined in Malaysia. But the ethnic and religious discrimination thus institutionalized has consequences on the daily lives of its 31.5 million or so inhabitants.

A Malaysian freediver (whom I had met in Indonesia) explained to me that he was not Malaysian, but Chinese Malaysian, and therefore did not have the same rights as the Malaysians in certain areas such as education, housing, access to property, credit, etc. He also explained that he was not a Malaysian but a Chinese Malaysian.

Update. This article, originally published in 2006, is still very popular years later, as soon as Malaysia comes back in the news... So I've edited it by adding recent links below, for those who want to know more about this thorny subject.

I refer you in particular to this article in SlateA new book, published at the beginning of 2020, which takes stock of these institutionalized inequalities dating back to British colonization in Malaysia:
→ In Malaysia, the Constitution institutionalizes racial discrimination

See also the enlightening maps and infographics, published in 2016 in this article fromAsyalist  :
→ Malaysia: precarious balance

Conclusion: This complex situation is at the root of our hesitation to use the terms "Malay" or "Malaysian". We can certainly say both, but that does not mean quite the same thing ...

🤔

The Malaysian flag. (Photo: Pxhere / CC0)
The Malaysian flag. (Photo: Pxhere / CC0)

  Between Two Journeys

  Malaysia: Peninsula and Borneo - July 2006

51 Shares
Share44
Tweet7
Pine
Share

Le drapeau malaisien. (Photo : Pxhere / CC0)
Le drapeau malaisien. (Photo : Pxhere / CC0)

Malais ou Malaisien ?

  Entre deux voyages

Faut-il dire Malais ou Malaisien ? Les deux ! En fait, tout dépend du contexte, car les deux termes n’ont pas exactement le même sens.

Des Malaisiens malais, chinois, indiens

On peut être Malaisien, c’est-à-dire de nationalité malaisienne, sans être Malais.

Les Malaisiens sont les ressortissants de la Malaisie. Quand on parle de quelque chose relatif au pays, on utilise donc l’adjectif malaisien / malaisienne. Par exemple  : le Premier ministre malaisien, une compagnie malaisienne.

Les Malais sont la communauté ethno-linguistique majoritaire et historique du pays. Les communautés chinoises et indiennes sont également importantes en Malaisie, et il y a aussi les communautés indigènes de Bornéo.

Être Malais renvoie donc à l’appartenance « ethnique ». Ce n’est pas anodin, car la Malaisie établit une distinction entre ses citoyens en fonction de leurs origines, selon des critères assez précis. Cette discrimination est inscrite dans la Constitution et figure sur l’état-civil.

Dans son article 160, la Constitution malaisienne définit le Malais comme :

1 – une personne qui pratique la religion de l’islam, qui parle le malais, qui se conforme aux coutumes malaises
ET
2 – qui a des origines au sein de la Fédération de Malaisie ou Singapour avant l’Indépendance du 31 août 1957, ou bien qui est l’enfant d’au moins un parent né au sein de la population appartenant à l’époque à la Fédération de Malaisie.

Définition du Malais (article 160 de la constitution malaisienne). Source : Wikimedia.
Définition du Malais (article 160 de la constitution malaisienne). Source : Wikimedia.

Autrement dit : les Malais de Malaisie sont Malaisiens, mais tous les Malaisiens ne sont pas forcément des Malais…

Discrimination ethnique et religieuse

Origine et religion sont culturellement très imbriquées en Malaisie. Mais la discrimination ethnique et religieuse ainsi institutionnalisée a des conséquences sur la vie quotidienne de ses quelques 31,5 millions d’habitants.

Un apnéiste malaisien (que j’avais rencontré en Indonésie) m’avait ainsi expliqué que n’étant pas Malaisien malais, mais Malaisien chinois, il ne bénéficiait pas des mêmes droits que les Malais dans certains domaines comme l’éducation, le logement, l’accès à la propriété, à des crédits, etc.

Mise à jour. Cet article publié initialement en 2006 est toujours très consulté, des années après, dès que la Malaisie revient dans l’actualité… Je l’ai donc édité en rajoutant des liens récents ci-dessous, pour ceux qui veulent en savoir plus sur cet épineux sujet.

Je vous renvoie notamment sur cet article de Slate, publié début 2020, qui fait un état des lieux de ces inégalités institutionnalisées remontant à la colonisation britannique en Malaisie  :
→ En Malaisie, la Constitution institutionnalise les discriminations raciales

À voir aussi, les cartes et infographies éclairantes, publiées en 2016 dans cet article d’Asyalist  :
→ Malaisie  : équilibre précaire

Conclusion  : cette situation complexe est à l’origine de cette hésitation de langage que nous avons à employer les termes « Malais » ou « Malaisien ». On peut certes dire les deux, mais cela ne signifie pas tout à fait la même chose…

🤔

Le drapeau malaisien. (Photo : Pxhere / CC0)
Le drapeau malaisien. (Photo : Pxhere / CC0)

  Entre deux voyages

  Malaisie : péninsule et Bornéo - juillet 2006

51 Partages
Partagez44
Tweetez7
Enregistrer
Partagez