The sociologist Rodolphe Christin has published "Manuel de l'antitourisme" published by Yago.
Rodolphe Christin is a sociologist and anthropologist by training. He published "Manual of Antitourism" published by Yago.

Has tourism killed the spirit of travel?

  Between Two Journeys

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 


I met sociologist Rodolphe Christin a few days ago for an interview. He is the author of Antitourism Handbook, published by Yago. A little book "hair scratch", in which he invites us to give meaning to our travels.

Tourist or traveller?

The sociologist Rodolphe Christin has published "Manuel de l'antitourisme" published by Yago.
Rodolphe Christin is a sociologist and anthropologist by training. He published "Manual of Antitourism" published by Yago.

In his Antitourism HandbookRodolphe Christin goes back to the subject of the traveller versus the tourist. He strongly denounces the socio-ecological damage caused by the tourist industry. But above all, his book gives us food for thought on what the fact of wanting to "go on holiday" says about us, about our society.

Of course, there are many different ways to travel. But whether it's an all-inclusive "package", "dry flight", "adventure" tour or "fair" stay, let's keep in mind that we Westerners, who travel for our pleasure, are necessarily tourists. "There are sometimes of travel in our tourism and always of tourism in our travels"recalls Rodolphe Christin. True enough!

In the late morning, tourists invade Maya Beach on the island of Koh Phi Phi Leh in Thailand. This is where the film "The Beach" was shot with Bernardo Di Caprio and Virginie Ledoyen.
In the late morning, tourists invade Maya Beach on the island of Koh Phi Phi Leh in Thailand. This is where the film "The Beach" was shot with Bernardo Di Caprio and Virginie Ledoyen.

I did not mention it in my article, but I like one of the reflections he makes in his book, saying that the real adventure today is not so much on the side of some "explorers "Highly publicized that make viewers dream, but rather among travelers of migration.

For those who take insane risks to leave, hoping for a better life elsewhere ... That's fair enough.

The interview: "Our leisure society has turned travel into a consumer product."

I give you below, the text of the interview published in Ouest-France, Saturday, October 25, 2008. Because of lineage limited, this is of course only a summary version of our interview ...

Interview with Rodolphe Christin, Antitourism Handbook, Ouest-France, October 25, 2008Why do you say that tourism is "anti-travel"?
- To travel is to obey a nomadic impulse, a little libertarian, that drives us to adventure, discovery, knowledge. But our leisure society has made travel a consumer product. We are sold on a catalog of sun or snow, entertainment or exoticism. Destination often matters less than price, comfort, service, decor. The tourist service has replaced the spirit of the trip.

So the exoticism promised by tour operators is just an illusion?
- The tourist industry tends to erase exoticism, as a culture and aesthetic shock, even existential. Transportation is organized, sites are developed, standardized hotels. Even for independent travelers, it is difficult to get off the marked trails.

You denounce virulently the misdeeds of the tourist industry ...
- Today it is the world's leading economic activity. The paradox of tourism is that it kills what it lives on. Everywhere on the planet, the environment is being massacred to make places "welcoming". Concrete coastlines, car parks, excessive water consumption... Tourists represent a tiny minority of the world's population, but they have a major impact on the places they visit. Tourism exploits, pollutes and destroys.

You make it sound like you'd rather not go on holiday anymore!
- No, but maybe we should travel differently. Give priority to the destination. Leave less often, longer, less far away. Some blame themselves by turning to "fair" or "sustainable" tourism. I do not doubt their sincerity. But it remains a tourist product.

How to get back the spirit of the journey?
- leaving room for the unexpected, the lived, the meeting. By also trying to be a little more lucid about our way of life. We leave to escape a daily not always very exciting. It may be this daily that should be reinvented. The escape sometimes lies in a simple walk near home. Travel is a reverie, a philosophy, a curiosity. He begins on the doorstep.

Praise of slowness

The sociologist concludes his book with an eulogy of slowness: he suggests that we leave as few traces as possible around us on our travels. And also to "make the effort to take a step aside.".

It is an invitation to slip into the meshes of everyday life, " those gaps here and there that the official circuits superbly, if not accidentally, ignore ". Little excerpt:

It is also this exoticism, this part of not seen, not lived, that the journey, because it changes the perspectives and causes new experiences, allows to discover and to experiment despite the discomfort - mental more that physical -, uncertainty, sometimes fear. Discover, meet, for better and for worse.
To be there, really there, leads the consciousness outside, out of our horizons and the ordinary contours of our subjectivity, thanks to a full receptivity, exacerbated by the change of context, where we collect the world like water from the source in the hollow of his hands.
Once outside of oneself, the harmless one surrounds himself with a particular aura, he displays his presence inside the consciousness. This is how the journey allows access to the universal in itself, via a detour that opens "the doors of perception".

And you, what is your definition of exoticism? Do you feel like you have the spirit of travel?

ADDED January 19, 2009. On the same theme, I invite you to discover my fresh experience of "all inclusive" tourism in the Dominican Republic in this post →. The torments and joys of "todo incluido"....

  Between Two Journeys

24 Shares
Share
Tweet
Share24

Le sociologue Rodolphe Christin a publié “Manuel de l'antitourisme” aux éditions Yago.
Rodolphe Christin est sociologue et anthropologue de formation. Il a publié “Manuel de l'antitourisme” aux éditions Yago.

Le tourisme a-t-il tué l’esprit du voyage ?

  Entre deux voyages

J’ai rencontré il y a quelques jours le sociologue Rodolphe Christin, pour une interview. Il est l’auteur de Manuel de l’antitourisme, aux éditions Yago. Un petit livre “poil à gratter”, dans lequel il nous invite à redonner du sens à nos voyages.

Touriste ou voyageur ?

Le sociologue Rodolphe Christin a publié “Manuel de l'antitourisme” aux éditions Yago.
Rodolphe Christin est sociologue et anthropologue de formation. Il a publié “Manuel de l’antitourisme” aux éditions Yago.

Dans son Manuel de l’antitourisme, Rodolphe Christin revient sur ce qui oppose le voyageur au touriste. Il dénonce avec virulence les dégâts socio-écologiques engendrés par l’industrie touristique. Mais surtout, son bouquin donne à réfléchir sur ce que le fait de vouloir « partir en vacances » dit de nous, de notre société.

Bien sûr, il y a quantité de façons différentes de voyager. Mais qu’il s’agisse de “package” tout inclus, de vol sec, de circuit “aventure” ou séjour “équitable”, gardons à l’esprit que nous autres Occidentaux, qui voyageons pour notre plaisir, sommes forcément des touristes. « Il y a parfois du voyage dans nos tourismes et toujours du tourisme dans nos voyages », rappelle Rodolphe Christin. Pas faux !

En fin de matinée, les touristes envahissent Maya Beach, sur l'île de Koh Phi Phi Leh, en Thaïlande. C'est là qu'a été tourné le film “La plage” (The Beach) avec Bernardo Di Caprio et Virginie Ledoyen.
En fin de matinée, les touristes envahissent Maya Beach, sur l’île de Koh Phi Phi Leh, en Thaïlande. C’est là qu’a été tourné le film “La plage” (The Beach) avec Bernardo Di Caprio et Virginie Ledoyen.

Je ne l’ai pas évoquée dans mon article, mais j’aime bien l’une des réflexions qu’il fait dans son livre, disant que la véritable aventure, aujourd’hui, n’est pas tellement du côté de certains “explorateurs” très médiatisés qui font rêver les téléspectateurs, mais plutôt chez les voyageurs de la migration.

Chez ceux qui prennent des risques insensés pour partir, dans l’espoir d’une vie meilleure ailleurs… C’est assez juste.

L’interview : « Notre société de loisirs a fait du voyage un produit de consommation »

Je vous livre ci-dessous, le texte de l’interview parue dans Ouest-France, ce samedi 25 octobre 2008. Pour cause de lignage limité, ce n’est bien sûr qu’une version résumée de notre entretien…

Interview de Rodolphe Christin, Manuel de l'antitourisme, Ouest-France, 25 octobre 2008Pourquoi dites-vous que le tourisme est un « antivoyage » ?
– Voyager, c’est obéir à une pulsion nomade, un peu libertaire, qui nous pousse à l’aventure, à la découverte, à la connaissance. Mais notre société de loisirs a fait du voyage un produit de consommation. On nous vend sur catalogue du soleil ou de la neige, du divertissement ou de l’exotisme. La destination importe souvent moins que le prix, le confort, le service, le décor. La prestation touristique a remplacé l’esprit du voyage.

L’exotisme promis par les tour-opérateurs n’est donc qu’une illusion ?
– L’industrie touristique tend à gommer l’exotisme, en tant que choc culturel et esthétique, voire existentiel. Les transports sont organisés, les sites aménagés, les hôtels standardisés. Même pour les voyageurs indépendants, il est difficile de sortir des chemins balisés.

Vous dénoncez avec virulence les méfaits de l’industrie touristique…
– C’est aujourd’hui la première activité économique mondiale. Le paradoxe du tourisme, c’est qu’il tue ce dont il vit. Partout sur la planète, on massacre l’environnement pour rendre les lieux « accueillants ». Côtes bétonnées, parkings, consommation d’eau à outrance… Les touristes représentent une infime minorité de la population mondiale, mais ils ont un impact majeur sur les lieux qu’ils visitent. Le tourisme exploite, pollue, détruit.

À vous entendre, il vaudrait mieux ne plus partir en vacances !
– Non, mais peut-être faudrait-il voyager différemment. Privilégier le cheminement à la destination. Partir moins souvent, plus longtemps, moins loin. Certains se déculpabilisent en se tournant vers le tourisme “équitable” ou “durable”. Je ne doute pas de leur sincérité. Mais cela reste un produit touristique.

Comment retrouver l’esprit du voyage ?
– En laissant place à l’imprévu, au vécu, à la rencontre. En tentant aussi d’être un peu plus lucides sur notre mode de vie. On part pour échapper à un quotidien pas toujours très exaltant. C’est peut-être ce quotidien qu’il faudrait réinventer. L’évasion réside parfois dans une simple balade près de chez soi. Le voyage, c’est une rêverie, une philosophie, une curiosité. Il commence sur le pas de la porte.

Éloge de la lenteur

Le sociologue conclut son livre sur un éloge de la lenteur : il nous suggère de laisser le moins de traces possibles autour de nous en voyage. Et aussi de « faire l’effort d’un pas de côté ».

C’est une invitation à se glisser dans les mailles du quotidien, « ces interstices d’ici et d’ailleurs que les circuits officiels ignorent superbement, sinon par accident ». Petit extrait :

C’est aussi cela l’exotisme, cette part de non vu, de non vécu, que le voyage, parce qu’il change les perspectives et provoque des expériences inédites, permet de découvrir et d’expérimenter malgré l’inconfort — mental plus que physique —, l’incertitude, la peur parfois. Découvrir, rencontrer, pour le meilleur et pour le pire.
Être là, vraiment là, conduit la conscience au dehors, hors de nos horizons et des contours ordinaires de notre subjectivité, grâce à une réceptivité pleine et entière, exacerbée par le changement de contexte, où l’on recueille le monde comme l’eau de la source dans le creux de ses mains.
Une fois hors de soi, l’anodin s’entoure d’une aura particulière, il affiche sa présence à l’intérieur de la conscience. C’est ainsi que le voyage permet d’accéder à l’universel en soi, via un détour qui ouvre « les portes de la perception ».

Et vous, quelle est votre définition de l’exotisme ? Avez-vous l’impression d’avoir l’esprit du voyage ?

AJOUT du 19 janvier 2009. Sur le même thème, je vous invite à découvrir mon expérience toute fraîche du tourisme en « tout inclus » en République dominicaine dans ce billet → Les affres et les joies du « todo incluido ».

  Entre deux voyages

24 Partages
Partagez24
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez