In this Balinese cemetery, the sun is beating ... even for the dead! (Nusa Lembongan, Bali, 2008.)

Seen in Bali

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

Still some pictures brought back from my last stay in Bali. Unusual images, this time, to attack the week with a smile.

The most surprising is surely the one of these tombs, topped with umbrella umbrellas... In this Nusa Lembongan cemetery, the dead are protected from the sun!

-

Religion is ubiquitous in Bali. Even during a short stay, it is not uncommon to attend a ceremony. They are numerous, throughout the year.

We come across quite often, when we move on the island. Which creates corks every time, the time to let the procession, as here, on the road between Amlapura and Sanur.

-

It must have been a particularly important ceremony. People continued to march past, dressed in traditional sarong and white turbans.

As for the road, by dint of traveling in Asia, I got used to the "exotic" aspects of the traffic. Whether it is driving with horns, or overloaded motorcycles, I do not pay much attention.

However, one opens wide eyes, the first time, when one sees a whole family crammed on the seat and or a motorbike almost disappearing under an imposing load: huge bales of straw, furniture, baskets, poultry and sometimes even live pigs... Below, a street vendor in Lovina, with his junk of plastic objects full of colors.

-

A closet on the beach? That's normal. We are in Sanur, just before the departure of the boat which makes the connection between Bali and the island of Nusa Lembongan. It's lugging everything that people need. Provisions and water, but also furniture and refrigerators, motorcycles, animals...

-

The cupboard is waiting on the sand for two guys to load it on their shoulders. They then hoist her to the roof of the boat, wading in the shallow water. I watch the operation, watching for the moment when it will slip and fall into the water. But they assure. The huge cabinet is finally stowed, without incident.

In the series "nos amies les bêtes" admire the audacity of this chick. On the beach of Pemuteran, the pigs of the village are snoozing in the sand and even let themselves be pecked by the snout!

-

Finally, a small series "special divers". Observe this carrier which is cut out in Chinese shadow, on the pebble beach of Tulamben.

-Two blocks balanced on the head and several belts with their weights around the waist and on the shoulders. Impressive, isn't it? The foreign divers who have just arrived in Asia, who have never seen anything like this, are surprised, sympathetic, a little embarrassed. Especially the gentlemen.

Some even want to wear in their place. What these women (because they are mostly women who wear) do not appreciate ... The job of carrier is painful, but it is their livelihood. On this ultra-tourist site, divers flock by the hundreds every day to discover the wreck of Liberty.

Finally, a sign displayed in the center Eco-DiveGentlemen, think twice before making eyes at a female diver!

-

"My boyfriend says if I go diving again, I'm gonna miss him for sure. »

😆

  Indonesia: Bali - July 2008

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. rhololo, as this last sign makes me smile! I have one of those desires to go back to diving ... it's itchy!

  2. While reading your post, some remarks return to me on Bali:
    - The statues are dressed like humans, so why not parasols ...
    - Balinese and Balinese women are always "dressed up" and "clean as new" while they do not have washing machines and ironers ...
    - If the Balinese lead like patients without looking at anything, it is because in the morning they made their offerings and therefore "nothing can happen to them". The problem is that we, when we arrive, we do not know ...
    - The carriers of Tulamben carry 2 blocks of 12l full without eyebrow, but they are aluminum blocks ...
    - A Balinese gives 50% of his salary (and his time) to the temple, it is their taxes ...
    - The wreck of liberty disappointed me a lot. She is broken with lots of people in it. I preferred the drop-off ...
    - If we see few turtles in Bali, it's because the Balinese eat them ...
    I love Bali, I'll have to go back 8)

  3. @ Alimata:
    Fun, your little review of "unusual" details in the Balinese. But I maintain: two blocks of 12l at once, even in aluminum, I find it fortiche. Already with one I have trouble ... As for the wreck of the Liberty, unlike you, I find it beautiful and interesting. Obviously, it's better when we go down before the arrival of the crowd.
    🙄

    @ Marie-Julie:
    Yes, the photo of the cemetery with its parasols is my favorite too. Bali is really a place apart, with all these beliefs blending Hindu and animist traditions. I like it a lot, and it ends up rubbing off when you travel: you gradually have the impression that spirits are everywhere. 100 years, you say ??? I was far from imagining that you were a very very old lady ...
    😆

Share
Tweet
Share

Dans ce cimetière balinais, le soleil cogne... même pour les défunts! (Nusa Lembongan, Bali, 2008.)

Vu à Bali

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

Encore quelques images ramenées de mon dernier séjour à Bali. Des images insolites, ce coup-ci, histoire d’attaquer la semaine avec le sourire.

La plus surprenante est sûrement celle de ces tombes, surmontées d’ombrelles-parapluies… Dans ce cimetière de Nusa Lembongan, on protège les morts du soleil !

La religion est omniprésente à Bali. Même lors d’un court séjour, il n’est pas rare d’assister à une cérémonie. Elles sont nombreuses, tout au long de l’année.

On en croise assez souvent, quand on se déplace dans l’île. Ce qui crée chaque fois des bouchons, le temps de laisser passer la procession, comme ici, sur la route entre Amlapura et Sanur.

Ce devait être une cérémonie particulièrement importante. Les gens n’en finissaient pas de défiler, vêtus du traditionnel sarong et coiffés de turbans blancs.

Pour ce qui concerne la route, à force de voyager en Asie, je me suis habituée aux aspects “exotiques” du trafic. Qu’il s’agisse de la conduite menée à coups de klaxons, ou des motos surchargées, je n’y prête plus guère attention.

Pourtant, on ouvre de grands yeux, la première fois, quand on voit passer une famille entière entassée sur le siège et ou une moto disparaissant presque sous un chargement imposant : immenses bottes de paille, meubles, paniers, volaille et parfois même des cochons vivants… Ci-dessous, un marchand ambulant à Lovina, avec sa camelote d’objets en plastique pleine de couleurs.

Une armoire sur la plage ? C’est normal. Nous sommes à Sanur, juste avant le départ du bateau qui fait la liaison entre Bali et l’île de Nusa Lembongan. Il trimballe tout ce dont les gens ont besoin. Les provisions et l’eau, mais aussi des meubles et des frigos, des motos, des animaux…

L’armoire attend sur le sable que deux gars viennent la charger sur leurs épaules. Ils la hissent ensuite sur le toit du bateau, en pataugeant dans l’eau peu profonde. Je surveille l’opération, guettant le moment où elle va glisser et tomber à l’eau. Mais ils assurent. L’énorme armoire est finalement arrimée, sans incident.

Dans la série “nos amies les bêtes” admirez l’audace de ce poussin. Sur la plage de Pemuteran, les cochons du village roupillent dans le sable et se laissent même picorer le groin !

Enfin, une petite série “spécial plongeurs”. Observez cette porteuse qui se découpe en ombre chinoise, sur la plage de galets de Tulamben.

Deux blocs en équilibre sur la tête et plusieurs ceintures avec leurs plombs autour de la taille et sur les épaules. Impressionnant, non ? Les plongeurs étrangers fraîchement débarqués en Asie, qui n’ont jamais vu ça, s’étonnent, compatissent, un peu embarrassés. Surtout les messieurs.

Certains veulent même porter à leur place. Ce que ces femmes (car ce sont surtout des femmes qui portent) n’apprécient guère… Le métier de porteuse est pénible, mais c’est leur gagne-pain. Sur ce site ultra-touristique, les plongeurs affluent par centaines chaque jour pour découvrir l’épave du Liberty.

Pour finir, une pancarte affichée dans le centre Eco-Dive, à Jemeluk (Amed)… Messieurs, réfléchissez-y à deux fois avant de faire les yeux doux à une plongeuse !

« Mon petit ami dit que si je retourne plonger encore une fois, il me quitte… Il va me manquer, c’est sûr. »

:lol :

  Indonésie : Bali - juillet 2008

  1. En lisant ton post, quelques remarques me reviennent sur Bali :
    – Les statues sont habillées comme les humains, alors pourquoi pas des ombrelles…
    – Les Balinais et les Balinaises sont toujours « tirés à 4 épingles » et « propres comme un sou neuf » alors qu’ils n’ont pas de machines à laver et de repasseuses…
    – Si les Balinais conduisent comme des malades sans rien regarder, c’est que le matin ils ont fait leurs offrandes et donc « rien ne peut leur arriver ». Le problème c’est que nous, quand on arrive, on n’est pas au courant…
    – Les porteuses de Tulamben portent 2 blocs de 12l plein sans sourcilier, mais ce sont des blocs alu…
    – Un Balinais donne 50% de son salaire (et de son temps) au temple, c’est leurs impôts…
    – L’épave du liberty m’a beaucoup déçu. Elle est toute cassée avec plein de monde dedans. J’ai préféré le drop-off…
    – Si on voit peu de tortues à Bali, c’est que les Balinais les mangent…
    J’adore Bali, il va falloir que j’y retourne 8)

  2. @ Alimata :
    Amusante, ta petite recension de détails « insolites » à la balinaise. Mais je maintiens: deux blocs de 12l d’un coup, même en alu, je trouve ça fortiche. Déjà qu’avec un seul j’ai du mal… Quant à l’épave du Liberty, contrairement à toi, je la trouve belle et intéressante. Évidemment, c’est mieux quand on descend dessus avant l’arrivée de la foule.
    🙄

    @ Marie-Julie :
    Oui, la photo du cimetière avec ses ombrelles est ma préférée aussi. Bali est vraiment un endroit à part, avec toutes ces croyances mêlant traditions hindous et animistes. J’aime beaucoup, et ça finit par déteindre quand on voyage: on a peu à peu vraiment l’impression que les esprits sont partout. 100 ans, tu dis??? J’étais loin d’imaginer que tu étais une très très vieille dame…
    😆

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez