(Photo: © VindeTahiti.com)
(Photo: © VindeTahiti.com)

Do you know coral wine?

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here:

  Polynesia: Maupiti + Rangiroa + Moorea - October 2012

Before disembarking at Rangiroa to dive, in october 2012I did not know that wine was produced there! It seems incredible, but yes, we cultivate the vine in full Pacific, in the Polynesian archipelago of Tuamotu.

Vines between ocean and lagoon

(Photo: © VindeTahiti.com)
(Photo: © VindeTahiti.com)

It happens on a motu (coral island) of the immense atoll Rangiroa. Between the lagoon and the ocean, stretch the rows of vines of the "Vin de Tahiti - Domaine Dominique Auroy".

The white coral I tasted during my Polynesian stay in 2012.
The white coral I tasted during my Polynesian stay in 2012.

The coral soil is enriched by natural compost (crushed algae and shoots). Papaya and tiare protect the vineyard from the spray.

At the rate of two harvests a year, these vines give three whites (closed reef, white coral and white fluffy) and a rosé (pink nacarat).

During my trip in 2012, I unfortunately did not have time to visit the vineyard, but I tasted the coral white (southern harvest 2011), at the cocktail hour, facing the lagoon. Moorea.

It is a soft wine with a beautiful golden color, I remember the fruity and mineral notes. "A blend of Italia and Muscat grapes from Hamburg", specifies the website of the domain (www.vindetahiti.com).

I am absolutely not a specialist, but I found it very good! I imagine that I enjoyed it all the more because I was under the coconut trees, in an enchanting setting. I obviously recommend tasting (with moderation) in these ideal conditions ... 😉

A crazy bet

I did some research on this amazing vineyard project. It was imagined in the 1990s by businessman Dominique Auroy. "I think I made wine provocatively, at first," he writes in his book Tahitian wine. Passion then caught up with him, he says.

Initially, he is considering settlements in several Pacific islands. But it will take a lot of obstinacy, acclimatization tests, selection of grape varieties and irrigation work before the first harvest in the early 2000s. The area of 6 hectares is today able to produce up to 35,000 bottles a year (to learn more, I invite you to read the article on the harvest of October 2015, in The Dispatch of Tahiti).

Why did you choose Rangiroa? Because, in particular, "Its limestone soil and coral, which gives a taste of gunflint close to some Sancerre", explains Sébastien Thépenier, wine oenologist for a dozen years, quoted by The Express in July 2014. An almost ideal terroir, compared to other archipelagos: "Less dry than the Marquesas, less humid than Tahiti, and not as isolated as the Austral archipelago. "

(Source of the vineyard images: www.vindetahiti.com)

  Polynesia: Maupiti + Rangiroa + Moorea - October 2012

142 Shares
Share124
Tweet
Pine5
Share13

(Photo : © VindeTahiti.com)
(Photo : © VindeTahiti.com)

Connaissez-vous le vin de corail ?

  Polynésie : Maupiti + Rangiroa + Moorea - octobre 2012

Avant de débarquer à Rangiroa pour plonger, en octobre 2012, j’ignorais complètement qu’on y produisait… du vin ! Cela paraît incroyable, mais oui, on cultive la vigne en plein Pacifique, dans l’archipel polynésien des Tuamotu.

Des vignes entre océan et lagon

(Photo : © VindeTahiti.com)
(Photo : © VindeTahiti.com)

Ça se passe sur un motu (îlot corallien) de l’immense atoll de Rangiroa. Entre le lagon et l’océan, s’étirent les rangées de ceps du « Vin de Tahiti – domaine Dominique Auroy ».

Le blanc de corail que j'ai goûté lors de mon séjour polynésien de 2012.
Le blanc de corail que j’ai goûté lors de mon séjour polynésien de 2012.

Le sol corallien est enrichi par un compost naturel (algues et sarments broyés). Des papayers et des tiarés protègent le vignoble des embruns.

Au rythme de deux vendanges par an, ces vignes donnent trois blancs (clos du récif, blanc de corail et blanc moelleux) et un rosé (rosé nacarat).

Lors de mon voyage de 2012, je n’ai malheureusement pas eu le temps de visiter le vignoble, mais j’ai goûté le blanc de corail (vendange australe 2011), à l’heure de l’apéro, face au lagon de Moorea.

C’est un vin moelleux à la belle couleur dorée, je me rappelle les notes fruitées et minérales. « Un assemblage de cépages Italia et muscat de Hambourg », précise le site internet du domaine (www.vindetahiti.com).

Je ne suis absolument pas une spécialiste, mais  je l’ai trouvé très bon ! J’imagine que je l’ai d’autant mieux apprécié que je me trouvais sous les cocotiers, dans un cadre enchanteur. Je recommande évidemment la dégustation (avec modération) dans ces conditions idéales… 😉

Un pari un peu fou

J’ai fait des recherches sur cet étonnant projet de vignoble. Il a été imaginé dans les années 1990 par l’homme d’affaires Dominique Auroy. « Je crois que j’ai fait du vin par provocation, au début », écrit-il dans son livre Le Vin de Tahiti. La passion l’a ensuite rattrapé, dit-il.

Au départ, il envisage des implantations dans plusieurs îles du Pacifique. Mais il faudra beaucoup d’obstination, d’essais d’acclimatation, de sélection de cépages et de travail d’irrigation avant les premières vendanges, au début des années 2000. Le domaine de 6 hectares est aujourd’hui capable de produire jusqu’à 35 000 bouteilles par an (pour en savoir plus, je vous invite à lire l’article sur les vendanges d’octobre 2015, dans La Dépêche de Tahiti).

Pourquoi avoir choisi Rangiroa ? À cause, notamment, « de son terroir calcaire et de corail, qui donne un goût de pierre à fusil proche de certains sancerres », explique Sébastien Thépenier, œnologue du domaine depuis une douzaine d’années, cité par L’Express en juillet 2014. Un terroir presque idéal, comparé aux autres archipels : « Moins sec qu’aux Marquises, moins humide que Tahiti, et pas aussi isolé que l’archipel des Australes. »

(Source des images du vignoble : www.vindetahiti.com)

  Polynésie : Maupiti + Rangiroa + Moorea - octobre 2012

142 Partages
Partagez124
Tweetez
Enregistrer5
Partagez13