A deserted beach, without banana boat or parasol. The only stranded waste is natural waste, coconut, seaweed, driftwood ... (Philippines, Sandugan Beach, Siquijor, February 2008)
A deserted beach, without banana boat or parasol. The only stranded waste is natural waste, coconut, seaweed, driftwood ... (Philippines, Sandugan Beach, Siquijor, February 2008)

Siquijor, the peaceful island

#Philippines

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 


I did a good job of leaving for Siquijor without waiting. On arrival, I find a beach almost deserted, the beautiful Sandugan Beach.

From Alona to Siquijor in banca

Jeril embarks me so the morning since Alona, as agreed, on his banca. (Read the previous post → Why am I going to flee Alona Beach).

Rate for this crossing the peninsula of Panglao to the island of Siquijor : 1 200 pesos (18 €). Besides my little person, there is Sarah, a young German girl, and Sunny, her Filipino boyfriend, as well as the captain of the boat and another guy who is there to help with the manoeuvres.

The weather is nice. Blue sky and calm sea, the crossing presents itself well. I think I would have hesitated to do it if there had been waves.

Because a ride in bancaIt's very nice, but especially if the sea is flat. Once, at Sogod Bay (Leyte)During a dive, the weather turned and we were shaken a lot. The banca was fortunately quite comfortable, big and well equipped for divers, but this kind of boat is still limited as soon as there is swell.

On our way to Siquijor (pronounced "Siki-hor") a stopover snorkeling (or PMT in good French, that is to say palm-mask-snorkel) is planned on the island of Balicasag, in front of Panglao. An island rather, with a cute white sand beach, located about three-quarters of an hour / an hour from Alona.

Balicasag Island has beautiful coral reefs. It is a famous dive spot, but I will only do a little snorkeling during the Panglao-Siquijor crossing. (Philippines, Balicasag, February 2008)
Balicasag Island has beautiful coral reefs. It's a famous dive spot, but I'll only do a little bit of snorkeling (swimming in fins-mask-snorkel) during the crossing Panglao-Siquijor. (Philippines, Balicasag, February 2008)

At the edge of the coral reef, there is an impressive concentration of bancas: diving boats, boats transporting tourists snorkelers (swimmers with palms-mask-snorkel) like us, small boats of fishermen reconverted in floating shops of rent of fins, masks and snorkels ...

I am amused by the guys who row frantically towards a big boat that has just arrived, loaded with Koreans (presumably), recognizable by the fact that they all wear a bright orange lifejacket. In Thailand, those tourists who can not swim are similarly identifiable ...

I am the first to get into the water with fins, mask and snorkel (which takes the water), lent by Jeril, which prevents me from having to undo my diving package. Between the beach and the limit of the drop, the corals are pretty badly damaged. Underwater life is concentrated below our bancawhere the superb wall of coral descends to the blue depths.

We stay a few moments to dabble, then we head for good on Siquijor.

In front of the island of Balicasag, the captain of our banca is clever with a small dried fish. Behind, arrived in their small boats, renters of palms for the tourists. (Philippines, Balicasag, February 2008)
In front of the island of Balicasag, the captain of our banca is clever with a small dried fish. Behind, arrived in their small boats, renters of palms for the tourists. (Philippines, Balicasag, February 2008)
The reneurs-fins-masks-snorkel come in mini-banca offer their services to big bancas which transport the tourists to the day on the reef of Balicasag. (Philippines, February 2008)
The reneurs-fins-masks-snorkel come in mini-banca offer their services to big bancas which transport the tourists to the day on the reef of Balicasag. (Philippines, February 2008)

Offshore, we have the chance to see, far too far, alas, a dark mass that disappears quickly between two waves. "A whale! », says Jeril. A whale? Or a whale shark? We scan the waves where the shadows have disappeared, to no avail.

A little later, twice, we also spot dolphins, which leap gaily over the surface. Again, the show is too far away and too short for our cameras.

Sandugan Beach, Siquijor

An hour and a half later, our banca arrives at Siquijor, on the beach Sandugan.

A deserted beach, without banana boat or parasol. The only stranded waste is natural waste, coconut, seaweed, driftwood ... (Philippines, Sandugan Beach, Siquijor, February 2008)
A deserted beach without banana boat No umbrellas The only stranded waste is natural waste, coconut, seaweed, driftwood ... (Philippines, Sandugan Beach, Siquijor, February 2008)
Our banca drawn on the sand of Sandugan Beach in Siquijor: "In God we trust" ... (Philippines, February 2008)
Our banca pulled on the sand of Sandugan Beach in Siquijor: "In God we trust" (Philippines, February 2008)

There, a simple bungalow, but cute, lying on the beach, next to a few other bamboo bungalows, waiting for me ... Two ladies of a certain age on the terrace. They seem delighted to see me.

Yes, the bungalow is free, they tell me. For 600 unfortunate pesos at night (about 10 €). In Panglao, depending on the category of accommodation, prices ranged from 800 to 1,500 pesos on Alona Beach, or 3,000 pesos for a room in a resort with European standards with swimming pool ... ????

This bungalow found in Siquijor fills me. The place is called Islanders Paradise and is aptly named. Plus, there's a little dive center right next door, Kiwi Dive.

I can not believe it ... I finally found "my" bungalow facing the sea, on a peaceful beach ... (Philippines, Sandugan Beach, Siquijor, February 2008)
I can't believe it... I finally found "my" bungalow facing the sea, on a peaceful beach... (Philippines, Sandugan Beach, Siquijor, February 2008)
On Sandugan Beach, there is a small diving center, Kiwi Dive, which also offers accommodation. (Siquijor, Philippines, February 2008)
On Sandugan Beach, there is a small diving center, Kiwi Dive, which also offers accommodation. (Siquijor, Philippines, February 2008)

In a siestal mood, delighted to have found a quiet corner, I start by testing the hammock on the terrace. No other noise here than the murmur of the waves and the thrill of coconut palms ...

What happiness! 🤗 😎 🌴

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. The naiad,

    It's really good to hear from you at Paradise. Good wind, beautiful sea. I dive into the pictures.
    See you soon, and kisses
    Colette

  2. At the moment when I read you, it falls strings and the sky looks like a cauldron that plummets his head, then, see this beautiful sandy beach and its no less beautiful bungalow, needless to say that it would make almost a little jealous !
    Congratulations for the blog, containing and content, it is of a great elegance of layout, the photos are of quality, and the texts very interesting.

    Hasta pronto, that disfrutes a maximo, Mam

  3. 😉 To Colette: As I'm glad you left me a comment! I went motorcycling today, on the quiet roads of Siquijor. What happiness to be here! I'm preparing new pictures for tomorrow ... See you soon!

    😉 To Mam: Thank you for the compliments, it's a pleasure ... I took the time, before the departure, to refine the presentation of the blog. Siquijor I like a lot. I will tell you this in a future article ... Hasta pronto!

  4. Hello!!! Finally, here I am back, the time of a day ... (we leave after tomorrow). And it's a pleasure to read you, thank you, thank you !!!! Especially, as every time you leave, I too left, but in places all the same less foolish ... Caen, Gap, Ales ... Ah, France and its hotels IBIS! I just love it!!!!! Small salads all ready to Marie, the choice taboulé, Neapolitan pasta, or the good old camembert bread ... Yeah, hard to find a restaurant open at 23h in a small town!

    In any case, congratulations, as every time, it feels good to read you !!!!!
    Good continuation!!!! I do not know when I can read you again ... Kisses !!! And ... PROFIT !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. 🙂 To Helene: thank you for this little note.

    It's always a pleasure to read you from the other side of the world ... Good luck for the rest of the tour.

    For me, who is deprived of it, a good old Camembert bread, it would almost make me envy... 😉

    See you soon !

  6. Very pleasant to read your peregrinations way lonely traveler, more rewarding than the "treks" of agency with transfers included (even if it does not exclude the chance and sometimes some delays).

    The nap in the hammock made me envy, you found a very nice place to fall!... 😉

  7. Ah ... That, I must say that I like nothing so much as to walk as I please, freely, during my little wanderings. Have the choice to stay or leave, change your mind, destination, accommodation ...

    It's very nice to manage on your own, provided, of course, to have a little time in the evening. The experience is often rich in surprises, encounters, discoveries ... It's an integral part of the journey for me. But for short stays, we must recognize that "transfers included" are still very practical.

    As for this hammock, on Sandogan Beach, in Siquijor, I spent long hours contemplating the sea, daydreaming, watching the slow dive of the sun towards the horizon ... Take the time to do nothing ... that too it's part of the trip!

  8. Taking the time to do nothing abroad, in another setting, is above all knowing how to take a step back from your daily life and allow emotions to impregnate you to better enjoy. It's called recharging also I think ...
    🙂

  9. Hello Corinne,
    I had read your notebook on Siquijor ... and since then, I went there ... a crush too!
    A big thank you for your notebooks, which gave me a good introduction before my trip! I will have the opportunity to write some sandwiches on my blog too, about this trip to the Philippines ...
    See you soon.
    Thib.
    PS: I ran into Jeril... who says hello to you 😉

  10. Hello Thib,

    I'm glad that Siquijor has left you as good memories as me! And glad that my little log book could help you prepare for the trip ... I can not believe Jeril remember me (he must see scrolls of the world)!

    I had already browsed through your blog some time ago, attracted by your Asian escapades. I really like the last post about the monitor lizards. And I have a feeling I'm going to devour the next ones you're preparing for us on the Philippines! 😉

    See you soon !

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Une plage déserte, sans banana boat ni parasol. Les seuls déchets échoués sont des déchets naturels, noix de cocos, algues, bois flottés... (Philippines, Sandugan Beach, Siquijor, février 2008)
Une plage déserte, sans banana boat ni parasol. Les seuls déchets échoués sont des déchets naturels, noix de cocos, algues, bois flottés... (Philippines, Sandugan Beach, Siquijor, février 2008)

Siquijor, l’île tranquille

#Philippines

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

J’ai rudement bien fait de partir pour Siquijor sans attendre. À l’arrivée, je trouve une plage quasi déserte, la belle Sandugan Beach.

D’Alona à Siquijor en banca

Jeril m’embarque donc le matin depuis Alona, comme convenu, sur sa banca. (Lire le post précédent → Pourquoi je vais fuir Alona Beach).

Tarif pour cette traversée de la presqu’île de Panglao à l’île de Siquijor  : 1 200 pesos (18 €). Outre ma petite personne, il y a Sarah, une jeune Allemande, et Sunny, son copain philippin, ainsi que le capitaine du bateau et un autre gars qui est là pour aider aux manœuvres.

Il fait beau. Ciel bleu et mer calme, la traversée se présente bien. Je pense que j’aurais hésité à la faire s’il y avait eu des vagues.

Parce qu’une balade en banca, c’est très sympa, mais surtout si la mer est plate. Une fois, à Sogod Bay (Leyte), lors d’un retour de plongée, le temps a tourné et on a été pas mal secoués. La banca était heureusement assez confortable, grande et bien aménagée pour les plongeurs, mais ce genre d’embarcation est quand même limite dès qu’il y a de la houle.

Sur notre route vers Siquijor (prononcer « Siki-hor ») une halte snorkeling (ou PMT en bon francais, c’est-a-dire palmes-masque-tuba) est prévue à l’île de Balicasag, en face de Panglao. Un îlot plutôt, avec mignonne plage de sable blanc, situé à environ trois-quart d’heure / une heure d’Alona.

L'île de Balicasag possède de magnifiques récifs coralliens. C'est un spot de plongée réputé, mais je n'y ferai qu'un peu de snorkeling (nage en palmes-masque-tuba) lors de la traversée Panglao-Siquijor. (Philippines, Balicasag, février 2008)
L’île de Balicasag possède de magnifiques récifs coralliens. C’est un spot de plongée réputé, mais je n’y ferai qu’un peu de snorkeling (nage en palmes-masque-tuba) lors de la traversée Panglao-Siquijor. (Philippines, Balicasag, février 2008)

À la limite du récif corallien, il y a une concentration impressionnantes de bancas : bateaux de plongée, barques transportant les touristes snorkelers (nageurs avec palmes-masque-tuba) comme nous, petites embarcations de pêcheurs reconverties en boutiques flottantes de location de palmes, masques et tubas…

Je suis d’un œil amusé les types qui rament frénétiquement en direction d’un gros bateau qui vient d’arriver, chargé de Coréens (vraisemblablement), reconnaissables au fait qu’il portent tous un gilet de sauvetage orange bien visible. En Thaïlande, ces touristes qui ne savent pas nager sont pareillement repérables…

Je suis la première à me mettre a l’eau avec palmes, masque et tuba (qui prend l’eau), prêtés par Jeril, ce qui m’évite de devoir défaire mon paquetage de plongée. Entre la plage et la limite du tombant, les coraux sont pas mal abîmés. La vie sous-marine se concentre en-dessous de notre banca, là où le « mur » de corail, superbe, descend vers les profondeurs bleues.

Nous restons quelques instants à barboter, puis nous mettons ensuite cap pour de bon sur Siquijor.

Devant l’île de Balicasag, le capitaine de notre banca fait le malin avec un petit poisson séché. Derrière, arrivés dans leurs petites barques, des loueurs de palmes pour les touristes. (Philippines, Balicasag, février 2008)
Devant l’île de Balicasag, le capitaine de notre banca fait le malin avec un petit poisson séché. Derrière, arrivés dans leurs petites barques, des loueurs de palmes pour les touristes. (Philippines, Balicasag, février 2008)
Les loueurs de palmes-masques-tuba viennent en mini-banca proposer leurs services aux grosses bancas qui transportent les touristes à la journée sur le récif de Balicasag. (Philippines, février 2008)
Les loueurs de palmes-masques-tuba viennent en mini-banca proposer leurs services aux grosses bancas qui transportent les touristes à la journée sur le récif de Balicasag. (Philippines, février 2008)

Au large, nous avons la chance d’apercevoir, de bien trop loin, hélas, une masse sombre qui disparait bien vite entre deux vagues. « A whale ! », lance Jeril. Une baleine  ? Ou un requin-baleine  ? On scrute les flots, là où l’ombre a disparu, en vain.

Un peu plus tard, par deux fois, nous repérons aussi des dauphins, qui bondissent gaiement au-dessus de la surface. Là encore, le spectacle est trop lointain et de trop courte durée pour nos appareils photo.

Sandugan Beach, Siquijor

Une heure et demie plus tard, notre banca arrive à Siquijor, sur la plage de Sandugan.

Une plage déserte, sans banana boat ni parasol. Les seuls déchets échoués sont des déchets naturels, noix de cocos, algues, bois flottés... (Philippines, Sandugan Beach, Siquijor, février 2008)
Une plage déserte, sans banana-boat ni parasols. Les seuls déchets échoués sont des déchets naturels, noix de coco, algues, bois flottés… (Philippines, Sandugan Beach, Siquijor, février 2008)
Notre banca tirée sur le sable de Sandugan Beach à Siquijor : "In God we trust"... (Philippines, février 2008)
Notre banca tirée sur le sable de Sandugan Beach à Siquijor : « In God we trust »… (Philippines, février 2008)

Là, un bungalow tout simple, mais tout mignon, posé sur la plage, à côté de quelques autres bungalows en bambou, m’attend… Deux dames d’un certain âge sur la terrasse. Elles ont l’air ravies de me voir.

Oui, le bungalow est libre, me disent-elles. Pour 600 malheureux pesos la nuit (environ 10 €). À Panglao, selon les catégories d’hébergement, les prix s’échelonnaient de 800 a 1 500 pesos sur Alona Beach, voire 3 000 pesos pour une chambre dans un resort aux standards européens avec piscine… 😱

Ce bungalow trouvé à Siquijor me comble. L’endroit s’appelle Islanders Paradise et porte bien son nom. En plus, il y a un petit centre de plongée juste à côté, Kiwi Dive.

Je n'en reviens pas... J'ai enfin trouvé "mon" bungalow face à la mer, sur une plage paisible... (Philippines, Sandugan Beach, Siquijor, février 2008)
Je n’en reviens pas… J’ai enfin trouvé « mon » bungalow face à la mer, sur une plage paisible… (Philippines, Sandugan Beach, Siquijor, février 2008)
Sur Sandugan Beach, il y a un petit centre de plongée, Kiwi Dive, qui propose aussi des hébergements. (Siquijor, Philippines, février 2008)
Sur Sandugan Beach, il y a un petit centre de plongée, Kiwi Dive, qui propose aussi des hébergements. (Siquijor, Philippines, février 2008)

D’humeur siestale, ravie d’avoir déniché un coin tranquille, je commence par tester le hamac de la terrasse. Pas d’autre bruit, ici, que le murmure des vagues et le frisson des palmes de cocotiers…

Quel bonheur ! 🤗 😎 🌴

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

  1. La naïade,

    Ca fait un bien fou d’avoir de tes nouvelles au « Paradise ». Bon vent, belle mer. Je plonge dans les images.
    A bientôt , et des bises
    Colette

  2. Au moment où je te lis, il tombe des cordes et le ciel ressemble à un chaudron qui plombe la tête, alors, voir cette jolie plage de sable fin et son non moins joli bungalow, inutile de te dire que çà rendrait presque un peu jaloux!
    Félicitations pour le blog, contenant et contenu, il est d’une grande élégance de mise en page, les photos sont de qualité, et les textes très intéressants.

    Hasta pronto, que disfrutes un maximo, Mam

  3. 😉 A Colette: Comme je suis contente que tu m’aies laisse un petit commentaire! Je me suis balade a moto aujourd’hui, sur les routes paisibles de Siquijor. Quel bonheur d’etre ici! Je prepare de nouvelles images pour demain… A tres bientot!

    😉 A Mam: Merci pour les compliments, ca fait plaisir… J’ai pris le temps, avant le depart, de peaufiner la presentation du blog. Siquijor me plait decidement beaucoup. Je vous raconterai ca dans un prochain article… Hasta pronto!

  4. Coucou!!! Enfin, me voilà de retour, le temps d’une journée… (on repart après demain). Et c’est un plaisir de te lire, merci, merci!!!! D’autant plus, que, comme à chaque fois que tu pars, moi aussi je suis partie, mais dans des endroits tout même nettement moins folichons… Caen, Gap, Alès… Ah, la France et ses hotels IBIS!!! J’adore!!!!! Les petites salades toutes prêtes de Marie, au choix taboulé, pâtes napolitaines, ou alors le bon vieux pain camembert… Ben ouais, difficile de trouver un resto ouvert à 23h dans une petite ville!!!

    En tout cas, encore bravo, comme à chaque fois, ça me fait du bien de te lire!!!!!
    Bonne continuation!!!! Je ne sais pas quand je pourrai te lire de nouveau… Bisous!!! Et… PROFITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. 🙂 A Helene: merci pour ce petit mot.

    C’est toujours un plaisir de vous lire depuis l’autre bout du monde… Bon courage pour la suite de la tournee.

    Pour moi qui en suis privee, un bon vieux pain-camembert, ca me ferait presque envie… 😉

    A bientot !

  6. Très agréable de lire tes pérégrinations façon lonely voyageuse, plus enrichissant que les « treks » d’agence avec transferts inclus (même si cela n’exclue pas le hasard et parfois quelques retards).

    La sieste en hamac m’a fait envie, tu as trouvé un très joli point de chute !… 😉

  7. Ah… Ça, je dois dire que je n’aime rien tant que me promener à ma guise, en toute liberté, lors de mes petites pérégrinations. Avoir le choix de rester ou de partir, de changer d’avis, de destination, d’hébergement…

    C’est très sympa de se débrouiller par ses propres moyens, à condition, bien sûr, d’avoir un peu de temps devant soir. L’expérience est souvent riche en surprises, en rencontres, en découvertes… Cela fait partie intégrante du voyage à mes yeux. Mais pour les courts séjours, il faut reconnaître que les « transferts inclus » sont quand même bien pratiques.

    Quant à ce hamac, sur Sandogan Beach, à Siquijor, j’y ai passé de longues heures à contempler la mer, à rêvasser, à observer le lent plongeon du soleil vers l’horizon… Prendre le temps de ne rien faire… ça aussi, ça fait partie du voyage!

  8. Prendre le temps de ne rien faire, à l’étranger, dans un autre cadre, c’est avant tout savoir prendre du recul avec son quotidien et permettre aux émotions de t’imprégner pour mieux en profiter. Ca s’appelle se ressourcer aussi je crois…
    🙂

  9. Bonjour Corinne,
    j’avais lu ton carnet sur Siquijor… et depuis, j’y suis allé… un coup de coeur également !
    Un grand merci pour tes carnets, qui m’ont donné une bonne introduction avant mon voyage ! J’aurai l’occasion d’écrire quelques tartines sur mon blog également, au sujet de cette escapade aux Philippines…
    A bientôt.
    Thib.
    PS : j’ai croisé Jeril… qui te passe le bonjour 😉

  10. Hello Thib,

    Je suis ravie que Siquijor t’ait laissé d’aussi bons souvenirs qu’à moi ! Et bien contente que mon petit carnet de route ait pu t’aider aux préparatifs du voyage… Je n’en reviens pas que Jeril se souvienne de moi (il doit en voir défiler, du monde) !

    J’avais déjà parcouru un peu ton blog, il y a quelque temps, alléchée par tes escapades asiatiques. J’aime beaucoup le dernier post sur les varans. Et je sens que je vais dévorer les prochains que tu nous prépares sur les Philippines ! 😉

    À très bientôt !

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez