Hippocampus. Koh Phi Phi, Thailand, January 2007.
Hippocampus. Koh Phi Phi, Thailand, January 2007.

Koh Phi Phi: seahorse, leopard shark and turtle!

  Thailand: Southern Islands - January 2007

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation of an article originally written in French. I apologise for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have resulted. If you read French, click on the French flag below to access the original, correct text: 


My first dives on Koh Phi Phi far exceeded my expectations. Despite the tourist pressure, the funds are very rich.

Koh Phi Phi underwater

I am spoiled for my first two dives, on so-called "local" sites near Phi Phi Ley, not far from Phi Phi Don (the main island where we sleep). Not less than two "leopard sharks" (zebra sharks), seahorses, which are not easy to find, and a turtle... Without counting the usual local fauna. I slip some pictures, but it is a festival!

Leopard shark or zebra shark. Site of Bida Nay. Koh Phi Phi, Thailand, January 2007.
Leopard shark or zebra shark. Site of Bida Nay. Koh Phi Phi, Thailand, January 2007.

Our dive-master, a young guy named Ryan, reads One hundred years of loneliness by Marquez, in English, on the boat. Obviously more interested in his reading than in diving. Underwater, he certainly did his job correctly, but he was a bit too fast for my taste. Hardly enough time to take pictures! Obviously a bit bored with walking tourists-divers, the boy...

That said, monopolized by my brand new stab and brand new Legend Expander Legend (see page Equipment), I don't make many pictures. But I make up for it on the second one! The proof.

Grouper. Koh Phi Phi, Thailand, January 2007.
Grouper. Koh Phi Phi, Thailand, January 2007.
Hippocampus. Koh Phi Phi, Thailand, January 2007.
Hippocampus. Koh Phi Phi, Thailand, January 2007.

Koh Phi Phi View Point

Then, hardly tired by this double immersion, I start the climb that leads to View Point, the well named. There are now "tsunami evacuation route" signs everywhere along the island's paths.

View Point. Koh Phi Phi, Thailand, January 2007.
View Point. Koh Phi Phi, Thailand, January 2007.

From up there, you have a breathtaking view of the two beaches back to back. Probably the most famous panorama of Phi Phi. As usual, as soon as it is a question of making an effort, even modest, under these latitudes, I am in swimming. Fortunately, the ice cream man is waiting for the tourists at the arrival...

8)

  Thailand: Southern Islands - January 2007

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. This blog idea is really great. I'm really enjoying following your journey. It reminds me of my trip...

    While one feels like a fish in water, the other is spooning a jar of Nutella with her left hand, and writing her article with her right, in an apartment where the temperature is around 10 degrees. The only thing missing are polar bears! It leaves a void in the editorial office when you're away. Only with you can we talk about the "Thai attitude." 😉

    The diving photos are magnificent. The Krabi region attracted me a lot when I was on Asian soil, so I'm counting on you to promote it, in case I get the urge to go there in October 2007! Drink a Chang to my health.

    See you soon, and enjoy the holiday!

Share
Tweet
Share

Hippocampe. Koh Phi Phi, Thaïlande, janvier 2007.
Hippocampe. Koh Phi Phi, Thaïlande, janvier 2007.

Koh Phi Phi : hippocampe, requin-léopard et tortue !

  Thaïlande : îles du Sud - janvier 2007

Mes premières plongées à Koh Phi Phi dépassent largement mes attentes. Malgré la pression touristique, les fonds sont très riches.

Koh Phi Phi sous l’eau

Je suis gâtée pour mes deux premières plongées, sur des sites dits « locaux » près de Phi Phi Ley, à quelques encablures de Phi Phi Don (l’île principale où on dort). Pas moins de deux « leopard sharks » (requins zèbres), des hippocampes pourtant pas faciles à trouver et une tortue… Sans compter l’habituelle faune locale. Je glisse quelques photos, mais c’est un festival !

Requin-léopard ou requin-zèbre. Site de Bida Nay. Koh Phi Phi, Thaïlande, janvier 2007.
Requin-léopard ou requin-zèbre. Site de Bida Nay. Koh Phi Phi, Thaïlande, janvier 2007.

Notre dive-master, un jeune type nommé Ryan, lit Cent ans de solitude de Marquez, en anglais, sur le bateau. Visiblement plus intéressé par sa lecture que par les plongées. Sous l’eau, il fait certes fait correctement son boulot, mais trace un peu trop vite à mon goût. À peine le temps de prendre des photos ! Manifestement un peu blasé de promener des touristes-plongeurs, le garçon…

Ceci dit, accaparée par ma nouvelle stab et mon détendeur Legend flambant neuf pendant la première plongée (voir la page Matériel), je fais peu d’images. Mais je me rattrape sur la deuxième ! La preuve.

Mérou. Koh Phi Phi, Thaïlande, janvier 2007.
Mérou. Koh Phi Phi, Thaïlande, janvier 2007.
Hippocampe. Koh Phi Phi, Thaïlande, janvier 2007.
Hippocampe. Koh Phi Phi, Thaïlande, janvier 2007.

Koh Phi Phi View Point

Ensuite, à peine fatiguée par cette double immersion, je m’attaque à la grimpette qui mène à View Point, le bien nommé. Il y a maintenant des panneaux « tsunami evacuation route » un peu partout le long des chemins de l’île.

View Point. Koh Phi Phi, Thaïlande, janvier 2007.
View Point. Koh Phi Phi, Thaïlande, janvier 2007.

De là-haut, on a une vue imprenable sur les deux plages dos à dos. Probablement le panorama le plus connu de Phi Phi. Comme d’hab’, dès qu’il s’agit de faire un effort, même modeste, sous ces latitudes, je suis en nage. Heureusement, le marchand de glace attend de pied ferme les touristes à l’arrivée…

8)

  Thaïlande : îles du Sud - janvier 2007

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

  1. C’est vraiment super, cette idée de blog. Je prends beaucoup de plaisir à suivre ton périple. Ça me rappelle mon voyage…

    Pendant qu’il y en a une qui se sent comme un poisson dans l’eau, l’autre se tape un pot de Nutella à la petite cuillère de la main gauche, et écrit son article de la main droite, dans un appartement où la température avoisine les 10 degrés. Il ne manque plus que les ours polaires!!! Ça fait un vide à la rédac quand tu n’es pas là. Il n’y a qu’avec toi que l’on peut parler de la « thaïe attitude ». 😉

    Les photos de plongée sont magnifiques. La région de Krabi m’a beaucoup attirée quand j’étais sur le sol asiatique, donc je compte sur toi pour en faire sa pub, au cas où l’envie me prendrait d’aller y faire un tour en octobre 2007! Tu boiras une Chang à ma santé.

    À bientôt, et profite bien, la vacancière!

Partagez
Tweetez
Partagez