The pontoon of Koh Phi Phi, where all travelers arrive. At the end, under the welcome sign, touts for hotels and guesthouses are waiting ...
The pontoon of Koh Phi Phi, where all travelers arrive. At the end, under the welcome sign, touts for hotels and guesthouses are waiting ...

Koh Phi Phi, the return ...

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the strange sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here PetitesBullesdAilleurs.fr

  Thailand: Southern Islands - January 2007

Koh Phi Phi is metamorphosed since my last visit in July 2005 (almost six months after the tsunami). The transformation is incredible.

Two years after the tsunami

After a first night Bangkok, a plane shot with Air Asia to join Ao Nang (Krabi) in the South, then a one-and-a-half hour boat trip: here I am at Koh Phi Phi.

The island has changed, since my last visit, a year and a half ago, in July 2005, about six months after the tsunami of December 26, 2004. I suspected it a bit, but the transformation is really incredible. .

The pontoon of Koh Phi Phi, where all travelers arrive. At the end, under the welcome sign, touts for hotels and guesthouses are waiting ...
The pontoon of Koh Phi Phi, where all travelers arrive. At the end, under the welcome sign, touts for hotels and guesthouses are waiting ...

The reconstruction continued at full speed, a little anarchic and it still tinkers in every corner. Heaps of hotels and businesses are coming out of the ground, there is work everywhere.

I have a hard time finding the lonely big banyan on the back beach, the only one left standing after the wave. Today, it overshadows the chairs and tables of a restaurant, set in front of rows of umbrellas and skewers of tourists who cook in the sun, next to a large resort with infinity pool ...

Return of tourists

The tourists are back, in very large numbers. First difficulty, and not least, when we arrive and we have not booked anything in advance: find housing. Prices have skyrocketed and the simplest of the rooms will already look in the 1000 baths is about twenty euros, which is huge for Thailand ... But hey, Koh Phi Phi is an ultra-tourist enclave that is different from rest of the country.

After the arrival of the boat, I hurry to leave my bulky bags at the dive-shop with which I will dive the next day, to go around the guesthouses, running almost on the way, behind other travelers weighted bags back to overtake them, just to get there first! ! ! Everywhere signs "Full", but I end up finding a roof anyway.

The island remains beautiful despite everything

Longtail-boats lined up on the beach. Koh Phi Phi, Thailand, January 2007.
Longtail-boats lined up on the beach. Koh Phi Phi, Thailand, January 2007. 

For this first day, lazing on the beach amid the spectacular scenery of Phi Phi, with its large cliffs in the sea, and registration at the diving center ... I will be able to release my new equipment tomorrow, finally!

The translucent water of Koh Phi Phi. Thailand, January 2007.
The translucent water of Koh Phi Phi. Thailand, January 2007.

You can find other photos of Koh Phi Phi, which I posted on my very first site Carnets d'Asie du Sud-Est : in July 2005 and January 2007.

  Thailand: Southern Islands - January 2007

  1. So far, so close ... Everything is said in the title ...

    Nice to read you, we did not hope for news so quickly, thank you. Once again, our thoughts turn to Asia, just read in "El Pais" the catastrophic and deadly floods that hit Malaysia, and you'll smile, dad feels reassured, because he no longer confuses geographically these two countries !

    Here the news is marked by the media show of NS, useless to develop, it is not the appropriate space! Good dive for tomorrow, good holidays.
    Lydie

  2. Youpee! Finally news of our favorite rider.
    Indeed, it must have made you funny to find these post-tsunami landscapes ... too bad for inflation, but ... I guess you can not wait to test your new owner in the blue waters of Phi Phi. We count on you to make us dream with beautiful photos. May Poseidon be with you and have fun. And damn, tomorrow have to work ...
    Lots of love.

  3. Thank you for your messages! It is very nice to read you ... I added small photos to illustrate the whole. The new regulator is running impeccable and I already have a floppy of new underwater images with the two dives made this day!

    Good luck to the workers. See you soon.

  4. I just stumbled upon this post. I went to Ko Phi Phi in 2001. From all over Asia visited, this island occupies a special place. I remember the sunsets seen from a small bungalow rented in the mountains for a few baths, beautiful beaches, meals between friends of the road and happiness to walk in a haven without cars.

    1000 baths? Heaps of tourists ??? It saddens me. I dream of going back, I think that I should perhaps keep my paradise intact in my head ...

  5. @ Marie-Julie:

    I had to go three or four times in all to Koh Phi Phi, several years apart. Before and after the tsunami. I was happy to return for the holidays in early 2007. I had good memories, too. I was curious to see how life came back after my previous visit in July 2005.

    But now, I have the impression that the double murderous wave has only accelerated the transformation of Phi Phi ... I fell from the clouds by discovering, once there, the prices and the crowd. Despite everything, the beauty of the area offsets, the cliffs and the turquoise water have remained the same.

    I intend to return one day, but I think I will go to land on more isolated beaches in the north. Tonsai, the center, between the two beaches that turn their backs, is a little too stuffed with people, now. Paradise is not what it was ...

    😕

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Le ponton de Koh Phi Phi, par où arrivent tous les voyageurs. Au bout, sous le panneau de bienvenue, les rabatteurs pour les hotels et guesthouses guettent...
Le ponton de Koh Phi Phi, par où arrivent tous les voyageurs. Au bout, sous le panneau de bienvenue, les rabatteurs pour les hotels et guesthouses guettent...

Koh Phi Phi, le retour…

  Thaïlande : îles du Sud - janvier 2007

Koh Phi Phi est métamorphosée, depuis mon dernier passage en juillet 2005 (près de six mois après le tsunami). La transformation est incroyable.

Deux ans après le tsunami

Après une première nuit à Bangkok, un coup d’avion avec Air Asia pour rejoindre Ao Nang (Krabi) dans le Sud, puis une traversée d’une heure et demie en bateau : me voici arrivée à Koh Phi Phi.

L’île a bien changé, depuis mon dernier passage, il y a un an et demi, en juillet 2005, soit environ six mois après le tsunami du 26 décembre 2004. Je m’en doutais un peu, mais la transformation est proprement incroyable.

Le ponton de Koh Phi Phi, par où arrivent tous les voyageurs. Au bout, sous le panneau de bienvenue, les rabatteurs pour les hotels et guesthouses guettent...
Le ponton de Koh Phi Phi, par où arrivent tous les voyageurs. Au bout, sous le panneau de bienvenue, les rabatteurs pour les hotels et guesthouses guettent…

La reconstruction s’est poursuivie à toute vitesse, de façon un peu anarchique et ça bricole encore dans tous les coins. Des tas d’hôtels et de commerces sortent de terre, il y a des travaux un peu partout.

J’ai un peu de mal a retrouver le grand banian solitaire sur la plage de derrière, le seul à être resté debout après le passage de la vague. Aujourd’hui, il fait de l’ombre aux chaises et tables d’un resto, installé devant des rangées de parasols et des brochettes de touristes qui cuisent au soleil, à côté d’un grand resort avec piscine à débordement…

Retour des touristes

Les touristes sont de retour, en très grand nombre. Première difficulté, et pas des moindres, quand on arrive et qu’on n’a rien réservé à l’avance : trouver à se loger. Les prix ont grimpé en flèche et la plus simple des chambres va déjà chercher dans les 1000 baths soit une vingtaine d’euros, ce qui est faramineux pour la Thaïlande… Mais bon, Koh Phi Phi est une enclave ultra-touristique qui se distingue du reste du pays.

Après l’arrivée du bateau, je me dépêche de laisser mes encombrants sacs au dive-shop avec lequel je vais plonger le lendemain, pour aller faire le tour des guesthouses, en courant presque sur le chemin, derrière d’autres voyageurs lestés de sacs à dos pour les dépasser, histoire d’arriver la première ! ! ! Partout des panneaux « Full », mais je finis par dénicher un toit quand même.

L’île reste belle malgré tout

Les longtail-boats alignés sur la plage. Koh Phi Phi, Thaïlande, janvier 2007.
Les longtail-boats alignés sur la plage. Koh Phi Phi, Thaïlande, janvier 2007. 

Pour cette première journée, farniente sur la plage au milieu du décor spectaculaire de Phi Phi, avec ses grandes falaises dans la mer, et inscription au centre de plongée… Je vais pouvoir étrenner mon nouveau matériel demain, enfin !

L'eau translucide de Koh Phi Phi. Thaïlande, janvier 2007.
L’eau translucide de Koh Phi Phi. Thaïlande, janvier 2007.

Vous pouvez retrouver d’autres photos de Koh Phi Phi, que j’ai mises en ligne sur mon tout premier site Carnets d’Asie du Sud-Est  : en juillet 2005 et janvier 2007.

  Thaïlande : îles du Sud - janvier 2007

  1. Si loin, si proche… Tout est dit dans le titre…

    Ravie de te lire, nous n’espérions pas de nouvelles si vite, merci. Encore une fois, nos pensées se tournent vers l’Asie, venons de lire dans « El Pais » les inondations catastrophiques et meurtrières qui frappent la Malaisie, et tu vas sourire, papa se sent rassuré, car il ne confond plus géographiquement ces deux pays!

    Ici l’actualité est marquée par le show médiatique de NS, inutile de développer, ce n’est pas l’espace approprié! Bonne plongée pour demain, bonnes vacances.
    Lydie

  2. Youpee! Enfin des nouvelles de notre baroudeuse favorite.
    Effectivement, ça a dû te faire drôle de retrouver ces paysages post-tsunami… Dommage aussi pour l’inflation, mais bon… Je suppose que tu as hâte de tester ton nouveau détenteur dans les eaux bleues de Phi Phi. On compte sur toi pour nous faire rêver avec de belles photos. Que Poséïdon soit avec toi et amuse-toi bien. Et zut, demain faut aller bosser…
    Gros bisous.

  3. Merci pour vos messages! Ca fait tres plaisir de vous lire… J’ai rajoute des petites photos pour illustrer le tout. Le nouveau detendeur marche impec et j’ai deja une floppee de nouvelles images sous-marines avec les deux plongees faites ce jour !

    Bon courage aux travailleurs. A bientot.

  4. Je viens de tomber par hasard sur ce billet. Je suis allée à Ko Phi Phi en 2001. De tous les coins d’Asie visités, cette île occupe une place particulière. J’en conserve le souvenir des couchers de soleil observés depuis un petit bungalow loué dans les montagnes pour quelques baths, des plages magnifiques, des repas entre copains de route et du bonheur de se balader dans un havre sans voitures.

    1000 baths? Des tas de touristes??? Ça me désole. Moi qui rêve d’y retourner, je me dis que je devrais peut-être garder mon paradis intact dans ma tête…

  5. @ Marie-Julie :

    J’ai dû aller trois ou quatre fois en tout à Koh Phi Phi, à plusieurs années d’intervalle. Avant et après le tsunami. J’étais heureuse d’y retourner pour les vacances, début 2007. J’y avais de bons souvenirs, aussi. J’étais curieuse de voir comment la vie y avait repris, après mon précédent passage en juillet 2005.

    Mais voilà, j’ai bien l’impression que la double vague meurtrière n’a fait qu’accélérer la transformation de Phi Phi… Je suis tombée des nues en découvrant, une fois sur place, les prix et la foule. Malgré tout, la beauté du coin compense, les falaises et l’eau turquoise sont restées les mêmes.

    Je compte bien y retourner, un jour, mais je pense que j’irai me poser sur des plages plus isolées dans le nord. Tonsai, le centre, entre les deux plages qui se tournent le dos, est un peu trop gavé de monde, désormais. Le paradis n’est plus ce qu’il était…

    😕

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez