Nudibranch. Similan Island, Malaysia. July 2009.

Nudibranch Festival

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the weird sentences and the funny mistakes that could have been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here:

  Borneo [Malaysia and Indonesia] - July 2009

I am part of this category of divers who can spend long minutes rushing on a nudibranch. These delicate sea slugs abound in Mabul and Sipadan.

Called this way because of their gills, which are bare (it is the species of small forelock in the back of the body), the nudibranchs are the joy of the macro photographers.

Nudibranch. Similan Island, Malaysia. July 2009.

Nudibranch. Similan Island, Malaysia. July 2009.

Nudibranch. Similan Island, Malaysia. July 2009.

The smallest nudis measure a few millimeters. The largest can reach ten centimeters.

Below, the hand of Kayo, one of the guides at Billabong Scuba, to give you an idea of the size of the fleshiest. During our last dive together in Mabul, she kept finding new slugs, placed on dead coral debris, and bringing them to me when I was busy immortalizing others.

Nudibranch. Similan Island, Malaysia. July 2009.

When I spot one of these tiny creatures, I can not help flashing it from every angle, trying to capture every detail of their dress, whether it's adorned with ruffles, dread-locks or pustules , depending on the species.

Nudibranch. Similan Island, Malaysia. July 2009.


Nudibranch. Similan Island, Malaysia. July 2009.

Nudibranch. Similan Island, Malaysia. July 2009.

Nudibranch. Similan Island, Malaysia. July 2009.

Nudibranch. Similan Island, Malaysia. July 2009.

And then, there are also these other critters that are the flatworms.

They are often confused with nudis, as they like to display a dress with delicate and colorful patterns to ward off their predators. They are more difficult to grasp than nudibranchs. Thinner, more mobile, smaller.

Flat worm. Similan Island, Malaysia. July 2009.

Flat worm. Similan Island, Malaysia. July 2009.

A festival, I tell you!

😀

  Borneo [Malaysia and Indonesia] - July 2009

  1. How beautiful it looks like creatures from space. What are these beasts eating? What is their role in the ecosystem?
    I can not believe there are so many different species and colors.

  2. awesome 😀 I will spend hours watching them, thank you for these beautiful pictures ❗
    💡 To answer Rolk, nudibranchs mainly eat sponges, ascidians, bryozoans ..

  3. @ Helen @Manta @Malene: Oh, I knew you'd like it ... And I must say that I'm delighted to find my favorite nudist fans, gathered here, under this post. (It's confirmed: it's a "girls thing", the nudists!)
    🙄

    @RolK: Hello Carole! I am glad that the nudis tickle you too. That's the hallucinating thing about these critters: there are thousands of different species. I am all exhilarated when I come across a small slug unprecedented, which I have never seen, that is to say ... As for your questions about their manners, Laurence has happily come to bring his two cents.
    😉

    @Laurence: Thanks for these indications !!! I admit that I would have been hard pressed to answer so precisely.
    🙂

  4. 😮 It's shocking so much sexism !!! I proclaim it loud and clear: i love nudibranchs 😆 And my girlfriend is the same! Ah yes ... normal, it's a girl ... Unfortunately, I have not seen as much as I would have thought of the Perhentians, only 3 species of Phyllidia, including Phyllidia shirinae ... the one next to the hand of Kayo.
    Good, great your photos Corinne! I really like the first one.
    See you soon 😉

  5. Seeking themes for wordpress, I came across this site, and what happiness!
    Me same diver (incidentally it is one of the son of my site) I remained in ecstasy in front of all these beautiful pictures. How simple little critters like it can be so colorful and different ❗ ❓ ❓ ❗

    Not having the chance to do the dive spots around the world, your blog delights my eyes dry ... before the wet I hope.

  6. @Anthony: Chic, finally a boy who reacts! It's not too early!!!
    😛

    @Corinne: Here, another Corinne! Thank you for your note, and if you want, you can take your card to the nudist fan club with the others ...
    😆

    @ Marie-Julie: Oh, there, the nudists, there's no need to say, it embellishes life!
    😉

    @Bizut: "In ecstasy" ... Oh there, I feel a new potential member for our future nudis fan-club !!!
    🙂

  7. Hello Corinne ...
    ... or dear colleague, if I may, because I also work for Ouest France (publihebdos) as a PAO advertising artist.
    It's been quite a while since I discovered your blog which is one of my favorites and that I referenced in my own blog. I do not have the chance to discover the seabed like you (medical reasons), I'm content with landscapes and a little snorkeling (and it's already not bad!) But I travel through the photos of dives of my husband, whom I sort and retouch afterwards. My only regret is that it's hard to get into the macro. How many times have I not tanned him so that he finds me nudibranchs, seahorses and other small critters but in vain & #8230; Here I am filled with your beautiful pictures! Thank you very much and good luck!
    Kti 😉
    Ktidreamblog.wordpress.com

  8. @Kti: Many thanks, Kti !!! Between colleagues, you can even get to know each other, right? I will go from this not browse your blog! Count on me to continue to flash the strange little beasts that populate the seabed ... The underwater macro, and nudibranchs in particular, I love!
    🙂

  9. So go flashy flash! Hoping that it trigger a click at my husband, especially that he is very patient under the water is amazing that he loves only sharks and other nasty big beasts. The macro must be a girl thing ... Besides the nudibranchs it reminds me of the dresses of Spanish dancers!
    Friends - Kti 🙂

  10. @Kti: The nudis, it's exciting. Do not say it's a girl thing, there's Anthony (see above) who will protest.
    Moreover, compared to your remark, there is a flat worm (it is not a nudi, unless I'm mistaken on my part) that we call "Spanish dancer" because when he swims, he waves like flying an Andalusian dress. Not yet managed to "flash" this little beast!
    In any case, I will post new images "macro" in the coming days, you will link the link to your husband ...
    😀

    (Otherwise, in the meantime, you can click on the "nudibranch" tag in the "Browse by Keywords" section in the right column.)
    😉

  11. Ouh there as much for me! dsl for Anthony, I did not see him. In fact what I meant by that is that women might be more receptive to the harmony of colors and shapes of nudists given their natural inclination more or less pronounced for frills and makeup. Besides, my husband hates to accompany me in the clothes shops! On the other hand I think that in the photos he made in Egypt he flashed a Spanish dancer.
    Have a good weekend - see you next time

  12. Girls prefer nudibranchs and boys big sharks ????
    Not so sure ... they like little fleas ... appreciate what's small and cute too ... 😉

    The beautiful Spanish dancer is in the family of nudibranchs, although I too think her dance resembles that of the flat worm swimming gracefully.
    The Spanish dancer is more exactly a "hexabranchus", variety "sanguineus"

  13. Nudibranch fan too ... 8)
    I enjoy your articles and photos. The beautiful slug of blue sea, I've never met.
    On the other hand, during one and the same night dive, I followed 3 "Spanish dancers" (Hexabranchus sanguineus) plump and gills toupet well stocked on the back, the largest of which measured 32cm!
    (his head is here: »Hexabranchus Sanguineus).
    Nice Sunday in Rennes, Corinne. True, it is not very hot! 😉

  14. @Kti: Hmm. Let's be wary of generalizations. I know boys who are very sensitive to colors, who like to shop clothes, and appreciate the delicacy of nudibranchs ... Thank you for the link to the photo. It looks like a Spanish dancer, but I can not confirm you, since I have never seen the beautiful with my own eyes.
    🙂

    @Manta: Fortunately you're here to rectify my mistakes. The Spanish dancer is therefore a nudibranch! Confusion on my part due to erroneous explanations that I had to hear and that I repeat stupidly, but mostly because I've never seen it before with my own eyes ...
    Finally, I'm a girl and I like big sharks too!
    😉

    @Siratus: Super, thank you for the link to the photo (there was a small bug in the address, I reformatted it cleanly). Me, it is the Spanish dancer that I have not yet had the chance to admire. But it will come!
    The sun is still back to Rennes for the weekend ... it's not the heat, but it's better than before, it looks a bit more like summer!
    😀

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Nudibranche. Similan Island, Malaisie. Juillet 2009.

Festival de nudibranches

  Bornéo [Malaisie et Indonésie] - juillet 2009

Je fais partie de cette catégorie de plongeurs qui peuvent rester de longues minutes à s’extasier sur un nudibranche. Ces délicates petites limaces de mer abondent à Mabul et Sipadan.

Appelés ainsi à cause de leurs branchies, qui sont à nu (c’est l’espèce de petit toupet à l’arrière du corps), les nudibranches font la joie des photographes macro.

Nudibranche. Similan Island, Malaisie. Juillet 2009.

Nudibranche. Similan Island, Malaisie. Juillet 2009.

Nudibranche. Similan Island, Malaisie. Juillet 2009.

Les nudis les plus petits mesurent quelques millimètres. Les plus gros peuvent atteindre une dizaine de centimètres.

Ci-dessous, la main de Kayo, l’une des guides chez Billabong Scuba, pour vous donner une idée de la taille des plus charnus. Lors de notre ultime plongée ensemble à Mabul, elle n’a cessé de me dénicher de nouvelles limaces, posées sur des débris de corail mort, et de me les apporter quand j’étais occupée à en immortaliser d’autres.

Nudibranche. Similan Island, Malaisie. Juillet 2009.

Quand je repères l’une de ces minuscules créatures, je ne peux m’empêcher de la flashouiller sous tous les angles, m’efforçant de capturer le moindre détail de leur robe, qu’elle soit ornée de volants, dread-locks ou pustules, selon les espèces.

Nudibranche. Similan Island, Malaisie. Juillet 2009.


Nudibranche. Similan Island, Malaisie. Juillet 2009.

Nudibranche. Similan Island, Malaisie. Juillet 2009.

Nudibranche. Similan Island, Malaisie. Juillet 2009.

Nudibranche. Similan Island, Malaisie. Juillet 2009.

Et puis, il y a aussi ces autres bestioles que sont les vers plats.

On les confond souvent avec les nudis, car ils aiment pareillement étaler une robe à motifs délicats et colorés pour éloigner leurs prédateurs. Ils sont plus difficiles à saisir que les nudibranches. Plus fins, plus mobiles, plus petits.

Ver plat. Similan Island, Malaisie. Juillet 2009.

Ver plat. Similan Island, Malaisie. Juillet 2009.

Un festival, je vous dis !

😀

  Bornéo [Malaisie et Indonésie] - juillet 2009

  1. Que c’est beau !On dirait des créatures venues de l’espace. Ca mange quoi ces bébêtes? Quel est leur rôle dans l’écosystème?
    J’ai du mal à croire qu’il y ait autant d’espèce et de couleurs différentes.

  2. génial 😀 je passerai des heures à les observer, merci pour ces magnifiques photos ❗
    💡 Pour répondre à Rolk, les nudibranches mangent principalement des éponges, des ascidies, des bryozoaires..

  3. @Hélène @Manta @Malene: Ah, je savais que ça vous plairait… Et je dois dire que je suis ravie de retrouver mes fans de nudis préférées, réunies ici, sous ce post. (ça se confirme: c’est bien un « truc de filles », les nudis!)
    🙄

    @RolK: Coucou Carole! Je suis bien contente que les nudis te titillent aussi. C’est ça qui est hallucinant, avec ces bestioles: il y a des milliers d’espèces différentes. Je suis toute émoustillée quand je tombe sur une petite limace inédite, que je n’ai encore jamais vue, c’est dire… Quant à tes questions concernant leurs moeurs, Laurence est heureusement venue apporter son grain de sel.
    😉

    @Laurence: Mercis de ces indications!!! J’avoue que j’aurais été bien en peine de répondre aussi précisément.
    🙂

  4. 😮 C’est choquant autant de sexisme !!! Je le proclame haut et fort: i love nudibranches 😆 Et ma nana c’est pareil ! Ah oui… normal, c’est une nana… Malheureusement, j’en ai pas vu autant que je l’aurais pensé aux Perhentians, uniquement 3 espèces de Phyllidia, dont Phyllidia shirinae… celle à côté de la main de Kayo.
    Bon, superbes tes photos Corinne! J’aime beaucoup la première.
    A bientôt 😉

  5. Cherchant des thèmes pour wordpress, je suis tombé sur ce site, et quel bonheur !!!
    Moi même plongeur (d’ailleurs c’est l’un des fils conducteur de mon site) je suis resté en extase devant toutes ces belles photos. Comment de simple petites bestioles comme sa peuvent être aussi colorés et différentes ❗ ❓ ❓ ❗

    N’ayant pas la chance de pouvoir faire les spots de plongées du monde entier, ton blog me ravit les yeux au sec … avant l’humide j’espère.

  6. @Anthony: Chic, enfin un garçon qui réagit! C’est pas trop tôt!!!
    😛

    @Corinne: Tiens, une autre Corinne! Merci de ton petit mot, et si tu veux, tu peux prendre ta carte au fan-club des nudis avec les autres…
    😆

    @Marie-Julie: Ah là là, les nudis, y’a pas à dire, ça embellit la vie!
    😉

    @Bizut: « En extase »… Oh là là, je sens un nouveau membre potentiel pour notre futur fan-club de nudis!!!
    🙂

  7. Bonjour Corinne…
    … ou chère collègue, si je peux me permettre, car je travaille également pour Ouest France (publihebdos) en tant que maquettiste PAO en publicité.
    Cela fait pas mal de temps que j’ai découvert votre blog qui fait partie de mes préférés et que j’ai référencé dans mon propre blog. Je n’ai pas la chance de pouvoir découvrir les fonds marins comme vous (raisons médicales) , je me contente de paysages terrestres et un peu de snorkeling (et c’est déjà pas mal !) mais je voyage à travers les photos de plongées de mon époux, que je trie et retouche par la suite. Mon seul regret est qu’il a du mal à se mettre à la macro. Combien de fois ne l’ai-je pas tanné pour qu’il me trouve des nudibranches, hippocampes et autres petites bestioles mais en vain… Me voilà comblée avec vos superbes photos !!! Merci infiniment et bonne continuation !
    Kti 😉
    Ktidreamblog.wordpress.com

  8. @Kti: Mille mercis, Kti!!! Entre collègues, on peut même se tutoyer, non? Je vais aller de ce pas parcourir ton blog!!! Compte sur moi pour continuer à flashouiller les étranges petites bêtes qui peuplent les fonds sous-marins… La macro sous l’eau, et les nudibranches en particulier, j’adore!
    🙂

  9. Alors vas-y flashouille flashouille ! En espérant que ça provoquer un déclic chez mon époux, surtout qu’il est très patient sous l’eau c’est étonnant qu’il n’adore que les requins et autres vilaines grosses bêtes. La macro ça doit être un truc de fille… D’ailleurs les nudibranches ça me fait penser à des robes de danseuses espagnoles !
    Amitiés – Kti 🙂

  10. @Kti: Les nudis, c’est pourtant passionnant. Ne dis pas que c’est un truc de filles, y’a Anthony (voir plus haut) qui va protester.
    D’ailleurs, par rapport à ta remarque, il existe un ver plat (ce n’est pas un nudi, sauf erreur de ma part) que l’on appelle « danseuse espagnole » car quand il nage, il ondoie comme les volants d’une robe andalouse. Pas encore réussi à la « flashouiller » cette petite bête-là!
    En tout cas, je vais poster de nouvelles images « macro » dans les jours à venir, tu fileras le lien à ton mari…
    😀

    (Sinon, en attendant, tu peux cliquer sur le tag « nudibranche » dans la rubrique « Parcourir par mots-clés » dans la colonne de droite.)
    😉

  11. Ouh là autant pour moi ! dsl pour Anthony, je ne l’avais pas vu. En fait ce que je voulais dire par là c’est que les femmes seraient peut-être plus réceptives à l’harmonie des couleurs et des formes des nudis vu leur penchant naturel plus ou moins prononcé pour les froufrous et le maquillage. D’ailleurs mon époux déteste m’accompagner dans les boutiques de fringues ! 😉 Par contre je crois que dans les photos qu’il a faites en Egypte il a flashé une danseuse espagnole.
    Bon week-end – A la prochaine

  12. Les filles préfèrent les nudibranches et les garçons les gros requins????
    Pas si sur… ils aiment les petites puces… apprécient ce qui est petit et mignon aussi… 😉

    La magnifique danseuse espagnole est dans la famille des nudibranches, même si moi aussi je trouve que sa danse ressemble à celle du ver plat qui nage gracieusement.
    La danseuse espagnole est plus exactement un « hexabranchus », variété « sanguineus »

  13. Fan de Nudibranches aussi… 8)
    Je me régale de tes articles et photos. La belle Limace de mer bleue, je ne l’ai encore jamais rencontrée.
    Par contre, au cours d’une seule et même plongée de nuit, j’ai suivi 3 « danseuses espagnoles » (Hexabranchus sanguineus) bien dodues et toupet de branchies bien garni sur le dos, dont la plus grosse mesurait 32cm!
    (sa tête est ici: » Hexabranchus Sanguineus).
    Beau dimanche à Rennes, Corinne. Vrai, il ne fait pas très chaud ! 😉

  14. @Kti: Hum. Méfions-nous des généralisations. Je connais des garçons qui sont très sensibles aux couleurs, qui aiment faire les boutiques de fringues, et apprécient la délicatesse des nudibranches… Merci pour le lien vers la photo. Ça ressemble à une danseuse espagnole, mais je ne saurais te confirmer, vu que je n’ai jamais vu la belle de mes propres yeux.
    🙂

    @Manta: Heureusement que tu es là pour rectifier mes erreurs. La danseuse espagnole est donc bien un nudibranche! Confusion de ma part due à des explications erronnées que j’ai dû entendre et que je répète bêtement, mais surtout parce que ne l’ai encore jamais vue de mes propres yeux…
    Enfin, moi je suis une fille et j’aime bien les gros requins aussi!
    😉

    @Siratus: Super, merci pour le lien vers la photo (il y avait un petit bug dans l’adresse, j’ai reformaté ça proprement). Moi, c’est la danseuse espagnole que je n’ai pas encore eu la chance d’admirer. Mais ça viendra!
    Le soleil est quand même revenu à Rennes pour le week-end… ça n’est pas la canicule, mais c’est mieux qu’avant, ça ressemble un peu plus à l’été!
    😀

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez