How to do the Asian Squat?

Squatting Asian style

  Between Two Journeys

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

Are you part of Westerners who know how to squat with Asian? Those who have already been to Asia know what I am talking about ... Most foreigners can not sit on their heels without losing their balance!

Video: How to do the Asian Squat

I just rediscovered this video: How to do the Asian Squat (How to squat with Asian). A funny little parody movie that compares the two ways to crouch.

The video is signed by an American author of Asian origin, Daniel Hsia. Some of you may already know it, because it's been going on for a long time: it dates from 2002! I fell back on it, cleaning up my favorites.

A comfortable position

In Asia, we squat willingly. Sometimes just to grab a bite, hit the chat or watch the street show. People sit on their heels, without putting the buttocks on the ground, well on the feet laid flat.

It is comfortable and stable, not tiring to hold, contrary to the position that most Westerners take, who perch on their toes.

Under a gray sky, the guys from the neighboring village watch me with a smile wedge draw my iPhone for a souvenir photo. Today it's muck-dive under their pontoon. (Sali Islands, Halmahera, Indonesia, July 2018)
Halmahera (Indonesia). Under a gray sky, the guys from the village next to my resort watch me with a smirk, draw my iPhone, from the dive boat docked at the pontoon, for a souvenir photo. The one on the right has the heels off the ground, so squat Western style ... We can see that it is much less stable than the position asian squat adopted by the middle two. (July 2018)
Nice, the mini-boat with rockers. ! (Alor, Indonesia, July 2018)
Alor (Indonesia). In this pendulum mini-boat, perched on a mini-bench across the hull, this fisherman also adopted theasian squat to paddle! (July 2018)

Below, some scenes from everyday life, brought back from my trip to Vietnam in 2001.

Little anecdote

For my part, I master theasian squat. It is a posture that I adopt easily and naturally, not only when I am in Asia, in local fashion, but also in my daily life in France…

One day in Rennes, when I was squatting like this, chatting outside in the street with colleagues at break, an old lady suddenly stood in front of me on the sidewalk. Without saying hello or anything, a little aggressive, she asks me if I have Vietnamese origins. I answer no, but she insists, decreeing that I stand like the Vietnamese and that I surely lived in Vietnam.

In Angkor, Cambodia, February 2011.
In Angkor, Cambodia (February 2011).

Not really, I tell him. I have been to Vietnam several times, but just on vacation. I have made many trips to Southeast Asia and I just got into this habit there. She then begins to tell me about her life. She lived in Saigon a long time ago. Then she also begins to tell me words that I find unpleasant, "reaction" and colonialists. Annoyed, I end the conversation ...

I do not know what memory I woke up that day at this old lady, obviously remained in her head at the time of Indochina and French colonization ... As for me, I remain a fan ofasian squat !

????

Cockfight in the Amed region, Bali. Indonesia, July 2008.
Bali (Indonesia). Cockfight in the Amed region. (July 2008)
Pemuteran's children proudly show me the shells they picked up on the beach. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2008.)
The children of Pemuteran proudly show me the shells they have collected on the beach. (Bali, Indonesia, July 2008)
At Culik Market, near Amed, Bali. Indonesia, July 2008.
At Culik market, near Amed, in Bali. (Indonesia, July 2008)

  Between Two Journeys

277 Shares
Share277
Tweet
Pine
Share

How to do the Asian Squat ?

S’accroupir à l’asiatique

  Entre deux voyages

Faites-vous partie des Occidentaux qui savent s’accroupir à l’asiatique ? Ceux qui sont déjà allés en Asie savent de quoi je parle… La plupart des étrangers n’arrivent pas à s’asseoir sur les talons sans perdre l’équilibre !

Vidéo : How to do the Asian Squat

Je viens de redécouvrir cette vidéo : How to do the Asian Squat (Comment s’accroupir à l’asiatique). Un petit film parodique très marrant qui compare les deux façons de se mettre à croupetons.

La vidéo est signée d’un auteur Américain d’origine asiatique, Daniel Hsia. Certains d’entre vous la connaissent peut-être déjà, car ça fait longtemps qu’elle tourne : elle date de 2002  ! Je suis retombée dessus, en faisant le ménage dans mes favoris.

Une position confortable

En Asie, on s’accroupit volontiers. Parfois juste pour casser la croûte, taper la causette ou regarder le spectacle de la rue. Les gens s’assoient sur les talons, sans poser les fesses par terre, bien campés sur les pieds posés à plat.

C’est confortable et stable, pas fatiguant à tenir, contrairement à la position que prennent la plupart des Occidentaux, qui eux, se perchent sur les orteils.

Sous un ciel gris, les gars du village voisin m'observent avec un sourire en coin dégainer mon iPhone pour une photo souvenir. Aujourd'hui, c'est muck-dive sous leur ponton. (Sali Islands, Halmahera, Indonésie, juillet 2018)
Halmahera (Indonésie). Sous un ciel gris, les gars du village voisin de mon resort m’observent avec un sourire en coin dégainer mon iPhone, depuis le bateau de plongée amarré au ponton, pour une photo souvenir. Celui de droite a les talons décollés du sol, façon squat à l’occidentale… On voit bien que c’est beaucoup moins stable que la position asian squat adoptée par les deux du milieu. (Juillet 2018)
Sympa, la mini-barque à balanciers. ! (Alor, Indonésie, juillet 2018)
Alor (Indonésie). Dans cette mini-barque à balanciers, perché sur un mini-banc en travers de la coque, ce pêcheur aussi a adopté l’asian squat pour pagayer ! (Juillet 2018)

Ci-dessous, quelques scènes de la vie quotidienne, ramenées de mon voyage au Vietnam en 2001.

Petite anecdote

Pour ma part, je maîtrise l’asian squat. C’est une posture que j’adopte facilement et naturellement, non seulement quand je suis en Asie, à la mode locale, mais aussi dans ma vie quotidienne en France…

Un jour, à Rennes, alors que j’étais accroupie ainsi, à bavarder dehors dans la rue avec des collègues à la pause, une vieille dame s’est tout à coup plantée devant moi sur le trottoir. Sans dire bonjour ni rien, un peu agressive, elle me demande si j’ai des origines vietnamiennes. Je lui réponds que non, mais elle insiste, décrétant que je me tiens comme les Vietnamiens et que j’ai sûrement vécu au Vietnam.

À Angkor, Cambodge, février 2011.
À Angkor, Cambodge (février 2011).

Pas vraiment, lui dis-je. Je suis allée au Vietnam plusieurs fois, mais juste en vacances. J’ai fait de nombreux voyages en Asie du Sud-Est et j’ai simplement pris cette habitude là-bas. Elle commence alors à me raconter sa vie. Elle a habité à Saïgon, il y a longtemps. Puis elle se met aussi à me tenir des propos que je trouve déplaisants, « réacs » et colonialistes. Agacée, je mets fin à la conversation…

Je ne sais quel souvenir j’ai réveillé ce jour-là chez cette vieille dame, manifestement restée dans sa tête à l’époque de l’Indochine et de la colonisation française… Quant à moi, je reste une inconditionnelle de l’asian squat !

😛

Combat de coqs dans la région d'Amed, à Bali. Indonésie, juillet 2008.
Bali (Indonésie). Combat de coqs dans la région d’Amed. (Juillet 2008)
Les enfants de Pemuteran me montrent fièrement les coquillages qu'ils ont ramassés sur la plage. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008.)
Les enfants de Pemuteran me montrent fièrement les coquillages qu’ils ont ramassés sur la plage. (Bali, Indonésie, juillet 2008)
Au marché de Culik, près d'Amed, à Bali. Indonésie, juillet 2008.
Au marché de Culik, près d’Amed, à Bali. (Indonésie, juillet 2008)

  Entre deux voyages

277 Partages
Partagez277
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez