Alona Beach is much more beautiful from the sea ... (Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)
Alona Beach is much more beautiful from the sea ... (Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)

Why I'm running away from Alona Beach

#Philippines

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation made from a post originally written in French. My apologies for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have been generated during the process. If you are reading French, click on the French flag below to access the original and correct text: 

Turquoise water and white sand ... The beach of Alona, on the island of Panglao, in the Philippines, is certainly very beautiful. But upon arrival, I have only one desire: to flee as soon as possible.

Alona Beach ... the clash of cultures

How to say ... I knew I might find the crowd at Alona Beach, but I was far from suspecting it would be so!

Certainly, it takes something for everyone. But the holidays I aspire do not correspond at all to what I discover in Alona. I do not see the point of staying in the middle of this not very pleasant tourist fauna, in crowded and overpriced hotels. In the Philippines, the big resorts are clearly not for me.

Alona Beach is much more beautiful sea view ... From here, we can not distinguish so many resorts, restaurants, bars, dive shops that pile up along the beach. (Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)
Alona Beach is much more beautiful sea view ... From here, we can not distinguish so many resorts, restaurants, bars, dive shops that pile up along the beach. (Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)

Of course, as I come from the peaceful village of Padre Purgoson the island of Leyte, the contrast is violent. After the crossing, I decided very quickly not to hang out more than one night on the spot.

It all started well though…

From Leyte to Bohol by ferry

I did the crossing between the islands of Leyte and Bohol early in the morning. I was a little scared of galley, but in fact, it's very easy to go from one to the other! The morning boat, which connects the ports of Bato (on Leyte) and ubay (on Bohol), is not hypothetical at all, contrary to what I feared.

In fact of "ferry", the boat that I take is a big one banca or banka or bangka - traditional rocket boat, typical of the Philippines - which is designed to accommodate passengers.

The 8h Bato-Ubay banca, between the islands of Leyte and Bohol ... The canvas in the foreground protects from the sun that hits some forty passengers. There are still about twenty others in the cabin. (Philippines, Visayas, February 2008)
The banca Bato-Ubay from 8am, between the islands of Leyte and Bohol ... The canvas in the foreground protects from the sun that hits some forty passengers. There are still about twenty others in the cabin. (Philippines, Visayas, February 2008)
Passengers and luggage (my bag is on the right, in the foreground) pile up on the benches away from the sun. (Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)
Passengers and luggage (my bag is on the right, in the foreground) pile up on the benches away from the sun. (Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)
Sun of lead and sea of oil during the crossing Bato-Ubay, between Leyte and Bohol ... (Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)
Sun of lead and sea of oil during the crossing Bato-Ubay, between Leyte and Bohol ... (Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)

For 200 pesos (less than € 3), I took the very first boat, that of 8 h. Flat sea like a lake, a quiet crossing of just over two hours. A friendly Filipino politely talks to me and looks at me for the rest of the trip.

Once in Bohol, all you need is a tricycle ride (bike or motorcycle with kind of sidecar, the local version of becak Indonesian, from cyclo Vietnamese or tuk-tuk Thai) to be driven to the bus terminal. There, we can find a minibus (ask the V-Hire) which makes the connection until Tagbilaran, the big city located just before the peninsula of Panglao (connected by road to Bohol Island), where is located Alona Beach.

The bicycle tricycles (pronounced "traille-ci-keule", in English) wait for the customer at the terminal of Ubay, port located north of Bohol. (Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)
The bicycle tricycles (pronounced "traille-ci-keule", in English) wait for the customer at the terminal of Ubay, port located north of Bohol. (Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)
Minibuses, the "V-Hire" will leave once filled. (Bohol, Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)
Minibuses, the "V-Hire" will leave once filled. (Bohol, Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)

Tourist crowd at Alona Beach

I think I preferred the trip to the finish itself ... My fears about the crowd at Alona Beach were quickly confirmed! Fortunately, I came across a nice tricycle driver, who kept my big bags while I toured hotels, resorts, cottages, dive shops piled on top of each other on this stretch of beach.

I regret my quiet hometown in Leyte ...

Despite the white sand and the coconut palms, Alona Beach is actually a beach without great charm, totally dedicated to tourism. We meet old paunchy people in underwear with reserved deckchairs, young redheads in shorts with a bottle of beer grafted in their hand, hordes of Asian families on vacation (Koreans, Chinese from Hong Kong, Shanghai or Taiwan, etc. ). And everyone crowds in the same place, in overpriced resorts. ????

Alona Beach is much more beautiful from the sea ... (Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)
Alona Beach is much more beautiful from the sea ... (Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)
At night and day, do not expect tranquility on the beautiful Alona Beach. (Panglao, Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)
At night and day, do not expect tranquility on the beautiful Alona Beach. (Panglao, Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)

In short, I found to stay a little away, for the night, at Cherry's Home: a small family hotel, in a new house, without charm but nickel, and especially in my means.

The address was unearthed by Tess and Marilyn, two very nice young Filipinos, who wanted to get me out of their cheap bamboo bungalows on the beach. Which are not bad at all (but complete for the evening), except that the bungalows in question are just in front of a building under construction. Hello tranquility & #8230;

A banca for Siquijor

In the evening, when I was at Cherry's Home, I went to inspect the area. I found two-three nice places to stay, a little away from the beach, quiet bungalow style in large tropical garden. Argh ... Not even bothering to settle down tomorrow. It's complete everywhere! ! !

But this little tour allowed me to meet Jeril, a Filipino who holds the Bananaland Cottages with his sister. The place is quite charming. A large garden not far from the beach, very peaceful, with bungalows of different categories spread far enough from each other in the shade of trees.

And I did well to stay chatting a bit ... Because Jeril organizes a trip in banca for its customers until Siquijor, tomorrow! And this is the next step that I envisioned in my journey. An island reputed quiet and very beautiful, still a little off the beaten track tourist.

Jeany Rose, the owner of the very nice "Bananaland Cottages" in Alona Beach, her brother Jeril, and the little Lauren. (Panglao, Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)
Jeany Rose, the owner of the very nice "Bananaland Cottages" in Alona Beach, her brother Jeril, and the little Lauren. (Panglao, Visayas, Philippines, February 2008)

So, my decision is made! I'm going to flee Alona Beach, the atmosphere does not please me at all. No question of staying here more than one night. Thanks to the banca from Jeril, I'll be in Siquijor tomorrow. In addition, this improvised excursion will save me from having to investigate two ferries (because there is no direct connection to Siquijor). A very good plan! ! !

  Philippines: Visayas - February 2008

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Alona Beach est bien plus belle vue du large… (Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)
Alona Beach est bien plus belle vue du large… (Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)

Pourquoi je vais fuir Alona Beach

#Philippines

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

Eau turquoise et sable blanc… La plage d’Alona, sur l’île de Panglao, aux Philippines, est certes très belle. Mais dès l’arrivée, je n’ai qu’une envie : fuir au plus vite.

Alona Beach… le choc des cultures

Comment dire… Je savais bien que je risquais de trouver la foule à Alona Beach, mais j’étais loin de me douter que ce serait à ce point  !

Certes, il en faut pour tous les goûts. Mais les vacances auxquelles j’aspire ne correspondent pas du tout à ce que je découvre à Alona. Je ne vois pas l’intérêt de rester au milieu de cette faune touristique pas très agréable, dans des hôtels bondés et hors de prix. Aux Philippines, les grosses stations balnéaires ne sont clairement pas faites pour moi.

Alona Beach est bien plus belle vue du large… D’ici, on ne distingue plus autant les resorts, restos, bars, dive-shops qui s’entassent le long de la plage. (Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)
Alona Beach est bien plus belle vue du large… D’ici, on ne distingue plus autant les resorts, restos, bars, dive-shops qui s’entassent le long de la plage. (Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)

Forcément, comme j’arrive du paisible bourg de Padre Purgos, sur l’île de Leyte, le contraste est violent. Après la traversée, je décide donc très vite de ne pas traîner plus d’une nuit sur place.

Tout avait pourtant bien commencé…

De Leyte à Bohol en « ferry »

J’ai effectué la traversée entre les îles de Leyte et de Bohol tôt en début de matinée. J’avais un peu peur de galérer, mais en fait, c’est très facile d’aller de l’une à l’autre ! Le bateau du matin, qui relie les ports de Bato (sur Leyte) et Ubay (sur Bohol), n’est pas hypothétique du tout, contrairement à ce que je craignais.

En fait de « ferry », le bateau que je prends est une grosse banca ou banka ou bangka – embarcation traditionnelle à balanciers, typique des Philippines – qui est aménagée pour accueillir des passagers.

La banca Bato-Ubay de 8h, entre les îles de Leyte et Bohol… La toile au premier plan protège du soleil qui cogne une quarantaine de passagers. Il y en a encore une vingtaine d’autres dans la cabine. (Philippines, Visayas, février 2008)
La banca Bato-Ubay de 8h, entre les îles de Leyte et Bohol… La toile au premier plan protège du soleil qui cogne une quarantaine de passagers. Il y en a encore une vingtaine d’autres dans la cabine. (Philippines, Visayas, février 2008)
Passagers et bagages (mon sac est à droite, au premier plan) s’entassent sur les bancs à l’abri du soleil. (Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)
Passagers et bagages (mon sac est à droite, au premier plan) s’entassent sur les bancs à l’abri du soleil. (Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)
Soleil de plomb et mer d’huile pendant la traversée Bato-Ubay, entre Leyte et Bohol… (Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)
Soleil de plomb et mer d’huile pendant la traversée Bato-Ubay, entre Leyte et Bohol… (Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)

Pour 200 pesos (moins de 3€), j’ai pris le tout premier bateau, celui de 8 h. Mer plate comme un lac, traversée tranquille d’un peu plus de deux heures. Un Philippin sympathique me fait la conversation poliment et me rencarde sur la suite du trajet.

Une fois à Bohol, il suffit d’un coup de tricycle (vélo ou moto avec genre de sidecar, la version locale du becak indonésien, du cyclo vietnamien ou du tuk-tuk thailandais) pour se faire conduire au terminal de bus. Là, on peut trouver un minibus (demander les V-Hire) qui fait la liaison jusqu’à Tagbilaran, la grosse ville située juste avant la presqu’île de Panglao (reliée par la route à l’île de Bohol), où se trouve Alona Beach.

Les tricycles-vélos (prononcer « traille-ci-keule », à l’anglaise) attendent le client au terminal d’Ubay, port situé tout au nord de Bohol. (Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)
Les tricycles-vélos (prononcer « traille-ci-keule », à l’anglaise) attendent le client au terminal d’Ubay, port situé tout au nord de Bohol. (Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)
Des minibus, les « V-Hire » partiront une fois remplis. (Bohol, Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)
Des minibus, les « V-Hire » partiront une fois remplis. (Bohol, Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)

Foule touristique à Alona Beach

Je crois bien que j’ai préféré le voyage à l’arrivée elle-même… Mes craintes quant à la foule à Alona Beach ont été très vite confirmées ! Heureusement, je suis tombée sur un chauffeur de tricycle sympa, qui a gardé mes gros sacs pendant que je faisais le tour des hôtels, resorts, cottages, dive-shops empilés les uns sur les autres, sur ce bout de plage.

J’en regrette mon patelin bien tranquille à Leyte…

Malgré le sable blanc et les cocotiers, Alona Beach est en réalité une plage sans grand charme, totalement dédiée au tourisme. On y croise des vieux bedonnants en slip avec transats réservés, des jeunes rougeauds en short avec bouteille de bière greffée dans la main, des hordes de familles asiatiques en vacances (des Coréens, des Chinois de Hong-Kong, Shanghaï ou Taïwan, etc.). Et tout le monde s’entasse au même endroit, dans des resorts hors de prix. 😱

Alona Beach est bien plus belle vue du large… (Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)
Alona Beach est bien plus belle vue du large… (Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)
De nuit comme de jour, n’espérez pas la tranquillité sur la belle Alona Beach. (Panglao, Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)
De nuit comme de jour, n’espérez pas la tranquillité sur la belle Alona Beach. (Panglao, Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)

Bref, j’ai trouvé à me loger un peu à l’écart, pour la nuit, chez Cherry’s Home : un petit hôtel familial, dans une maison neuve, sans charme mais nickel, et surtout dans mes moyens.

L’adresse m’a été dénichée par Tess et Marilyn, deux jeunes Philippines très sympas, qui voulaient me refourguer leurs bungalows en bambou pas chers sur la plage. Lesquels ne sont pas mal du tout (mais complets pour le soir-même), sauf que les bungalows en question se trouvent juste en face d’un bâtiment en construction. Bonjour la tranquillité…

Une banca pour Siquijor

Le soir venu, une fois posée chez Cherry’s Home, je suis donc allée inspecter les environs. J’ai déniché deux-trois endroits sympas où loger, un peu à l’écart de la plage, du style bungalows au calme dans grand jardin tropical. Argh… Même pas la peine de penser m’y installer demain. C’est complet partout ! ! !

Mais cette petite tournée m’a permis de rencontrer Jeril, un Philippin qui tient les Bananaland Cottages avec sa sœur. L’endroit est tout à fait charmant. Un vaste jardin non loin de la plage, bien paisible, avec des bungalows de différentes catégories répartis assez loin les uns des autres à l’ombre des arbres.

Et j’ai bien fait de rester bavarder un peu… Car Jeril organise un trip en banca pour ses clients jusqu’à Siquijor, demain  ! Et c’est justement la prochaine étape que j’envisageais dans mon périple. Une île réputée tranquille et très belle, encore un peu hors des chemins battus touristiques.

Jeany Rose, la proprio du tres chouette "Bananaland Cottages" à Alona Beach, son frère Jeril, et la petite Lauren. (Panglao, Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)
Jeany Rose, la proprio du tres chouette « Bananaland Cottages » à Alona Beach, son frère Jeril, et la petite Lauren. (Panglao, Visayas, Philippines, février 2008)

Du coup, ma décision est prise  ! Je vais fuir Alona Beach, l’atmosphère ne me plaît pas du tout. Pas question de rester ici plus d’une nuit. Grâce à la banca de Jeril, je serai dès demain à Siquijor. De plus, cette excursion improvisée va m’éviter de devoir enquiller deux ferries (car il n’y a pas de liaison directe pour Siquijor). Un très bon plan ! ! !

  Philippines : Visayas - février 2008

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez