Eco and solidarity travel guides

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the strange sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here PetitesBullesdAilleurs.fr

  Between Two Journeys

I had missed, at the end of June, the guide Bali-Lombok from the collection The Natural Guide. It was published just after my departure for Bali! When I returned, I jumped to the Travel Bookstore to get it for me.

I have traveled with pleasure. The presentation is well done. The editorial line, eco and solidarity, I liked. So, I just bought the one from the Thailand, that I had never done that leafing.

These guides (edited by World Pages at the time I published this post, picked up by Viatao now) encourage us to "travel differently", that is to say in respect of the environment and the people. I quote :

The way we travel has an impact. The simple choice of a hotel, a restaurant, a travel agency or a dive center, more or less respectful of the environment and in solidarity with the inhabitants, makes a big difference.

Anyway, I like the way they invite to visit Bali or Thailand, with each time a small selection of hotels, tours, excursions and activities in accordance with these principles. There is also a series of feature articles, oriented society and culture, very interesting. I who wrote in this blog an article about Amed's salt workers, I had pleasure to find in the guide Bali-Lombok a double page on this subject.

I also appreciate that they do not hold an extremist speech or bless-yes-yes. On the dolphins of Lovina, for example, excursion to which I had for my part made the choice to give up, their suggestions for organizing an outing, under the best conditions (that is to say, that does not turn to dolphin hunting), are quite relevant. In addition, they also give a lot of ideas to get out of the box.

In short, I have no action at the publisher, but these guides are quite well done, very enjoyable to browse, carefully illustrated and stuffed with sound advice. A good alternative to traditional hitchhiker and Lonely Planet (my favorite being obviously not the first of the two).

To know more about The Natural Guide, I invite you to visit these links:
→ From the Natural Guide to Viatao
→ Natural Guide Books on Viatao.com

😉

  Between Two Journeys

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Guides de voyage écolos et solidaires

Édité le

J’avais raté, fin juin, le guide Bali-Lombok de la collection The Natural Guide. Il était paru juste après mon départ pour Bali ! À mon retour, j’ai fait un saut à la Librairie du Voyage pour me le procurer.

Je l’ai parcouru avec plaisir. La présentation est bien fichue. La ligne éditoriale, écolo et solidaire, m’a plu. Du coup, je viens d’acheter celui de la Thaïlande, que je n’avais jamais fait que feuilleter.

Ces guides (édités par Pages du Monde à l’époque où j’ai publié ce post, repris par Viatao désormais) nous incitent à « voyager autrement », c’est-à-dire dans le respect de l’environnement et des populations. Je cite :

La façon dont nous voyageons a un impact. Le simple choix d’un hôtel, d’un restaurant, d’une agence de voyage ou d’un centre de plongée, plus ou moins respectueux de l’environnement et solidaires des habitants, fait une grande différence.

En tout cas, j’aime bien la manière dont ils invitent à visiter Bali ou la Thaïlande, avec chaque fois une petite sélection d’hôtels, visites, excursions et activités en accord avec ces principes. Il y a aussi une série d’articles de fond, orientés société et culture, très intéressants. Moi qui avais écrit dans ce blog un article sur les paludiers d’Amed, j’ai eu plaisir à retrouver dans le guide Bali-Lombok une double page sur ce sujet.

J’apprécie aussi qu’ils ne tiennent pas un discours extrémiste ni béni-oui-oui. Sur les dauphins de Lovina, par exemple, excursion à laquelle j’avais pour ma part fait le choix de renoncer, leurs suggestions pour organiser quand même une sortie, dans les meilleures conditions (c’est-à-dire qui ne vire pas à la chasse aux dauphins), sont tout à fait pertinentes. Par ailleurs, ils donnent aussi pas mal d’idées pour sortir un peu des sentiers battus.

Bref, je n’ai pas d’actions chez l’éditeur, mais ces guides sont plutôt bien faits, très agréables à parcourir, illustrés avec soin et bourrés de conseils judicieux. Une bonne alternative aux traditionnels Routard et Lonely Planet (mon préféré n’étant évidemment pas le premier des deux).

Pour en savoir plus sur The Natural Guide, je vous invite à visiter ces liens :
→ Du Natural Guide à Viatao
→ Les livres Natural Guide sur Viatao.com

😉

  Entre deux voyages

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez