Wireless

Yes to free wifi in airports

  Between Two Journeys

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic translation of an article originally written in French. I apologise for any strange sentences and funny mistakes that may have resulted. If you read French, click on the French flag below to access the original, correct text: 


Which airports offer free internet and wifi? My little selection of links to help you find good deals when traveling.

-First of all this list of airports offering free wifi in the world.

In France too, there are some that offer wireless internet access to travelers. Among these French airports "free wifi": Angers, Bordeaux, Pau... And Brittany is not lagging behind, with the airports of Brest, Lannion and Quimper!

I refer you to their list, found on this page of Duck-Wifi (from 2006, to update).

To complete with this little list of international airportson the same site. Internationally, another link to visit: these airport maps with wifi from Jaunted website (link spotted by Marie-JulieThank you!)

For a small overview of the evolution of wifi in French airports, and the strategy of the Irish company Free-Hotspot.comwhich aims to reach 5000 access points across Europe by the end of 2008, I refer you to this July 2008 article from Point.

For the latest news on free wifi in general, you can visit these search results on Duck-Wifi, again.

And for the list of hot-spots wifi in France (free and paid), there is the search engine of L'Internaute.

Changi Airport Singapore.
Changi Airport Singapore.

For my part, I appreciate to find in airports even free internet in self-service, with keyboard and screen, like in the fabulous Changi Airport Singapore. (And I prefer not to dwell on the poor services offered, in comparison, by Roissy-Charles-de-Gaulle airport).

Finally, for those who live in Geneva (Switzerland), a good plan that changes the wifi access in fast-food chains or American-style coffee shops. An address discovered by my sister, a Breton exiled in Switzerland, who had no internet access at home for a few days: the laundry at 49 Prévost-Martin Street, which makes wifi gratos.

If you have any other interesting links about free wifi or internet in airports, you can post them in a comment below.

😉

PS1. If your comment doesn't appear right away, don't worry: my anti-spam filter (programmed to detect links) may have caught it in its little muscular arms. I'll take care of validating the messages manually.

PS2. The very first site I refer to at the beginning, titled Travel is my Life, Work and Pleasureis a treasure trove of information about air travel. The author, Reem Greiveris an English travel consultant, well versed in the subject!

  Between Two Journeys

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. It's true that Singap airport is fantastic! I almost missed my plane this summer because I was so glued to the Internet!
    At the price where are the tickets, I find it absurd that not all airports offer free wifi!
    On the other hand, compared to the list, I've never been able to connect to wifi in Manila... I've been all over the airport though!

  2. I completely agree, the service offered at Roissy is outrageous.
    I've also been to Singapore, Bangkok and K.L. and there's no comparison: they've understood that offering wifi is offering a service.

    Finally, to find free hotspots around the world, have a look here: http://www.wifeee.fr

  3. And yes...it's not all that easy to find free wifi! The worst is in luxury hotels, where you might assume it's included in the price of the room....but it's not. In Singapore, for example, it cost me the earth to be able to send e-mails!
    Finally, here I am new to my favorite laundry ... waiting for my modem!

  4. In Singapore, on the other hand, I had no trouble getting online, given the number of Starbuck's and other free networks in the city.
    In Bangkok, the same ...

  5. Unfortunately at CDG, it's not just the lack of Wifi that's scandalous. I'll name a few:
    - the tail at the customs,
    - waiting at baggage claim,
    - the tail to the taxis ...
    When I come back from Asia, sometimes our beautiful country makes me feel ashamed 😕

  6. Marie-Net: Free access is usually financed by an advertising screen at the end and/or beginning of the session. Given these conditions and the price of tickets, I too find it astonishing that airports continue to charge for wifi, often at prohibitive rates... Thanks for mentioning your experience in Manila. It could be useful to others!
    🙂

    Gulick: Thanks for your link, I had also spotted it while doing my research. It could be useful to other travellers too. What you say about Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur and Singapore is very true... Amazing how the big Asian capitals are so much better provided with "free" web connections, or at very low prices, than Paris.
    😡

    Hélène: Yes, more and more of us are looking for good plans to connect to the web, at reasonable rates, from anywhere. I'd like to think that in a few years' time, this will be less of a problem than it is today... In any case, your "laundromat-wifi" plan is excellent!
    😀

    Alimata: I think just as you do. I'll add: the supreme friendliness of the staff (I'm being ironic), the incomprehensible signage, the absurdity of having to abandon carts in front of elevators, staircases, shuttles, etc., the lack of training of the security staff in front of the diving gear (but no, I'm not going to strangle anyone with the hoses of my regulator!), the lack of staff at the check-in counters when there's an influx of passengers, the internet terminals that are out of order or prohibitively expensive, etc. etc. etc. That's why I haven't gone into detail here. CDG deserves a very long article of its own. Who knows, if I'm really pissed off, maybe I'll tackle it one day soon (on the next departure?).
    😈

  7. Yes, as you say... I don't write about current political events in Thailand on this "light" travel and diving blog, but I do keep a close eye on events.
    😕

  8. Hello Corinne,

    I'm way behind on this one, but with a bit of a head start: for those who are (or have been) in the mood to let loose about Roissy, I did so with relish a while back:
    http://www.unmondeailleurs.net/aeroports-de-paris-plus-quun-scandale-une-honte-nationale/

    I've just come back from Egypt, and two years later this airport is still as tense as ever! Even though Terminal 3 was less crowded than the other terminals...

    Excellent year to all!

    😉

  9. Hello Marie-Angel,

    Yes, I remember that post you published... I personally enjoyed reading it!
    😉

    I'm currently in the Dominican Republic, and the direct flight departs from Nantes. Interesting, for all those who, like me, are based in the Grand Ouest region. The airport is smaller, of course, but you don't have to go through Roissy. That said, I'll have to go through it again in a few weeks' time for a trip to Thailand. Perhaps I'll "let loose" on this subject again in a post.

    Welcome back from Egypt! And a happy new year too!
    🙄

  10. Regional airports are indeed less stressful. Personally, I've enjoyed the Marignane airport in Marseille several times: it's modern, quiet and clear, with little waiting at check-in and simplified circulation inside.

    Excellent stay in Rep. Dom' Corinne!

  11. @ Marie Ange : The stay is over! I've just returned. And I'll be able to tell you all about the rest of this Dominican escapade... As for Nantes airport, it's nothing extraordinary in itself, but its more modest size makes formalities simpler and quicker too.

Share
Tweet
Share

WiFi

Oui au wifi gratuit dans les aéroports

  Entre deux voyages

Quels aéroports offrent l’internet et le wifi gratuit ? Ma petite sélection de liens pour vous aider à dénicher les bons plans en voyage.

Tout d’abord cette liste des aéroports proposant le wifi gratuit dans le monde.

En France aussi, on en trouve qui offrent l’accès à l’internet sans fil aux voyageurs. Parmi ces aéroports français « free wifi » : Angers, Bordeaux, Pau… Et la Bretagne n’est pas à la traîne, avec les aéroports de Brest, Lannion et Quimper !

Je vous renvoie vers leur liste, dénichée sur cette page de Canard-Wifi (datant de 2006, à réactualiser).

À compléter avec cette petite liste d’aéroports internationaux, sur le même site. À l’international, un autre lien à visiter : ces cartes des aéroports avec wifi du site Jaunted (lien repéré par Marie-Julie, merci !)

Pour un petit panorama sur l’évolution du wifi dans les aéroports français, et sur la stratégie de la société irlandaise Free-Hotspot.com, qui a pour objectif d’atteindre les 5000 points d’accès à travers l’Europe pour la fin de l’année 2008, je vous renvoie sur cet article de juillet 2008 du Point.

Pour les dernières nouvelles sur le wifi gratuit en général, vous pouvez visiter ces résultats de recherche sur Canard-Wifi, encore.

Et pour la liste des hot-spots wifi en France (gratuits et payants), il y a le moteur de recherche de L’Internaute.

Le Changi Airport de Singapour.
Le Changi Airport de Singapour.

Pour ma part, j’apprécie de trouver dans les aéroports ne serait-ce que l’internet gratuit en libre-service, avec clavier et écran, comme dans le fabuleux Changi Airport de Singapour. (Et je préfère ne pas m’étendre sur les piètres services qu’offre, en comparaison, l’aéroport de Roissy-Charles-de-Gaulle.)

Enfin, pour ceux qui habitent Genève (Suisse), un bon plan qui change des accès wifi dans les chaînes de fast-food ou de café à l’américaine. Une adresse découverte par ma sœur, Bretonne exilée chez les Helvètes, et en panne d’internet à la maison depuis quelques jours : la laverie du 49, rue Prévost-Martin, qui fait wifi gratos.

Si vous avez d’autres liens intéressants sur le wifi ou l’internet gratuit dans les aéroports, vous pouvez les signaler par un commentaire, ci-dessous.

 ;-)

PS1. Si votre commentaire n’apparaît pas tout de suite, ne vous inquiétez pas : il se peut que mon filtre antispam (programmé pour détecter les liens) l’ait retenu dans ses petits bras musclés. Je me chargerai de valider les messages manuellement.

PS2. Le tout premier site sur lequel je renvoie au début, intitulé Travel is my Life, Work and Pleasure, est une mine pour tout ce qui touche aux voyages en avion. L’auteur, Reem Greiver, est un « travel consultant » anglais, bien calé sur la question !

  Entre deux voyages

  1. C’est vrai que l’aéroport de Singap est fantastique ! J’ai même failli louper mon avion, cet été, tellement j’étais scotchée sur Internet !
    Au prix où sont les billets, je trouve cela aberrant que tous les aéroports ne proposent pas le wifi gratuitement !
    En revanche, par rapport à la liste, je n’ai jamais pu me connecter en wifi à Manille… j’ai parcouru l’aéroport de long en large pourtant !

  2. Complètement d’accord, le service proposé à Roissy est scandaleux.
    Je suis passé aussi à Singapour, Bangkok, K.L et il n’y a pas de comparaison possible, ils ont compris que proposer le wifi c’est proposer un service.

    Enfin, pour trouver des hotspots gratuits dans le monde entier, un petit tour ici : http://www.wifeee.fr

  3. Et oui…finalement pas si évident que ça de trouver du wifi gratuit!!Le pire, c’est dans les hotels de luxe, où on pourrait supposer que c’est compris dans le prix de la chambre….mais non.A singapour par exemple,ça m’a couté la peau des fesses pour pouvoir envoyer des mails!!
    Enfin, là, je suis denouveau à ma laverie favorite…en attendant mon modem!!!

  4. Malheureusement à CDG, il n’y a pas que le manque de Wifi qui soit scandaleux. Je citerai :
    – la queue à la douane,
    – l’attente aux bagages,
    – la queue aux taxis…
    Quand je reviens d’Asie, y a des fois notre beau pays me fait honte 😕

  5. Marie-Net : L’accès gratuit est financé le plus souvent grâce à un écran de pub, en fin et/ou début de session. Dans ces conditions et au prix où sont les billets, je trouve moi aussi étonnant que des aéroports continuent de faire payer, à des tarifs souvent prohibitifs, le wifi… Merci de mentionner ton expérience à Manille. Ça pourra servir à d’autres!
    🙂

    Gulick : Merci pour ton lien, je l’avais aussi repéré en faisant mes recherches. Il pourra rendre service à d’autres voyageurs également. Ce que tu dis sur Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur et Singapour est très vrai… Étonnant de voir comment les grosses capitales asiatiques sont tellement mieux pourvues en matière de connexions web « free », ou à tout petit prix, que Paris.
    😡

    Hélène : Oui, nous sommes de plus en plus nombreux à rechercher les bons plans pour se connecter au web, à des tarifs raisonnables, de partout. Je veux croire que d’ici quelques années, ce sera moins un problème qu’aujourd’hui… En tout cas, ton plan « laverie-wifi » est excellent!
    😀

    Alimata : Je pense tout pareil que toi. J’ajoute: la suprême amabilité du personnel (j’ironise), la signalisation incompréhensible, l’absurdité de devoir abandonner les chariots devant ascenseurs, escaliers, navettes, etc., le manque de formation de la sécu devant le matos de plongée (mais non, je ne vais étrangler personne avec les tuyaux de mon détendeur!), le manque de personnel aux guichets de contrôle quand il y a afflux de voyageurs, les bornes internet hors service ou à coût prohibitif, etc. etc. C’est pour ça que je ne me suis pas étendue ici. CDG mériterait un très long article à lui tout seul. Qui sait, bien énervée, je m’y attaquerai peut-être un jour prochain (lors du prochain départ?).
    😈

  6. Oui, comme tu dis… Je ne fais pas de sujets sur l’actualité politique thaïlandaise, sur ce blog « léger » axé voyages et plongées, mais je suis avec attention les événements.
    😕

  7. Bonjour Corinne,

    J’arrive largement en retard sur ce sujet, mais avec tout de même un peu d’avance : pour ceux qui ont (ou ont eu) envie de se lâcher au sujet de Roissy, je l’ai fait avec délectation il y a déjà un moment :
    http://www.unmondeailleurs.net/aeroports-de-paris-plus-quun-scandale-une-honte-nationale/

    Je rentre tout juste d’Egypte, et deux ans plus tard cet aéroport est toujours aussi crispant ! Même si, au Terminal 3, j’ai noté tout de même moins d’affluence que sur les autres terminaux…

    Excellente année à tous !

    😉

  8. Bonjour Marie-Ange,

    Oui, je me souviens bien de ce billet que tu avais publié… Pour ma part, je m’étais délectée à sa lecture!
    😉

    Je suis actuellement en République dominicaine, et le vol direct s’effectue au départ de Nantes. Intéressant, pour tous ceux, qui, comme moi, sont installés dans le Grand Ouest. L’aéroport est plus petit, bien sûr, mais on échappe à un passage « crispant » à Roissy. Ceci dit, je vais devoir y repasser dans quelques semaines pour un départ en Thaïlande. Je me « lâcherai » peut-être à nouveau à ce sujet dans un billet.

    Bon retour d’Egypte! Et très bonne année aussi!
    🙄

  9. Les aéroports en région sont moins stressants, effectivement. Pour ma part j’ai bien apprécié plusieurs fois celui de Marignane à Marseille : moderne, silencieux, clair, peu d’attente à l’enregistrement et une circulation simplifiée à l’intérieur.

    Excellent séjour en Rép. Dom’ Corinne !

  10. @ Marie-Ange : Le séjour est terminé! Je viens de rentrer. Et je vais pouvoir raconter la suite de cette escapade dominicaine… Quant à l’aéroport de Nantes, il n’a rien d’extraordinaire en soi, mais sa taille plus modeste rend les formalités plus simples et plus rapides également.

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez