My old travel guides. All damaged, cut, boned, recomposed ...
My old travel guides. All damaged, cut, boned, recomposed ...

Travel guide in pieces

Dear English-speaking readers, this page is an automatic Google translation from a post originally written in French. My apologies for the strange sentences and the funny mistakes that could gave been generated during the process. If you can read French, the original and correct version can be found here PetitesBullesdAilleurs.fr

  Between Two Journeys

Often, I cut my travel guides to the cutter, to keep only the chapters that interest me ... I found an alternative to the massacre: download them in PDF, on the site of Lonely Planet.

Massacre with a cutter

Do you share this mania with me? Often, instead of embarking a complete travel guide in my luggage, I massacre the book with the cutter, to keep only the chapter or chapters that interest me. Gain of space and weight!

Fortunately, I found a digital alternative to this massacre: download the chapters. It is called Pick & Mix Chapters and it's happening on Lonely Planet's English site.

Pick & Mix Chapters

It works in two clicks, we only pay a few euros for the pages and we save them as a PDF file on his computer. We can then print them.

Lonely Planet

Well, of course, you have to be English-speaking, since that only exists for the English editions. But for me, I'm just interested in Southwestern Thailand for my next Andaman sea side getaway, it's ideal. As I do not want to buy an nth guide on Thailand, I jumped on this new service!

They are smart, at Lonely Planet ...

dematerialisation

I do not have any action at home, but for my favorite destinations, in Southeast Asia, I always found in use the Lonely Planet editions better made, more complete and less faulty than those of the famous Backpacker. Which, for example, no longer offered a chapter on Sulawesi in his guide Indonesia when I was preparing my trip in 2007.

The problem is that Lonely Planet (LP) guides are often very big, very bulky. For Malaysia, in 2006, I had in my bag a piece of Routard just for the east coast of the peninsula, and pieces of the LP corresponding to the east of the peninsula and Borneo. For Sulawesi, in 2007, I just took the corresponding small section in the voluminous LP Indonesia. See what's left of it ...

My old travel guides. All damaged, cut, boned, recomposed ...
My old travel guides. All damaged, cut, boned, recomposed ...

After, I tinker, with glue reinforcement, Scotch, or even drawing tongs, to reconstitute a kind of personalized guide. Often, along the way, the pages break up and escape, at the mercy of manipulations and new tortures that I make them suffer ...

I dematerialized my photos, my music, my videos, without moods. Long live digital! But there, even if I am very happy to have my two chapters in PDF, I feel a little pinch to the heart. Because it's not quite the same anymore.

Buying a travel guide, flipping through it, annotating it, and even cutting it up with a cutter, was for me a delightful ritual, full of promise, announcing an imminent departure. A trip before the trip, in short.

With the download of chapters to the card, I lose a little of this pleasure. And I feel, regretfully, the upcoming decline of travel guides in the form of books ...

:Oops :

  Between Two Journeys

  1. Yes, as I said, they're smart at LP ...

    After, as for so many other digital files available for download, non-private copying and distribution are illegal. There is no DRM to lock these PDF files. I do not know how they integrate the possibility of piracy in their profitability calculations ...

  2. Ouch! What carnage! lol Note that my guides end up in a similar state, but because I have returned them in all directions, I scribbled a thousand and one notes everywhere ... not to mention the crumbs that are found here and there since I flip through them often at the restaurant! That said, I find the idea of buying only the digital files that interest us great. At the same time, I like to see my old LP line up in my library, like so many witnesses of these small pieces of planet that I walked ... It is true that some of their bricks are heavy to lug around, but for popular destinations, there are also guides by region (I had for example bought "Thailand - Islands and beaches" a few years ago). Well, they are the best for Asia. Although I was very frustrated by the guide on Taiwan when I went to live there since the author spoke perfect Chinese and sometimes lost along the way the "simple billing" like me. But hey, nothing is perfect!

  3. Hello Corinne!
    A long time ago that I had not passed: what facelift! Your blog look really "pro" now. There is only the banner that seems to me improvable, from the point of view typo. I can make proposals (in all good honor!) If you want ... I thought you were in Mauritius, between "girls" ...
    So, I'm tired: I'm part of the serial cutter guides and other docs 😉 Excellent info. It will not stop me from corner and highlight these "excerpts" in every sense ... What I like is the state in which the docs come back from travel: water, mud, fish scales , blood and sweat, the scribbled news everywhere ... I keep them: they are other memories of travel ...

  4. Aaaaaaargh!
    What a butchery, I thought I fainted seeing this poor cut guide!

    Their system has existed for a few years now but they are increasingly promoting it. I think that one day or the other the Routard will stick to it, the Little Futé is already present in research "inside books" Google.

    Well, me, as a bookseller it does not work for me more than that, it is a complement, as well as the GPS and paper road map. Publishers always find good ideas to revive a guide, to create a new one based on a "niche" such as "nature" trips, more cultural trips, guides for walks ... and then as Marie-Marie writes. Julie, how happy to see our books stack up in the library!

    That said, our generation still mixes digital and paper (or CDs for Music, DVD for video), the question I ask myself is: In what way will the youngest? Will they have the need to go anyway to a bookstore to prepare their trip ... or everything will be done on the net ...

    So far so good 🙄

    ps: By cons more image of butcher's guides on this site, it would become disgusting 😉

  5. Thank you! This info will serve me for the tour in Australia where in fact, we only go to Perth; so, actually, buy a whole guide for just a week in Perth ... ..
    At the same time, I love the travel guides, there are even times, where I just want to buy the guide, even if I do not leave after .... But, it makes traveling and it is less expensive than a plane ticket !!!
    🙂

  6. @ Marie-Julie:
    Yes, it's carnage ... But I keep preciously the bodies of the victims, even in several pieces. Like you, I like to have my old guides in my library, like so many memories.
    As for the famous LP "Thailand: Islands & Beaches", I obviously have a copy too ... A "must have" or "unavoidable", as the other would say! He is whole, that one, he survived the cutter ...
    😉

    @ Francis:
    Yes, well seen for the makeover: the banner is the next building site I intend to attack, precisely! It does not suit me too much in the state (visual + typo). And if you feel inspired, I would be delighted to discover your proposals ...
    For Maurice, I had to give up, alas, with great regret, for reasons of budget, but I tell myself that it is only part of the discount: I will go, one day !!!!
    Finally, I am delighted to discover a sidekick in the trash club full of blood and sweat "serial cutter"! Whichever way we treat travel guides and docs, I'm happy to see that we all like to keep them after ... It's sentimental, all that!
    🙄

    @ Pac ':
    Ah, I was waiting for your intervention as an enlightened bookseller on the question! Very relevant, your analysis. True, these digital chapters are a "complement". But until when?
    In the meantime, I do not promise to stop the butchery ... But promised, I will not publish more shocking image without warning for sensitive souls!
    😆

    @ Helen:
    I suspected it would be the kind of thing that could interest you, with all your tours ... And what you say about the guides we buy even without leaving the country is very true: I have several books like that, on India, on Madagascar, on Sri Lanka ... But it does not say that it does not end on real journeys! Who knows?
    : Mrgreen:

  7. Hello Corinne,

    I came across your site by looking for information on dfgallery, in the comments of another article (like what, we find on blogs by a lot of possibilities!)
    And there, I kept the tab of your site open to be able to walk there a little ... I admit that I adore your site, the presentation, the images, etc.
    I do not dive but Asia attracts me a lot, and I found a lot of good news in your site, including this one on LP guides that may serve me for my future trip to China.
    And then I discovered WordPress Friday so I hope one day can make a site as beautiful and well built as yours!
    Good continuation,

    Adeline

  8. Hello Adeline,

    And thank you for your compliments for the site. I have the satisfaction to see that all my efforts to refine it, from month to month, have borne fruit!

    WordPress is really a fantastic tool. You have to take the time to become familiar, step by step. I intend to write a page, soon (for now it is still "under construction"), to explain a little how I tamed the beast and give some advice on its use ...

    I have never been to China, but I am glad that my little info on the LP download has interested you. When you have built your blog, send me the address that I can follow your future journey!

    🙄

  9. Bjr corinne,

    I take note a little late (I ordered several). Always useful pdf. But hey, a full book still allows you to change your destination at the last moment ... 😉

  10. I usually arrange to go with friends who always have plenty of guides, so I travel light and I do not harm mine 🙂
    Yes, because my grandmother raised me in the respect of the books, me Madam, and when I see what you do to the you ... 😡
    Anyway thanks for the find 💡

  11. Ah ... the books!

    I love them so much, my books, whatever they are! Even when I make them suffer the last outrages, it's actually a sign of affection on my part.

    😉

  12. Hello,
    discovered your site by chance, via Plongeur.com. He is great.

    For guides, there is the solution to put the PDFs mentioned above on an iPod Touch or iPhone, and read with a PDF reader.
    Otherwise, Lonely Planet has released an apli for iPhone OS. You can buy several guides that are suitable for reading on this screen. With an iPad (to replace the netbook) will be even more comfortable.

    Olivier

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share
Tweet
Pine
Share

Mes vieux guides de voyage. Tous abîmés, découpés, désossés, recomposés...
Mes vieux guides de voyage. Tous abîmés, découpés, désossés, recomposés...

Guide de voyage en morceaux

  Entre deux voyages

Souvent, je coupe mes guides de voyage au cutter, pour ne garder que les chapitres qui m’intéressent… J’ai trouvé une alternative au massacre : les télécharger en PDF, sur le site de Lonely Planet.

Massacre au cutter

Partagez-vous avec moi cette manie ? Souvent, au lieu d’embarquer un guide de voyage complet dans mes bagages, je massacre le bouquin au cutter, pour ne garder que le ou les chapitres qui m’intéressent. Gain de place et de poids !

Heureusement, j’ai trouvé une alternative numérique à ce massacre : télécharger les chapitres. Ça s’appelle Pick & Mix Chapters et ça se passe sur le site en anglais de Lonely Planet.

Pick & Mix Chapters

Ça marche en deux clics, on ne débourse que quelques euros pour avoir les pages voulues et on les enregistre sous forme de fichier PDF sur son ordi. On peut ensuite les imprimer.

Lonely Planet

Bon, bien sûr, il faut être anglophone, puisque ça n’existe pour l’instant que pour les éditions en anglais. Mais là, pour moi qui m’intéresse juste au Sud-Ouest thaïlandais, pour ma prochaine escapade côté mer d’Andaman, c’est idéal. Comme je ne tiens pas à racheter un n-ième guide sur la Thaïlande, j’ai sauté sur ce nouveau service !

Ils sont malins, chez Lonely Planet…

Dématérialisation

Je n’ai pas d’action chez eux, mais pour mes destinations favorites, en Asie du Sud-Est, j’ai toujours trouvé à l’usage les éditions du Lonely Planet mieux faites, plus complètes et moins fautives que celles du célèbre Routard. Lequel, par exemple, ne proposait plus de chapitre sur Sulawesi dans son guide Indonésie quand je préparais mon voyage en 2007.

Le hic, c’est que les guides Lonely Planet (LP) sont souvent très gros, très encombrants. Pour la Malaisie, en 2006, j’avais dans mon sac un bout de Routard juste pour la côte orientale de la péninsule, et des morceaux du LP correspondant à l’est de la péninsule et de Bornéo. Pour Sulawesi, en 2007, j’ai juste pris le petit tronçon correspondant dans le volumineux LP Indonésie. Voyez ce qu’il en reste…

Mes vieux guides de voyage. Tous abîmés, découpés, désossés, recomposés...
Mes vieux guides de voyage. Tous abîmés, découpés, désossés, recomposés…

Après, je bricole, à renfort de colle, de Scotch, voire de pinces à dessin, pour reconstituer une sorte de guide personnalisé. Souvent, en cours de route, les pages se défont et s’échappent, au gré des manipulations et nouvelles tortures que je leur fais subir…

J’ai dématérialisé mes photos, ma musique, mes vidéos, sans états d’âme. Vive le numérique ! Mais là, même si je suis très contente d’avoir mes deux chapitres en PDF, je ressens un petit pincement au cœur. Car ce n’est plus tout à fait pareil.

Acheter un guide de voyage, le feuilleter, l’annoter, et même le dépecer au cutter, c’était pour moi un rituel délicieux, plein de promesses, annonciateur d’un départ imminent. Un voyage avant le voyage, en somme.

Avec le téléchargement de chapitres à la carte, je perds un peu de ce plaisir. Et je pressens, à regret, le déclin prochain des guides de voyage sous forme de livres…

:oops :

  Entre deux voyages

  1. Oui, comme je disais, ils sont malins chez LP…

    Après, comme pour tant d’autres fichiers numériques disponibles en téléchargement, la copie autre que privée et la diffusion sont illégales. Il n’y a pas de DRM pour verrouiller ces fichiers PDF. Je ne sais pas comment ils intègrent la possibilité de piratage dans leurs calculs de rentabilité…

  2. Ouille! Quel carnage! lol Remarque que mes guides finissent dans un état similaire, mais parce que je les ai retournés dans tous les sens, que j’ai griffonné mille et une notes un peu partout… sans parler des miettes qui se retrouvent ici et là puisque je les feuillette souvent au resto! Cela dit, je trouve l’idée d’acheter seulement les fichiers numériques qui nous intéressent géniale. En même temps, j’aime bien voir s’aligner mes vieux LP dans ma bibliothèque, comme autant de témoins de ces petits bouts de planète que j’ai foulés… Il est vrai que certaines de leurs briques sont lourdes à trimballer, mais pour les destinations populaires, on trouve aussi des guides par région (j’avais par exemple acheté «Thailand – Islands and beaches» il y a quelques années). Bien d’accord: ce sont les meilleurs pour l’Asie. Quoique j’ai été très frustrée par le guide sur Taiwan quand je suis allée y vivre puisque l’auteur parlait parfaitement chinois et perdait parfois en cours de route les «simples billingues» comme moi. Mais bon, rien est parfait!

  3. Bonjour Corinne !
    Il y a longtemps que je n’étais pas passé : quel lifting ! Ton blog look vraiment « pro » maintenant. Il n’y a que la bannière qui me paraît améliorable, du point de vue typo. Je peux te faire des propositions (en tout bien tout honneur !) si tu veux… Je croyais que tu étais à l’île Maurice, entre « filles »…
    Alors, je me marre : je fais partie des serial cutter de guides et autres docs 😉 Excellente info. Ca ne m’empêchera pas de corner et surligner ces « extraits » dans tous les sens… Ce que j’aime, c’est l »état dans lsequelles les docs reviennent de voyage : l’eau, la boue, des écailles de poisson, du sang et de la sueur, les infos griffonnées partout… Je les garde : ce sont d’autres souvenirq de voyage…

  4. Aaaaaaargh !
    Quelle boucherie, j’ai cru m’évanouir en voyant ce pauvre guide tronçonné !

    Leur système existe depuis quelques années déjà mais ils en font de plus en plus la promotion. Je pense qu’un jour ou l’autre le Routard s’y collera, le petit Futé lui est déjà présent dans les recherches « à l’intérieur des livres » de Google.

    Bon, moi, en tant que libraire ça ne me travaille pas plus que ça, c’est un complément, au même titre que le GPS et la carte routière Papier. Les éditeurs trouvent toujours de bonnes idées pour relancer un guide, en créer un nouveau s’appuyant sur une « niche » telle que les voyages « nature », des voyages plus culturels, des guides de promenades…et puis comme l’écrit Marie-Julie, quel bonheur de voir s’empiler nos livres dans la bibliothèque !

    Ceci dit notre génération mélange encore le numérique et le papier (ou les CD pour la Musique, DVD pour la vidéo), la question que je me pose c’est : De quelle manière consommeront les plus jeunes ? Auront-ils eux le besoin de se rendre tout de même dans une librairie pour préparer leur voyage…ou bien tout se fera sur le net…

    Jusqu’ici tout va bien 🙄

    ps : Par contre plus d’image de boucherie de guides sur ce site, ça en deviendrait dégoûtant 😉

  5. Merci!Cette info va me servir pour la tournée en Australie où en fait, on ne va que à Perth; donc, effectivement, acheter tout un guide pour juste une semaine à Perth…..
    En même temps, j’adore les guides de voyage, il y a même des fois, où j’ai juste envie d’acheter le guide , même si je ne pars pas après….Mais, ça fait voyager et c’est moins cher qu’un billet d’avion!!!
    🙂

  6. @ Marie-Julie :
    Oui, c’est le carnage… Mais je garde précieusement les corps des victimes, même en plusieurs morceaux. Comme toi, j’aime avoir mes vieux guides dans ma bibliothèque, comme autant de souvenirs.
    Quant au fameux LP « Thailand : Islands & Beaches », j’en ai bien évidemment un exemplaire moi aussi… Un « must have » ou un « incontournable », comme dirait l’autre! Il est entier, celui-là, il a réchappé au cutter…
    😉

    @ Francis :
    Oui, bien vu pour le relookage: la bannière est le prochain chantier auquel je compte m’attaquer, justement! Elle ne me convient plus trop en l’état (visuel+typo). Et si tu te sens inspiré, je serais ravie de découvrir tes propositions…
    Pour Maurice, j’ai dû renoncer, hélas, à très grand regret, pour des raisons de budget, mais je me dis que ce n’est que partie remise: j’irai, un jour!!!!
    Enfin, je suis ravie de me découvrir un acolyte dans le club trash plein de sang et de sueur des « serial cutter »!!! Quelle que soit notre manière de traiter les guides et docs de voyage, je constate avec plaisir que nous aimons tous les garder après… C’est sentimental, tout ça!
    🙄

    @ Pac’ :
    Ah, j’attendais ton intervention de libraire éclairé sur la question! Très pertinent, ton analyse. C’est vrai, ces chapitres numériques sont un « complément ». Mais jusqu’à quand?
    En attendant, je ne te promets pas d’arrêter la boucherie… Mais promis, je ne publierai plus d’image choquante sans avertissement préalable pour les âmes sensibles!
    😆

    @ Hélène :
    Je me doutais bien que ce serait le genre de truc qui pourrait t’intéresser, avec toutes vos tournées… Et ce que tu dis sur les guides qu’on achète même sans partir dans le pays est très vrai: j’ai plusieurs bouquins comme ça, sur l’Inde, sur Madagascar, sur le Sri Lanka… Mais il n’est pas dit que ça ne finisse pas en voyages réels! Qui sait?
    :mrgreen:

  7. Coucou Corinne,

    Je suis tombée sur ton site par hasard en cherchant des renseignements sur dfgallery, dans les commentaires d’un autre article (comme quoi, on se retrouve sur des blogs par tout un tas de possibilités!)
    Et là, j’ai gardé l’onglet de ton site ouvert pour pouvoir m’y ballader un peu… j’avoue que j’adore ton site, la présentation, les images, etc.
    Je ne plonge pas mais l’Asie m’attire beaucoup, et j’ai trouvé pas mal de bonnes infos dans ton site, notamment celle ci sur les guides LP qui risque de me servir pour mon futur voyage en Chine.
    Et puis j’ai découvert WordPress vendredi donc j’espère un jour pouvoir faire un site aussi beau et bien construit que le tien!
    Bonne continuation,

    Adeline

  8. Bonjour Adeline,

    Et merci de tes compliments pour le site. J’ai la satisfaction de voir que tous mes efforts pour le peaufiner, de mois en mois, on porté leurs fruits!

    WordPress est vraiment un outil fantastique. Il faut prendre le temps de se familiariser, pas à pas. Je compte rédiger une page, prochainement (pour l’heure elle est toujours « en construction »), pour expliquer un peu comment j’ai apprivoisé la bête et donner quelques conseils sur son utilisation…

    Je ne suis jamais allée en Chine, mais je suis ravie que ma petite info sur les LP en téléchargement t’ait intéressée. Quand tu auras bâti ton blog, envoie-moi l’adresse que je puisse suivre ton futur périple!

    🙄

  9. Bjr corinne,

    J’en prends bonne note un peu tardivement (j’en ai commandé plusieurs). Toujours utile des pdf. Mais bon, un bouquin complet permet tout de même de changer de destination au dernier moment … 😉

  10. D’habitude je m’arrange pour partir avec des comparses qui ont toujours plein de guides, comme ça je voyage léger et je n’abime pas les miens 🙂
    Oui, car ma grand-mère m’a élevé dans le respect des livres, moi Madame, et quand je vois ce que tu fais subir aux tiens… 😡
    En tout cas merci pour la trouvaille 💡

  11. Ah… les livres!

    Je les aime tellement, mes bouquins, quels qu’ils soient! Même quand je leur fais subir les derniers outrages, c’est en fait une marque d’affection de ma part.

    😉

  12. Bonjour,
    découvert votre site par hasard, via Plongeur.com. Il est super.

    Pour les guides, il y a la solution de mettre les PDF mentionnés ci-dessus sur un iPod Touch ou un iPhone, et de lire avec un lecteur de PDF.
    Sinon, Lonely Planet a sorti une apli pour iPhone OS. On peut y acheter plusieurs guides qui sont adaptés à la lecture sur cet écran. Avec un iPad (pour remplacer le netbook) sera encore plus confortable.

    Olivier

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Partagez
Tweetez
Enregistrer
Partagez